We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible staff and experience”
Review of Classic Flights

Classic Flights
Ranked #19 of 58 Tours in Wanaka
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vintage Tiger Moth Scenic Flights with Classic Flights Wanaka, New Zealand. Have you ever dreamed of experiencing a piece of aviation history? To step back in time where Pilots were larger than life, and heroes to all those who lifted their eyes skyward to the sound of an old Tigermoth flying overhead? Then take a flightseeing trip around Wanaka and see breathtaking New Zealand scenery in a Vintage Aircraft. Experience the excitement of the early flyers and their flying machines; the smell of oil and aviation fuel, combined with the aroma of fresh leather. As you don the old-style leather flying helmet, complete with flying goggles and silk scarf, experience the anticipation of being taken back in time to the nostalgia of this by-gone era.The exhilaration of the open cockpit and the wind in your face - discover the freedom and romance of a vintage scenic flight from Wanaka, one of the most spectacular scenic locations in New Zealand.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible staff and experience”
Reviewed 18 July 2016

My husband is a pilot so naturally we had to do some flying while we were in New Zealand. We had been recommended by a friend of ours, also a pilot, to check out the folks at Classic Flights. We were blown away! The owners Peter and Julie, a husband and wife team, run a solid business with incredible pilots to help you experience New Zealand from the air in some really amazing aircraft. We chose to do formation flying in their WWII Tiger Moth biplanes. It was so much fun and something we will remember forever. Thank you all for such a memorable day!

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank happilyevermayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    4
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Wanaka Classic Flights ”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

This was an amazing experience from start to finish. It was something I always wanted to do and thanks to the people at Wanaka Classic Flights I was able to do the flight.
You could not ask for better service.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One for the bucket list. B####dy marvellous ”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Xmas present for the boss (she who must be obeyed). We went out in a pair of tiger moths. Surprisingly gentle flight even with some aerobatics. There's Nothing to compare with an open cockpit but still pretty well protected from the elements.

You're well briefed and looked after and made to feel welcome. Even donning the Biggles outfits feels right. Lovely views out over the lake and something to remember forever.

We had to reschedule a few times because of bad weather so book early to give time to reschedule if the weather looks bad. They don't fly if too windy.

The planes are a piece of history. Don't miss it.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
Thank Sc0us3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Freedom Of Romance Flight”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

Superlatives are not enough to describe this adventure. Two WWII Tiger Moth Biplanes. Two pilots, flying together up the lake and setting down on the shore. A romantic picnic for two. Pure awesomeness. Six stars.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
Thank Charles_and_Debbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Having donned the Biggles style outfit, we took to the skies in the Tiger Moth. What a beautiful plane, providing stunning views over the lake and its surrounds. I wasn’t sure what to expect with the open cockpit, but it was tranquil and pretty much wind free. The option of aerobatics was offered at the outset so plucked up the courage and went for it. It’s not often I’m stunned into silence (in a good way) and there are not many opportunities in life to look at mountains upside down – this is one of them! The landing was also the smoothest I’ve ever experienced in any type of plane. I cannot recommend this enough – the size of my grin at the end said it all.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank Wormoutboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Classic Flights also viewed

 

Been to Classic Flights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing