We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights
Save
  
Ways to Experience Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights
from US$309.29
More Info
from US$278.45
More Info
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
215
4
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
215
4
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound fly cruise fly cruise boat new zealand mt aspiring mt cook fantastic flight awe inspiring breathtaking scenery wanaka airport beautiful country once in a lifetime worth every cent an amazing trip these guys big thanks couple of hours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

My nearly 13 y.o and I went to Milford on Scenic Air and LOVED it. Informative, awesome pilot, great service. Loved the flight and cruise! WOW!! Thanks so much. So glad we chose to fly rather than drive! Much better view!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank LoveTravel563779
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Pilot at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you for the praise of your Milford Sound Glacier Flight & Cruise experience with Southern Alps Air!

The flights in and out of Milford certainly beat the six hour coach journey each way and even though the road is spectacular, the views from our aircraft are simply breathtaking!

On behalf of your pilot Alex, thank you for choosing to fly with us.

Kind regards,
Bayleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Beautiful flight and superb pilot Will. Thanks for the memories. Our group was in awe of the scenery and raw beauty of the landscape. A trip of a lifetime.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Pilot at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear Jay L,

Thank you for your five star review of Southern Alps Air.

It is our aim to exceed our guest’s expectations of their once in a life time excursion and we are pleased to hear that we have been successful!

On behalf of your pilot Will, thank you for choosing to fly with us.

Kind regards,
Bayleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We did the fly into Siberia hut, 7km walk and jetboat with Wilkin River Jets. What a fantastic trip! We live here (locally in Queenstown) and were completely wowed by the scenery and the sheer mountainscape. We hike regulalry through NZ beech forest and this was as beautiful as anywhere else we've walked. The skill of the pilot and jetboat driver were superb and we always felt very safe with them. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Nzedfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Pilot at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Nzedfi,

Thank you for your 5 star review of our ultimate wilderness excursion. It is always such a pleasure to host local kiwis and show off our backyard!

During the flight you see glaciers, ice, snow, mountian lakes, hanging valleys and vast rain forests, so that from the ground you can really appreciate the dramatic unspoiled beauty.

On behalf of the team at Southern Alps Air, thank you for choosing us.

Kind regards,
Bayleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We were going to drive to Milford Sound, but made the BEST decision to fly with Southern Alps out of Wanaka. An absolutely amazing 30 minute flight over the mountains and into the Tasman Sea and then into the Fiord. Then took a wonderful boat trip into Milford Sound and another flight back to Wanaka on a different flight pattern. Pilot was very informative and I loved my first flight in such a small plane!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank advicetaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Pilot at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear advicetaken,

Thank you so much for your five star review of your Milford Sound Glacier Flight & Cruise excursion with Southern Alps Air, we appreciate your wonderful recommendations to future travellers.

The flight takes in some fantastic scenery during the 45mins you are in the air, beginning with the magical Mt Aspiring, before adventuring down the Southern Alps to fly the full length of Milford Sound. Then flying back a different route including one of New Zealand's great walks, the Routeburn Track and the Paradise region.

On behalf of the team, thank you for choosing to fly with us.

Kind regards,
Bayleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

I was lucky enough to have a trip to Milford Sound from Wanaka organised and paid for by some family I was staying with. The trip consisted of a flight to Milford Sound in a tiny little yellow plane and then a boat tour around the fjord. The flight was incredible! I sat next to the pilot, who gave us a commentary on the various things to see on the journey, and the views were spectacular. The plane flew right into Milford Sound and then we were taken by bus to the boat. The boat trip was equally brilliant and offered teas and coffees on board and brilliant commentary. Milford Sound is a magical place and a must see when in the South Island! And if you're going to do it, it is definitely worth going through Southern Alps Air!!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank MoleE94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Pilot at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear MollieE94,

Thank you for taking the time to review your excursion with Southern Alps Air on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to hear you had a "trip of a life time" with us, the scenic flight from Wanaka to Milford Sound is, in our opinion, the most scenic flight in the world - and what a beautiful picture of Mitre Peak you have shared!

The Milford Sound Glacier Flight & Cruise is our most popular excursion, as it combines two stunning flights with a cruise of the fiord itself.

On behalf of your pilot and the team, thank you for choosing to fly with us and best wishes for your future travels.

Kind regards,
Bayleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews