We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
228
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews muesli garden suite fresh fruit salad thought of everything homemade cookies ensuite bathroom minute drive town centre poppy davey hosts nz views fridge lake winery laundry
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Avalanche B&B is located on the edge of town just 10 minutes walk from the lake and 30 minutes walk from the town centre. Trish made us welcome and showed us our garden suite with comfortable bed, dining table and chairs and sofa. A microwave, fridge, kettle and toaster allowed us to prepare our continental breakfast from the food items delivered the night before. The homemade muesli and yoghurt with fresh fruit cocktail was excellent as were the homemade cookies and muffins. Our ensuite bathroom was compact with luxury fittings and a powerful walk-in shower. Trish kindly allowed us to use her washing machine and clothes line to clear our laundry.
From our patio we spent a long time observing the numerous birds visiting the sugar water trough in the attractive garden. A 30 minute walk to the neighboring Rippon Winery for a tasting was a delight and the walk to the famous Wanaka Tree rook only 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you to stay here.

Kind regards Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We stayed in the garden suite. There is one other larger suite. The breakfast was provided in the room so we could eat at our leisure. Muesli, juice, yogurt, coffee, tea, milk, and fresh fruit were on hand as well as freshly baked muffins and cookies. We were able to use the washer and drying rack and the outside clothesline in the sun. We borrowed the available mountain bikes for a lovely ride around the lake. The path was just two blocks away. Trish is a very welcoming host and the pet dog and cat are a plus! It's an easy 30-minute walk to the town center or a 3-minute drive with lots of free parking available. We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Excellent B&B.
Hosts Trish en Davy are amazing
Everything in the rooms is taking care of.
A lot of food provided is Home Made, and its al delicious.
I can defenitly recommend it to others.
If i had the chance is would come back here without any doubt.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you both to stay here.
I hope you enjoy the rest of your journey.

Kind regards Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

We have been all over NZ for over three weeks and this is the best place we have stayed by far. The homemade breakfast included amazing jams and marmalade, muffins, and Greek yogurt, as well as fresh fruit salad and toast. Best jams ever!! Trish and Davey were fantastic, thoughtfully providing Legos for our daughter to play with. Their dog Poppy and cat Tig were lovely and the views can’t be beat. Couldn’t recommend Avalanche B&B higher.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank kvigness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and great to know that you enjoyed your stay here. Poppy certainly enjoyed the extra attention.

Kind regards Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

Everything we could possibly want had been thought of in advance-delicious top-quality breakfast provided, well equipped kitchen area, dvds and books available for our use, even a barbecue we could have used! Trish has a really attractive home and succeeds in offering first class hospitality while remaining low-key when everything’s going fine. It was a real treat to stay at Avalanche B&B. We even had a view from our room of the eponymous mountain!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family to stay.
I hope you have success making the muesli (granola) when you get home!

Kind regards Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews