We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Michael M

Great place to stay in Wanaka

Review of Archway Motels
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Apr 2024
The rooms are quite large and well equipped, as is the kitchenette which is in the room. The motel is located in close walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, cafés and to the lake. Mark is very friendly and helpful, and he will tell you which beaches are best and not overcrowded, and which hikes you must not miss. Wanaka itself was a place you have to go on the South Island.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Location, location, location
$215
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $215
  • Agoda.com
    $183
  • Expedia.com
    $215
0.2 km from Archway Motels
Free parking
$340
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $340
  • Hotels.com
    $338
0.5 km from Archway Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
$558
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $498
  • Agoda.com
    $475
  • Expedia.com
    $558
2.0 km from Archway Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
$187
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $187
  • Hotels.com
    $187
0.3 km from Archway Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
$259
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $242
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Archway Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
$243
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $243
  • Hotels.com
    $243
0.4 km from Archway Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Wanaka Hotel
$234
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $198
  • Priceline
    $234
0.4 km from Archway Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
$199
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $184
  • Vio.com
    $104
0.8 km from Archway Motels
$225
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $191
  • Priceline
    $225
23.6 km from Archway Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $348
  • Agoda.com
    $313
  • Priceline
    $348
2.3 km from Archway Motels
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Wanaka
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
171
80
30
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
171
80
30
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining chairs one night hot tub heated towel rack great place to stay room was spacious close to town electric blankets quiet location few minutes walk the kitchen good size self contained stayed longer comfortable stay location is great laundry facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2024

Lovely little place to stay, staff extremely friendly and very helpful (esp Marianne) . Room we stayed in was very comfortable bed comfy and wonderful view from our room. Breakfast lovely. Only thing that would have improved our stay was having a walk in shower, instead of shower over the bath.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2024

Very comfortable room close to the centre of town. Couldn’t ask for better hosts. They even suggested some local sights and areas to visit without the crowds. Throughly enjoyed our stay. Great wifi as well. We wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Getaway01320041839
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

Great place to stay in Wanaka. Walking distance to central business district. Plenty of parking, incredibly clean rooms. Hot tubs available for minimum charge. Breakfast not included though rooms have cooking facilities. Highly recommended. Friendly and helpful hosts.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alsek810
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2024 via mobile

We loved our stay at The Archway. We stayed in one of their chalets which was roomy and very comfortable. There was a kitchenette and a table and chairs that we used for breakfast and lunches. The king bed was super comfy. The property also had a play area for family with kids. Parking is available right in front of the unit. I highly recommend this property. It’s lonely a short 5 minute walk down the hill to the center of town and the lakefront.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2024

Enjoyed our stay in Wanaka, it's a lovely town and Archway Motel was close to the centre but far enough away to be quiet and relaxing. Our room was an accessible room and the bathroom was fantastic with an excellent shower. The kitchen facilities were great too although we only used them to make breakfast, there was even a dishwasher. The bed was comfortable and we slept well.
There was some building work going on while we were there but it didn't affect us at all and we had a great stay.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 109loveholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews