We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite the car collection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warbirds & Wheels

Warbirds & Wheels
Ranked #24 of 74 things to do in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our world-class visitor attraction showcases a collection of Warbirds aircraft, over 30 world class and privately owned classic cars, RealArt Roadshow of unique New Zealand art, wearable arts and tales of a local legend Sir Tim Wallis. This attraction also contains a 1950's retro diner with a wide range of delicious snacks baked on site daily, diner-style meals and refreshments, and retail shop with loads of exciting car and aircraft memorabilia. Open seven days 9am to 5pm. Located at the Wanaka airport, 9km from the township.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quite the car collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place has an amazing collection of old cars and airplanes. There is a wonderful tribute to the New Zealand war pilots.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank gshe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    63
    24
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Both my husband and I enjoyed our visit to the museum. He owns classic motorcycles so appreciated all the classics on show. I liked how much background information is provided so we understood their background. Great to be able to get a decent coffee out front as well.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If, like me, you're an aeroplane enthusiast, especially jets, especially military jets, this might get your juices flowing, but, having paid my $20, I saw about 4, very old, very unloved (last dusted c. 5 years ago) planes, very disappointing.
On the other hand, the huge collection of obviously really treasured old cars is the opposite,
so, if you're an 80% car lover, this is for you, if you're 80% jets/WW2/ aviation, I think you'll be disappointed, as I was.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank kevinmorley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
481 reviews
286 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“A small but nice museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent about an hour and a half here looking round the museum. The vintage cars in particular are beautifully kept and the few planes are interesting too. Outside you can also have fun watching the skydivers coming down!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolleston, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

An outstanding collection of classic autos and aircraft. Very well presented with information signs giving some amazing details for each vehicle. A highly recommended attraction for any fan of classics.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank CrazyDiamond66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this review, 14 February 2017
Thank you for your review CrazyDiamond66, I'm so glad you enjoyed the work we put into our museum! We hope we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warbirds & Wheels also viewed

 
 

Been to Warbirds & Wheels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing