We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$89
Booking.comUS$93
PricelineUS$98
Agoda.comUS$98
eDreamsUS$93
CheapTicketsUS$89
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
74
71
28
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
74
71
28
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here hot tub the kitchen family unit good size town centre min drive comfortable room home away from home would definitely stay here again kitchenette facilities lake tubs windscreen netflix winter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2021 via mobile

First, let me start by saying Jack the owner is lovely. He pointed out the hot spots on a map as well as recommended local dining options for us, and even called us by our names when we went to visit him after checkin.

But we felt the 5 star reviews we read here were “bought”. When we saw the sign in our room that offered a gift for showing reception a 5 star TA review, we felt we’d been misguided.

The location wasn’t the 2 min walk to town that other reviews said - it’s at the top of a little hill at the far end of town, which after a week of hikes and biking is the last thing we wanted for our legs! There were other hotels/motels in the city centre that were a good location.

The room had a good sized kitchenette and utensils, had lots of TV channels and Netflix, and was renovated which was nice, but not even a bar of soap for the shower. Laundry was also out of operation due to Renos so went to the Caltex to do this.

As far as motels go, this was what you’d expect. But not the ‘hidden gem’ it was made out to be by other reviews. Guessing people wanted their free gift!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JacJac82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2021

Booked on line to stay for a couple of days and extremely happy that I did.
Checked in, and the Motel unit that they gave us was excellent. But no, they upgraded us to a larger family unit, why, I have no idea but I can tell you it was much appreciated. We were greeted by an extremely pleasant person, one I won't forget any time soon. Unit had a extra large television, which was great. Bathroom and shower looked like they had not long been renovated, Kitchen facilities were all correct and present, and the Bed was ultra comfy. All in all, an excellent choice of Motel for us. Our only regret is not using the Hot Tub. Would I recommend this Motel. HELL YES.

Room tip: This place is a Motel not a Hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trottz555
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2020 via mobile

The rooms are newly refurbished. The one that I stayed was much larger than I expected. The location of the motel is very close to the town centre, I walked everywhere while in the town. It is 20 min drive to cardrona, ideal for a ski trip.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jamielll89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 October 2020

Although the staff were lovely, has all the facilities you need and has had some renovations, I feel it is over priced for the finish and presentation of the property. The grounds need a lot of tidying and the finish of the renovations need tidying (sloppy painting and silicone work). Hot tub's were a great addition with nice views.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Warmclimatetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2020

If you are looking for a lovely stay in Wanaka - this is it.

We did not have many expectations when we booked, as we booked this place mainly because it was very close to the lake and town.

Little did we know this motel exceeded expectations.

1. The owners of this motel are amazing and so lovely (Thanks Jack!)
2. The rooms have everything you need - including a kitchen with every appliance and utensil, a large TV, a huge bed and so much more. It even has a clothes horse, which is super handy.
3. The spa pools - there are two private spa pools that you can pay a small $15 fee to use. The money is SO worth it as the spas are SUPER hot, have an amazing view and are Scandinavian style (wood burning). Quit romantic.
4. The location is the best in Wanaka - it is a 2 minute walk down into town and to the lake.

We would recommend this motel to anyone and would definitely stay here again.

Chelsea and Lloyd

Room tip: They are all good
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 278chelseab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews