We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An iconic must do”
Review of Cardrona Hotel

Cardrona Hotel
Ranked #5 of 94 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Bar, Gastropub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Cardrona Hotel serves up a modern take on traditional pub fare. Fresh, fast and filling you'll find all your traditional favourites created from locally sourced, seasonal ingredients. Our wine list features top quality local drops from some of the region's best wineries, along with a great selection of both tap and bottled beers, ciders and a full range of spirits. In winter the apres ski is legendary, while the sunny beer garden is the perfect summertime spot for a long lunch.
Reviewed 21 August 2020

If Queenstown is on your bucket list, make sure you visit the Cardrona Hotel. The ambiance, service and food is exceptional. It is warm, cosy and comfortable inside and gives you an idea of what life should be about.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank Johan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 194 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2020 via mobile

Love going to this place, it’s great for a drink and food, the history is strong with this one, read all about this place as you walk around the garden and the staff will answer any questions you have. When you go in you must order the Frickles there deep fried pickles and are so tasty, the fried chicken is also another fav and we also tried the wedges with cheese and bacon. Truly an awesome place

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank 652stuartb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2020

Just had dinner at Cardrona Hotel. Awesome! Beef Wellington was melt in the mouth, venison had a beautiful smokey flavour and sticky date pudding amazing. Highly recommended - if you have to wait it is worth it.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank DMacC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2020

We stopped here for a beer and some lunch, there is a large outdoors seating area out the back, food was really good service was great.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank Passenger16987658103
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2020

Pub was absolutely packed with people hanging around awkwardly staring at the diners waiting to pounce as soon as they vacated their table. None of the servers acknowledged us and so I had to ask how we secured a table. Was told to just wait and grab one when it became free. This meant that people waiting an hour could be pipped to the post by those just arrived as there was no first in, first served system in place.

Date of visit: July 2020
1  Thank Teabag_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CardronaHotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2020

Hi Taleen,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are truly sorry you found your experience so uncomfortable.
At the time of your visit, we were operating under Level 1 which is a casual dining service, this means we operate as first-in-first serve. We understand this can be inconvenient and is not to everyone's taste, however have found during the day this best suits our fast-paced, pub atmosphere. This was not helped by poor weather at the time of your visit, which meant everyone was sitting inside and the fact we were still experiencing the winter school holiday travellers.

We understand how disappointing it is to not secure a table and please know it is never our intention to have customers feeling uncomfortable. We hope this hasn't turned you off visiting again, and if not, would recommend booking in for dinner. We accept bookings from 6pm and our dinner service is a far more traditional restaurant experience in comparison to the day-time casual dining.

Thank you again for leaving a review as we truly value your feedback.
Stay safe,
CH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cardrona Hotel also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Cardrona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.