We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
73
71
27
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
73
71
27
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tired and in need comfortable bed town centre min drive three nights one night stay home away from home would definitely stay here again south island facilities kitchenette lake tubs heater windscreen winter studio
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2019

We had a great time in Archway Motel. Chalets were spacious, very comfortable, clean and cozy. Owners of the property are nice and helpful people. Location is good as well - walking distance from the lake and town centre. Also convinient for Roys Peak track when you travel by car.
Laundry service available at very fair price. Definitely recommend this place.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank przemekpus89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2018 via mobile

Staff are very friendly & accomodating. Liked that we had our room serviced as well. Our room was large & comfortable. Really enjoyed that we had a microwave & a stove. I didn't read my booking paperwork which said that cost would come from my Australian credit card. Close to everything.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fionac308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and liked it a lot!The rooms are very convenient. There is a lot of space inside and also a nice place to sit outside (2 chairs and a table in front of each room). We also liked the kitchenette/living room area inside, where we could relax in the evening with other couple travelling with us.
There is also a shared laundry room available, but not free of charge (2 dollars for one washing as far as I remember).

We also loved the location - 10 minutes walk to Lake Wanaka (some relax on the beach recommended!) and around 10 minutes drive to Roys Peak Track (a must see!)

What we didn't like?
Free WiFi is provided but with transfer limit - I guess it was 0.5 GB or 1.0 GB per person for whole stay (we stayed 2 nights, perhaps the limits are higher for longer stay). This was enough for us, but I can imagine it might not be enough if you'd like to watch some movie on Netflix, share photos with family back home, etc.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Krzysztof P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Great position close to town. As winter had reappeared the owner had put the heating on for us before we arrived so pleasantly warm. As others say a little tired but comfortable and well equipped for our one night stay. Did not make use of the gas barbecue, one for each room provided, but a good touch.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sandgrown_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Stayed in unit 9 on 16 July and decided to leave next day. This motel unit was clean but very tired and furniture, curtains, etc, tatty. Owners defended the quality so I suspect other units are similar. Nice BBQs outside each unit. Owners and staff no doubt work hard and have pride in their business but recommend you do price/quality comparisons in Wanaka.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clive_Christchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2019

Clive, Thank you for your feedback but we are struggling to find any record of a booking or booking that belongs. or a situation where someone just stayed one night although booked for 4 nights. If it was Unit 9 you or the person booking received a best direct discounted direct rate that would be considerably represent good value for a big 2 bedroom apartment in Wanaka and if it was that room and it is fully furnished with Fridge/freezer, dishwasher & oven etc and it is one of our most well presented units- any net extra curtains get washed and/or replaced if damaged and the curtains are less than 5 years old.If indeed you did stay here we are sorry to hear these comments but it does not add up to any room ty. Sorry we cannot comment or help further.

Best regards

Bridgit & Paul Parker Wishing you a Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews