We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite restaurant in Wanaka, or probably at whole South Island”
Review of Big Fig

Big Fig
Ranked #4 of 95 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $29
Description: Big Fig is all about slow food, served fast – delicious hot dishes, fresh salads, barista coffee and baking – all packed with flavour, made with love and ready to go. We don’t take bookings – just turn up and grab a table
Restaurant details
Description: Big Fig is all about slow food, served fast – delicious hot dishes, fresh salads, barista coffee and baking – all packed with flavour, made with love and ready to go. We don’t take bookings – just turn up and grab a table
Reviewed 14 April 2024

Ordering is super easy and a person chooses from what they see, not from something just described at the menu. Staff is helpful and explained all the dishes available at that moment to me. The meals are super tasty. I would totally appreciate a restaurant like that at my own town.
The place is super busy, so it's possible that you will need to wait a bit to get a table. I sat at the table outside where it was a bit noisy from the cars passing by on the road.
To order you meal, you need to go to the counter. But the order itself is brought to you later by a waitress.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Jana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chrissie Lahood, Owner at Big Fig, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2024

Thanks so much glad you enjoyed your Big Fig experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2024 via mobile

Boy, is this place good. Healthy, delicious meats and veggies and salads laid out behind the counter, you pick size of plate and tell them which items to fill it with. Takes 5 minutes to walk through the line and you’ll be happy the whole way, especially when you sit down to tuck in. Liked the local beers on tap, too. We’re here a week so far and about to go for our third visit.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank U1378YVjeffb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2024

We love healthy bowls, and Big Fig was fantastic. So good, that we went back again the following day. Highly recommend and will be back the next time we are in town.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JavaBamBam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2024 via mobile

DELICIOUS!!! Create your own plate small medium or large with delicious options of protein, salads and sides. Brilliant!
Love the option of gluten free pastries and good cappuccino.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank BBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2024

It was a rainy day when we went and there is very little inside seating, so we got our order to go and ate in our hotel room. The food was excellent. You get to choose from a wide array of dishes and you get quite a good bit for your money.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank jjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Big Fig also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Big Fig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.