We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Don D

Very close to the lake

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 May 2023via mobile
Excellent motel with clean room and clean bathroom. Comfortable beds. We had a room that sleeps 4 with separate bedroom, table with four chairs and cooking facilities. Only 2 minute walk to the shops and lake front. Excellent off street parking
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$219
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $219
  • Expedia.com
    $219
  • Hotels.com
    $218
0.2 km from Bella Vista Wanaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
$330
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $297
  • Agoda.com
    $274
  • Hotels.com
    $302
1.7 km from Bella Vista Wanaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
Location, location, location
$168
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $168
  • Agoda.com
    $150
  • Hotels.com
    $168
0.4 km from Bella Vista Wanaka
Free parking
$398
  • Hotels.com
    $513
  • Expedia.com
    $513
  • Trip.com
    $452
0.2 km from Bella Vista Wanaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
$176
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $176
  • Hotels.com
    $158
  • Agoda.com
    $161
0.2 km from Bella Vista Wanaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
$199
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $178
  • Agoda.com
    $147
  • Expedia.com
    $177
1.9 km from Bella Vista Wanaka
Free parking
Restaurant
Spring in your step!
$209
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $209
  • Agoda.com
    $190
  • Hotels.com
    $209
0.8 km from Bella Vista Wanaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
$168
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $158
  • Vio.com
    $94
0.3 km from Bella Vista Wanaka
$177
  • Expedia.com
    $150
  • Hotels.com
    $155
  • Trip.com
    $169
2.1 km from Bella Vista Wanaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
$175
  • Priceline
    $175
  • Agoda.com
    $136
  • Expedia.com
    $141
23.1 km from Bella Vista Wanaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Wanaka
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
211
140
56
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
211
140
56
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location one night off street parking comfortable bed would stay here again small kitchenette restaurants and shops the ground floor town centre cooking facilities motel bv lake nz wifi toaster fridge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2023

We spent one night at the Bella Vista Wanaka which is an easy walk to the town waterfront and restaurants and shops. We appreciated the dinner recommendation (Francesca's Italian) from the reception and also were grateful to have a washer/dryer on site. The room was clean and had a small kitchenette with both a microwave and a toaster.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nbrown900
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2023

I'd had my eye on this place when I had been in Wanaka before, because it was so close to beach and shops. It stood up to my expectations. I was in a studio with en suite. which was quite okay for me. It became a bit cramped with me finding enough hanging space for my clothes, and bags. A comfortable bed, tv worked. The unit was sort of under the outside stairs that led upstairs to other units and was dar k. I had to put a light on most of the time, but there were tinted windows and sliding door glass that somehow didn't show the interior of the unit from outside (daytime). Parking was wherever there was a space in the grounds but I usually got a space right outside my unit. The staff were lovely, answering my (silly?) questions. I stayed five nights and enjoyed myself. I would stay again, same unit

Room tip: Two story building. Ask for ground floor if you don't think you can manage the outside stairs
Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pixiehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2023 via mobile

After BV Christchurch it was a little disappointing in terms of space and size. Everything looked little worn and brown …. Perfectly clean and nice welcome and advice given. 10% off at Speights if you show room key but that wasn’t great in terms of food. Just all very average - fine for our 1 night.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank julieheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2023

The worst motel we stayed in in NZ. We had room 1 - a tiny room and the place situated in a dark corner at the premises - difficult to have light into the room.
Beds were not soft enough. WiFi very bad and in periods worse.
The way how the kitchenette was made was a parody: the fridge door opens to the wrong side, so difficult to arrange and see anything in it; over the kitchentable there are 2 shelves/cupboards - but they are place so low, that it makes use of the table impossible - and the risk of slamming your head in the cupboard over the fridge is substantial - this is really done so ridiculous that you an not imagine. There are 2 knives, 2 spoons etc. - so you have to wash after every use (at other motels there are typically more than 2).
Only good thing: location in the town is OK.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2023

The Bella Vista is centrally located in Wanaka with easy walk to restaurants and bars. There is a view of the mountains from the room.
The room was small with little room to walk around the bed.
There was a decent sized bathroom with toiletries in bulk bottles.
We had an upstairs room with a walkway to other rooms outside our door. There was no room to sit outside to enjoy the view.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mras90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews