We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing!!”
Review of Warbirds & Wheels

Warbirds & Wheels
Ranked #23 of 80 things to do in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our world-class visitor attraction showcases a collection of Warbirds aircraft, over 30 world class and privately owned classic cars, RealArt Roadshow of unique New Zealand art, wearable arts and tales of a local legend Sir Tim Wallis. This attraction also contains a 1950's retro diner with a wide range of delicious snacks baked on site daily, diner-style meals and refreshments, and retail shop with loads of exciting car and aircraft memorabilia. Open seven days 9am to 5pm. Located at the Wanaka airport, 9km from the township.
Reviewed 22 February 2017

If, like me, you're an aeroplane enthusiast, especially jets, especially military jets, this might get your juices flowing, but, having paid my $20, I saw about 4, very old, very unloved (last dusted c. 5 years ago) planes, very disappointing.
On the other hand, the huge collection of obviously really treasured old cars is the opposite,
so, if you're an 80% car lover, this is for you, if you're 80% jets/WW2/ aviation, I think you'll be disappointed, as I was.

Thank kevinmorley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 April 2017

Hi, you are right we do have more cars than planes in our collection. Our plane collection houses the SE5A, a Hurricane, Vampire, Strikemaster and the Skyhawk so I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with what we have. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

We spent about an hour and a half here looking round the museum. The vintage cars in particular are beautifully kept and the few planes are interesting too. Outside you can also have fun watching the skydivers coming down!

Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 April 2017

Hi, thank you for your review. I'm glad you appreciated our beautiful collection of cars! We hope to see you again some time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

An outstanding collection of classic autos and aircraft. Very well presented with information signs giving some amazing details for each vehicle. A highly recommended attraction for any fan of classics.

Thank CrazyDiamond66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 February 2017

Thank you for your review CrazyDiamond66, I'm so glad you enjoyed the work we put into our museum! We hope we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

what an interesting place this is. Love the old planes and all the details given to see what happen and why. Excellent place to see the history.

Thank chris_cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 February 2017

Thank you for your review chris_cairns! I'm glad you loved the planes and the history that goes along with them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

The cars are exceptionell: I love the Chevrolets and of course the famous Rickenbacher and the most famous Duesenberg .... The warplains are interesting, especially the very old Vampire.

A lot to watch and see - and afterwards go for a really good (strong) coffee to the cafe of the museum.

Thank BURGWIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 January 2017

Hi, thank you so much for your raving review! I'm glad you enjoyed our collection as well as our little diner! Hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warbirds & Wheels also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Warbirds & Wheels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing