We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
221
65
14
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
221
65
14
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camping chairs great location separate bedroom studio room beautiful lake drying room pip mountains accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2018

We were advised in writing check in time was 2pm but no one was there. By phone owner said check in was 3pm. She had a famiiy issue apparently. This is bad business practice not to have back up. The room Chalet 4 had no air conditioning or even a fan. One had to close the bedroom door to get into the left side of the bed. The noise of plumbing during the night was very disruptive to sleep as well as road noises. Only 2 TV channels. It was not advertised that the room wasnt serviced and when we queried this the owner said we were in the room so the cleaners couldn’t access it, absolutely not true! All of this in supposedly 4.5 star accommodation. It appears this establishment is under new management and Tripadvisors rating of 3/20 is outrageous.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank SydneySusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pip0063, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2018

I am sorry you had a miserable time in Wanaka.
In our defence we endeavour to accommodate early check-ins, when requested.
On the welcome note in each chalet, guests are invited to ask for anything else they require to make their stay comfortable.
Extra coffee and milk were provided upon your request.
We provide a smart TV which allows connectivity to all your normal viewing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2018

This is an amazing place to stay - to start the view is incredible, the host was so welcoming giving me tips and help with the area, the room was super clean and had everything you could need. Thanks for a great stay!

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pip0063, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2018

Thanks Alison, I hope you had a great trip and return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2018 via mobile

A great little find in Wanaka. We stayed in chalet 4 and the views from our room were phenomenal.
The managers were friendly and helpful. Even though we were a little after reception closing time check in was seamless.
Having bikes to hire is a great addition, even though with a newborn we couldn’t take advantage of it.
Will stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank bec1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pip0063, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Thank you, I hope the rest of your holiday went well and you get back when your lovely baby can learn to ride our small bike across the road at Pembroke park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2018

We stayed here for one night (Chalet 2) there was NO view of Wanaka (except the Sky and the Neighbours Fence) Price was over the top by about $50. No Shampoos etc in the Bathroom. Would take the time to get a better room next time

Room tip: Don't acept Room 2
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pip0063, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Dear Joe,
I am sorry that you did not enjoy the studio.
We endeavour to describe our chalets and studio accurately and hope that people when booking understand the description.
It seems that one our one bedroom chalets that have a spectacular view would have suited you better.( Although they are more expensive) Our pricing is very competitive in the Wanaka market.
We provide a high quality body wash/shampoo in a dispenser, as part of our commitment to the environment, is not to have small plastic bottles.
I hope the rest of your trip went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2018

The double bedroom is a joke. Not enough room to get to far side of bed!! We would have had more room in a cheaper studio.

Disappointing that they did not even empty the bin and replace the coffee after the first night. We put up with the fact they did not provide shampoo and some of the extras we had received else where but not to replace the coffee sachets was rather mean.

The colour scheme is very full and needs to be updated and brightened up because every thing is brown. Colour would make a difference. It just did not feel relaxing with all the full brown and there was no lake view just the TV in the room opposite.

Room tip: Check the size of the bedroom
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JanetBrookman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pip0063, Owner at Wanaka View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

I apologise that your stay was disappointing. The two bedroom chalets are cosy but provide privacy with separate bedrooms. As it was just two of you perhaps you would have been better in our more spacious one bedroom lake view chalets. We would gladly have replenished your coffee and tea if you had asked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews