We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
221
65
14
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
221
65
14
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camping chairs great location separate bedroom studio room beautiful lake drying room pip mountains accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2019 via mobile

We stayed in the “studio” aka converted garage. Very claustrophobic with low ceiling (215cm) and chest high windows opening onto ground level outside, meaning the room was partially underground and therefore very dark. No screens on the windows and no other means of ventilation (no fans, no air conditioning) so the room was full of bugs, mosquitoes and flying insects.
The overloaded power points with double adapters and 4 bay point in the kitchen area are a concern. The only unused powerpoint was chest high by the bathroom door, useless for a traveller’s needs eg charging phone.
There are only 5 parking bays for 6 units, so if you are unlucky enough to arrive last, you miss out on the advertised “off street parking “ that you paid for. Or if you park in the driveway you get rudely awakened by hammering on the door at 9:15pm by the manager, demanding that you move your car onto the road.
The room also appears to be below a living area, as walking around, windows/doors opening/shutting were a constant distraction from above.
The only two available tv channels were also puzzling as Sky is advertised on the website .

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hmmmmmmmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pip0063, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2019

I am a little disappointed at your review in view of the fact that I allowed you to check in at 10am and took your bags and stored your food in the fridge for you.
This is a purpose built motel and has never had garaging.
Thank you for pointing out the need for air-conditioning, this issue has not been raised before.
For safety reasons guests cannot park in such a way as to impede access to the chalets.
There is unlimited and free parking within 5 meters of the chalets.
The SMART TVs are internet capable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2019

4 adults in chalet 3 two too many tiny is the word,at the price barely enough milk for four cups of tea on arrival,coffee and tea not replaced over 4days,had to request fresh towels on our second day,no basics in the bathroom and the temp was 42 degrees on our last afternoon and the air con didn’t work.Owner had the affrontary to ask if we had air con at home,next morning she was changing batteries in the remote with no results,this business has changed hands in the last three months,it shows,no numbered parking and we had to park on the street.

Room tip: Not chalet 3
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alfred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pip0063, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2019

When we check people in ( and on our welcome note ) we invite guests to request anything to make their stay more comfortable.
I am sorry that there was not enough milk for your needs and I wish you had asked for more.
I apologise that it was very hot and that the air conditioning was not working. The technician found no fault in the unit but he reset the control.
I did provide you with a fan at 10pm, when you contacted me.
We have never had numbered parking but it is something to be considered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2019

We had a wonderful marvelous stay in Wanaka at the Wanaka View Motel . Wonderful place with excellent facilities , very good service and very clean and nice place with all required facilities . Without doubt one of the excellent place with excellent location located at the city center,extremely clean & comfortable . supermarket ,shops,restaurants bars are within walking distance. Would definetely recommend this place to everybody! It's a true excellent hospitality.

Room tip: Best Location , Excellent service , Clean and nice facility
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amankhan2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pip0063, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2019

Thank you, we love helping make holidays special!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2018

We were advised in writing check in time was 2pm but no one was there. By phone owner said check in was 3pm. She had a famiiy issue apparently. This is bad business practice not to have back up. The room Chalet 4 had no air conditioning or even a fan. One had to close the bedroom door to get into the left side of the bed. The noise of plumbing during the night was very disruptive to sleep as well as road noises. Only 2 TV channels. It was not advertised that the room wasnt serviced and when we queried this the owner said we were in the room so the cleaners couldn’t access it, absolutely not true! All of this in supposedly 4.5 star accommodation. It appears this establishment is under new management and Tripadvisors rating of 3/20 is outrageous.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank SydneySusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pip0063, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2018

I am sorry you had a miserable time in Wanaka.
In our defence we endeavour to accommodate early check-ins, when requested.
On the welcome note in each chalet, guests are invited to ask for anything else they require to make their stay comfortable.
Extra coffee and milk were provided upon your request.
We provide a smart TV which allows connectivity to all your normal viewing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2018

This is an amazing place to stay - to start the view is incredible, the host was so welcoming giving me tips and help with the area, the room was super clean and had everything you could need. Thanks for a great stay!

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pip0063, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2018

Thanks Alison, I hope you had a great trip and return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews