We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIGTASTIC!!!”
Review of Big Fig

Big Fig
Ranked #4 of 96 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $29
Description: Big Fig is all about slow food, served fast – delicious hot dishes, fresh salads, barista coffee and baking – all packed with flavour, made with love and ready to go. It’s an ever-changing selection of slow-cooked meats, tasty braises, pilafs, yummy vegetarian and vegan dishes. And we have an in-house bakery making fresh pittas, cakes, breads and more, baking all day every day. We serve breakfast from 8am-10am, lunch 11am-4pm, dinner 5pm-8pm, coffee and baking all day. We don’t take bookings – just turn up and grab a table. Big Fig is a family-style cafe founded by two sisters from a large food-loving Kiwi Lebanese family, serving modern middle eastern food with a home-cooking vibe. To Big Fig we bring heritage, tradition, recipes and stories.
Restaurant details
Description: Big Fig is all about slow food, served fast – delicious hot dishes, fresh salads, barista coffee and baking – all packed with flavour, made with love and ready to go. It’s an ever-changing selection of slow-cooked meats, tasty braises, pilafs, yummy vegetarian and vegan dishes. And we have an in-house bakery making fresh pittas, cakes, breads and more, baking all day every day. We serve breakfast from 8am-10am, lunch 11am-4pm, dinner 5pm-8pm, coffee and baking all day. We don’t take bookings – just turn up and grab a table. Big Fig is a family-style cafe founded by two sisters from a large food-loving Kiwi Lebanese family, serving modern middle eastern food with a home-cooking vibe. To Big Fig we bring heritage, tradition, recipes and stories.
Reviewed 4 October 2021 via mobile

Fantastic feed in a great location, food was delicious, staff were friendly, all around great place. Best of all... couch was mint.

Date of visit: October 2021
2  Thank Departure06763994976
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
h00dlet, Owner at Big Fig, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2021

Yay! thanks for the review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 118 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2021 via mobile

Figsationa! This place is awesome, always a go to when in Wanaka. Delicious and healthy food served by friendly folks. Should be franchised!!!

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank NorthStar66002275532
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
h00dlet, Owner at Big Fig, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2021

Agreed - and thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2021 via mobile

Various sized options to make your own choice of meat or vegetarian dishes, to which you add your chosen salads. Eat in or take away option. Fresh, well presented, great selection, very tasty food. Option to add on a drink and scrummy sweet- well priced, great friendly service, ideal location. A place we always return to

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank hkmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
h00dlet, Owner at Big Fig, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2021

Thank you - love to hear!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2021 via mobile

We skied Cardy for a few days and ate here most nights. The food is delicious and the portions are reasonable. We always chose the small option and yet we were full. It’s alacarte food at fast food pricing. To be able to eat healthy at such cost effective rates kept us coming back for more.
Why bother buying food and cooking it when this is cheaper and much much better
Thanks BF. A pleasure to discover you last year and we’ll be back next year
Muchos gracias

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Makka16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
h00dlet, Owner at Big Fig, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2021

Thanks so much! glad you liked :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2021

This place impressed! A friendly welcome and plenty of seating when we attended for a late lunch. It is such a simple concept- chose a few items from the limited menu which are placed in a metal plate of your chosen size and eat! We found the food beautifully cooked and extremely good value for money. This is not a fast food restaurant and clearly a lot of thought and care goes into each dish. Great selection of wines by the glass- couldn't be better! Highly recommend and would return in a flash! Well done at the Big Fig

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Drurolnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
h00dlet, Owner at Big Fig, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2021

Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Fig also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Big Fig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.