We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Scenic flight with landing on Black Peak

This was a wonderful experience! We felt incredibly safe, extremely well looked after. Doug, our... read more

Reviewed 19 March 2021
TravelMore2
,
Auckland, New Zealand
via mobile
Awesome trip

Amazing trip with Aspiring Helicopters. These guys are so professional and helpful and really made... read more

Reviewed 2 March 2021
Teiva Cathy M
Read all 144 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Wanaka
from US$104.55
More Info
from US$379.87
More Info
from US$436.25
More Info
from US$44.38
More Info
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
138
4
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
138
4
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snow landing helicopter flight milford sound pilot andrew coromandel peak great pilot southern alps once in a lifetime new zealand amazing scenery an unforgettable experience perfect weather fantastic trip glacier
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Helicopter flight in Wanaka New Zealand. The weather wasn't the best when we arrived but Alex and James were very flexible and made sure that our flight was in the best conditions. We flew to Fog Peak for a snow landing and alongside the Rob Roy glacier. An amazing hour of our lives. Thoroughly recomend using this company. What a job these guys have! will go back for Heliskiing.......one day!

Date of experience: January 2012
Thank Rohan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

My wife (disabled - can only walk one or two steps with help) and I were touring New Zealand and wanted to see as much of the country as possible as it would be our only trip to NZ, Having looked around on the internet before going on holiday Mt Aspiring and Milford Sound were a must to see but the amount of traveling boat, road etc ment we could only see a small part of both in the time we had avaiable, so we decided on a helecopter trip - What a great choice Aspiring Helicopters (AH) were most helpful - we advised them what we would like to do and they suggested some slight changes that they said would make the trip much better and they were right, On arrival at AH, they helped my wife and I into their wating area, discussed the trip and took my wife in her wheelchair to the helecopter and helped her in, We had a snow landing with Mt Aspiring in the background, then flew across several small glaciers / lakes etc etc, along the coast to an isolated beach and landed there, flew down Milford Sound and up to Lochnagar for a landing above the lake, here as with all the other landings Nigel (Pilot) asked Sara (wife)would she like to get out and this time she did - a lot of effort on Nigel's and my part - but what a pleasure ( Nigel also took photos of us at each landing on our own camera), We then all boarded the helicopter for the trip back to base - all the views etc could not have been seen from the ground - via road, boat or walking etc (It also ment we had time to do the boat trip to Doubtful Sound) - If you are planning to go to NZ and see Milford Sound - then consider this instead as it will save a lot of driving and time - A real must if you go to the South Island as only a short drive from Wanaka - YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPOINTED - Many thanks to all staff @ Aspiring Hellecopters, John & Sara

Date of experience: November 2011
1  Thank jap0254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

OMG!!! this was our first time in a Helicopter and it was just amazing. Just my partner and i with the pilot. Flight over the rivers and then on to the snow capped mountains. Was a bit windy up there and you could certainly feel the wind buffeting the helicopter, that was thrilling!! Snow landing was good and once again windy and 0 degrees. We both found the whole experience amazing and talked about it for the rest of the day. Our pilot was great and I would reccommend Aspiring Helicopters for your first helicopter flight. Good price and worth every cent!! Janet & Ian

Date of experience: November 2011
1  Thank JanetIan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Tripadvisor Member
Auckland Central, New Zealand
9191
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Arriving at Aspiring Helicopters you are taken in by the modern facilities. Our pilot came out the front door and introduced himself before he began to explain the type of helicopter we were flying in and giving some information about the region.
Before we knew it we were airborne and we recieved a running commentary about the valleys, mountains, lakes and rivers. He appeared to be a never ending supply of information.

The flight was fantastic flying in what appeared to be a brand new Eurocopter, if you come to New Zealand, you have to do this!

Date of experience: September 2011
1  Thank A Tripadvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspHeli, Manager at Aspiring Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback on your recent flight with us. We just loved showing you around! Look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Our trip to Mt Aspiting's Fog Peak and the Rob Roy Glacier was amazing. The snow landing on Fog Peak required warm clothes, gloves, camera, video and above all else a good snowball throwing arm. Our pilot James was fantastic, taking heaps of photos of us with stunning backdrops and explaining everything in detail as we flew. Coming face to face with Rob Roy Glacier was incredible, having never seen anything like this before we all found it to be breath takingly beautiful. Thanks to Alex and James for providing such an affordable, professional and welcoming opportunity to experience the stunningly beautiful snow peaks around Wanaka.

Date of experience: May 2011
Thank jmdp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews