We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Henning R
Chilliwack, Canada

Good place to stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Mar 2024
Very good place to stay - clean, well maintained property and spacious room, reasonably priced; comfortable and quiet, would stay here again.
Please note that this place offers different types of rooms - we spent the night in the basement suite, which does not have 'a view', or a kitchenette, but this is clearly highlighted when booking (on room selection). If any of these items is important for you, make sure you book one of the more expensive apartment-style rooms above.
A guest laundry is available.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$461
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Wanaka View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$211
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $211
0.9 km from Wanaka View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spring in your step!
Tripadvisor
$192
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Wanaka View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$174
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Wanaka View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$150
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
22.7 km from Wanaka View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Location, location, location
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $163
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Wanaka View Motel
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $212
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Wanaka View Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $219
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Wanaka View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $315
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Wanaka View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
one bedroom apartment living seperate bedroom has a queen bed & single bed
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $160
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Wanaka View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Wanaka
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
222
66
14
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
222
66
14
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camping chairs great location separate bedroom studio room beautiful lake drying room pip mountains accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2024

We loved our stay at the Wanaka View Motel. The rooms were very clean and updated, filled with everything we needed for our stay. We had a great view of the lake and were close enough to walk to everything we needed! There is a washer/dryer onsite, we were able to use the washer and then hang dry our clothes outside to dry, it was perfect. The owner was beyond kind, she helped us navigate the town and work out how to get to places since we didn't have a car. We definitely want to stay here again if we make it back to New Zealand!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smwolfram83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2023

Super clean, comfortable and a convenient location with restaurants, bars and supermarket just a short walk away. Hosts were friendly and welcoming. The kitchen in the unit was well appointed with a large fridge, stove and microwave. Great place!

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2023

We stayed in Chalet 1 which is a 3 bedroom apartment. Very comfortable and everything you need for a family. Apartment was clean and bedding was very comfortable. Thank you to Pip who gave us recommendations for things to do in Wanaka and restaurant recommendations. She is very knowledgeable about the South Island as a whole.

Our plans changed due to a road closure and an extra night was needed and organised with ease.

The views are stunning from this motel! In front of the motel is a park and the picture perfect lake. A lovely sight to see!

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank saragN4512XS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2023

Pip is very friendly, approachable and helpful.
Check in was all arranged as per email.
Motel was clean
The motel is an easy walk to the shops and to the lake.
Room was very warm which is great in winter

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TroutFishing2Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2023 via mobile

Loved this place as we were lucky to have one of the the front rooms facing the lake. It was very warm when we were there so the blinds were down during the day but once the sun went down, the view was lovely. Air con was great, The room was large with a separate bedroom, lounge/kitchen with new carpet and separate bathroom and toilet. Heavenly.
The location is fantastic with a 5 min walk to the Main Street. We appreciated the use of the camping chairs to take to the lake front later in the afternoon. There is so much to like about this motel. 5 stars.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PJswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews