We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights
from US$314.28
More Info
from US$317.77
More Info
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
214
4
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
214
4
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound fly cruise fly cruise boat new zealand mt aspiring mt cook fantastic flight awe inspiring breathtaking scenery wanaka airport beautiful country once in a lifetime worth every cent an amazing trip these guys big thanks couple of hours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We were going to drive to Milford Sound, but made the BEST decision to fly with Southern Alps out of Wanaka. An absolutely amazing 30 minute flight over the mountains and into the Tasman Sea and then into the Fiord. Then took a wonderful boat trip into Milford Sound and another flight back to Wanaka on a different flight pattern. Pilot was very informative and I loved my first flight in such a small plane!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank advicetaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Pilot at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear advicetaken,

Thank you so much for your five star review of your Milford Sound Glacier Flight & Cruise excursion with Southern Alps Air, we appreciate your wonderful recommendations to future travellers.

The flight takes in some fantastic scenery during the 45mins you are in the air, beginning with the magical Mt Aspiring, before adventuring down the Southern Alps to fly the full length of Milford Sound. Then flying back a different route including one of New Zealand's great walks, the Routeburn Track and the Paradise region.

On behalf of the team, thank you for choosing to fly with us.

Kind regards,
Bayleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

I was lucky enough to have a trip to Milford Sound from Wanaka organised and paid for by some family I was staying with. The trip consisted of a flight to Milford Sound in a tiny little yellow plane and then a boat tour around the fjord. The flight was incredible! I sat next to the pilot, who gave us a commentary on the various things to see on the journey, and the views were spectacular. The plane flew right into Milford Sound and then we were taken by bus to the boat. The boat trip was equally brilliant and offered teas and coffees on board and brilliant commentary. Milford Sound is a magical place and a must see when in the South Island! And if you're going to do it, it is definitely worth going through Southern Alps Air!!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank MoleE94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Pilot at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear MollieE94,

Thank you for taking the time to review your excursion with Southern Alps Air on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to hear you had a "trip of a life time" with us, the scenic flight from Wanaka to Milford Sound is, in our opinion, the most scenic flight in the world - and what a beautiful picture of Mitre Peak you have shared!

The Milford Sound Glacier Flight & Cruise is our most popular excursion, as it combines two stunning flights with a cruise of the fiord itself.

On behalf of your pilot and the team, thank you for choosing to fly with us and best wishes for your future travels.

Kind regards,
Bayleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We had just completed 3 weeks traveling around New Zealand. We both wanted to see Milford Sound but did not fancy a 12 hour day on a bus to and from the Sound. We booked with Southern Alps and whilst I was very nervous (as a flyer) what a great team. My fears were alleviated and I had the best experience in my life. You fly between the peaks- not over them. You get to go under a Waterfall. You see Mt Cook and the glaciers up close. I can not recommend them any higher. A once in a life time experience with very friendly and professional staff. An absolute highlight.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank donnac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Pilot at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Dear Donna,

Thank you for sharing your review of Southern Alps Air on TripAdvisor. It is an honour to be one of your highlights, or better yet, 'one of the best experiences of your life'!

The flight takes in some amazing scenery. Only when you fly from Wanaka do you get to see Mt Cook (NZs highest mountain), Mt Aspiring and the Olivine Ice Plateau. Depending on weather we try and let you get the sense you are so close you could touch the glaciers!

Also we LOVE the photos you shared! Our favourite one is the one where you are flying over the red hills and you can see Big Bay in the background. Amazing!

On behalf of the team, thank you for choosing to fly with us and for your high endorsement to future travelers,

Kind regards,
Bayleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Absolutely fabulous flights to Milford or Mt Cook. Great people and amazing mountain scenery. Bucket list for sure

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Walk_On_HIgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Pilot at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Dear Walk_On_HIgh,

Thank you for the great review of Southern Alps Air. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us and the TripAdvisor community.

The views from the plane are certainly amazing, it is such a unique perspective that takes your breath away, due to the sheer scale and beauty of the wonderful sights you are seeing. New Zealand is definitely one beautiful country!

On behalf of the team at Southern Alps Air, thank you for choosing us.

Kind regards,
Bayleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

One of the highlights of our 3 week tour of New Zealand. The flight to Milford Sound was incredible with a great commentary on what we were flying over. The cruise on Milford Sound was in one of the smaller boats and so felt personal and the scenery was breathtaking.. The added highlight was seeing fur seals, dolphins and a white heron. Such a time effective and cost efficient way to do a journey which would normally take hours to do by road. This would not have been possible in our itinerary. Would highly recommend.

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank Dalet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernAlpsAir, Pilot at Southern Alps Air - Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Dear Dalet21,

It is with great pleasure that we receive your 5 star feedback.

It was great that you got to see some of Fiordland's wildlife during your cruise, especially the dolphins, who just show up when they feel like it! There has also been quite a bit of rain over the last few weeks so the waterfalls were pumping!

Flying is definately worth it, compared to the 6 hour drive from Wanaka (one way!) we can take you there and back, with a cruise, all within 4 hours! Not to mention you can't beat our birds eye views.

On behalf of the Southern Alps Air team, thank you for choosing to fly with us.

Kind regards,
Bayleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews