We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at a good value”
Review of Big Fig

Big Fig
Ranked #4 of 95 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $29
Description: Big Fig is all about slow food, served fast – delicious hot dishes, fresh salads, barista coffee and baking – all packed with flavour, made with love and ready to go. It’s an ever-changing selection of slow-cooked meats, tasty braises, pilafs, yummy vegetarian and vegan dishes. And we have an in-house bakery making fresh pittas, cakes, breads and more, baking all day every day. We serve breakfast from 8am-10am, lunch 11am-4pm, dinner 5pm-8pm, coffee and baking all day. We don’t take bookings – just turn up and grab a table. Big Fig is a family-style cafe founded by two sisters from a large food-loving Kiwi Lebanese family, serving modern middle eastern food with a home-cooking vibe. To Big Fig we bring heritage, tradition, recipes and stories.
Restaurant details
Description: Big Fig is all about slow food, served fast – delicious hot dishes, fresh salads, barista coffee and baking – all packed with flavour, made with love and ready to go. It’s an ever-changing selection of slow-cooked meats, tasty braises, pilafs, yummy vegetarian and vegan dishes. And we have an in-house bakery making fresh pittas, cakes, breads and more, baking all day every day. We serve breakfast from 8am-10am, lunch 11am-4pm, dinner 5pm-8pm, coffee and baking all day. We don’t take bookings – just turn up and grab a table. Big Fig is a family-style cafe founded by two sisters from a large food-loving Kiwi Lebanese family, serving modern middle eastern food with a home-cooking vibe. To Big Fig we bring heritage, tradition, recipes and stories.
Reviewed 21 March 2024

It was a rainy day when we went and there is very little inside seating, so we got our order to go and ate in our hotel room. The food was excellent. You get to choose from a wide array of dishes and you get quite a good bit for your money.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank jjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2024 via mobile

This is an amazing place. There were plenty of gluten free dishes (including cakes!) and everything was clearly marked for dietary requirements. The food was really fresh and tasty. I opted to eat inside, but would have been tempted to get my food as a takeaway if it had been a warmer evening. I would definitely make this a regular place to visit if I was ever in the area again.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank CornishEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chrissie Lahood, Owner at Big Fig, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2024

Great location in the middle of town. Blackboard menu was a little difficult to follow based on the dish size and the number and range of food choices available. A very slick operation that moved customers through very quickly. Quality of the food was fine but could have been hotter.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Prouse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2024 via mobile

Real comfort food served quickly. Choose the size of your bowl and they fill it up from about a dozen options of fresh, colorful food with one meat option and 3, 4 or 5 veg or salad sides-depending on size of bowl you ordered.

The roasted onions with cheese, meatballs and broccoli almond salad were rice and lentils were yummy. There were two of us so we joined another couple at a table to eat inside. Outdoor seating was lovely but wind was howling. Lots of Gluten free choices hubby was happy and so was I.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2024 via mobile

We stopped here several times during our stay in Wanaka. From the chai tea latte in the morning one day, a stop for a glass of wine after a hike, and the full dinner another night - every interaction was yummy and pleasant. Just select a plate size and they’ll fill it with the hot and cold selections you choose. We also enjoyed the shared picnic tables and great conversation with other folks enjoying the beautiful weather on the lakefront. Cheers!

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank ca_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Big Fig also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Big Fig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.