We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”
Review of Federal Diner

Federal Diner
Ranked #9 of 95 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $7 - $101
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Restaurant in Central Wanaka. A Locals favorite. Open 7am daily. Evening dining Tuesday to Saturday.
Reviewed 22 August 2020

I go to the diner most mornings solo but at other times with family. The staff are very friendly and always have a welcoming smile. Anything you choose should be great. I have a few favourites- date scones in particular but the tacos, chocolate brownie, cheese scones - well pretty much anything on the menu. I am very specific about how I like my coffee and 99.9% it is just as I request.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank 2debra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2020

We had a great breakfast with our friends, the cafe was very busy and the service was at times a bit chaotic but no complaints about the food.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Neal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NeeshE47, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2020

Thank you Neal for your review, we appreciate your feedback, and will pass on your comments to the kitchen and FOH. We hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2020

We stopped by Federal diner twice for breakfast and once for dinner during our stay in Wanaka, grateful for an enjoyable meal each time.
Great coffee and the scones are light and fresh for breakfast. A lot of the lakefront restaurants were closed whilst we visited due to a flood so we stopped by for dinner one night and enjoyed a delicious array of starters, mains and desserts. The menu changes regularly, ensuring whatever they can serve is fresh.
Excellent service, especially on the night we attending when there was only one gentleman working the floor and the till and doing a great job!

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank 123traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NeeshE47, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2020

Thank you for your positive feedback! we hope to see you next time your back in the hood. Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2020 via mobile

Went here based off the reviews. Hasn’t had a lot to live up to given our recent food experiences in Wanaka. Service was good, coffee nice and food was just ok but quite passable.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank RennieMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NeeshE47, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2020

Thank you Mike for the feedback on your recent visit, we appreciate the time it has taken. I will pass on your comments to the FOH, Barista and the Kitchen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2020 via mobile

All a bit ho hum, we both had eggs and yolks were thin and watery, quite a few staff but didn’t seem that well organised, although they were friendly and obliging. Coffee was ok, although I’m sure there’s somewhere else that does better.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank Tom-Shearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NeeshE47, General Manager at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2020

Hi Tom, I'm sorry to read you had a ho hum experience recently at Federal Diner. We will certainly give this feedback to the kitchen, barista and duty manager. We hope this will not deter you from returning so we can provide you with a more memorable experience next time. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Federal Diner also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Federal Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.