We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab slow food fast”
Review of Big Fig

Big Fig
Ranked #4 of 95 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $29
Description: Big Fig is all about slow food, served fast – delicious hot dishes, fresh salads, barista coffee and baking – all packed with flavour, made with love and ready to go. We don’t take bookings – just turn up and grab a table
Restaurant details
Description: Big Fig is all about slow food, served fast – delicious hot dishes, fresh salads, barista coffee and baking – all packed with flavour, made with love and ready to go. We don’t take bookings – just turn up and grab a table
Reviewed 8 April 2021 via mobile

I’ve eaten here three times in the last six months. Great food and friendly staff. Prices are very reasonable. Would recommend to others wanting a quick nutritious reasonable meal.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank twoneate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 135 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2021

We went for dinner and loved the idea that you can choose the size of your plate and then select what you want from the cabinet ..Good prices.. great Fig Cheesecake dessert and the best

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank 217JillC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2021 via mobile

Good value deliciousness. Fast and tasty- we chose the medium size which was more than we could eat for $20. I had beef cheeks with roast parsnips, baked kumera, a walnut & apple salad and a green salad. Cheerful staff & great central location.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2021 via mobile

Highly recommend this cafe food for delicious fresh food with great prices & friendly staff. Choose one of 3 sizes for your meal, delicious pavlova

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank joannereade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2021

My wife and I cannot speak highly enough of this restaurant - in fact, we made a trip over the Crown Range from Queenstown primarily so we could have another meal here!

It's not flashy, in fact the magic is in its simplicity; deliberately 'slow food' in terms of how it's been cooked, however it's all there ready to get served onto a plate. You simply choose your plate size, the meat you want (we both went for the slow-roasted beef cheek - INCREDIBLE!), and the sides & salads. There's always a nice range of options, however they all feel like meals your grandma would make (at least if she was a whiz in the kitchen).

It's such a refreshing change from generic 'fast food' options. Value is reasonable, $20 for the Medium size dish which was perfect for me (a noted big eater!).

There's also some interesting drinks available, including some craft beers and nice wines.

It's not a big restaurant, although they were still very welcoming towards our family including two small children.

I wish we had a place like this in our hometown!

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 819mj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Big Fig also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Big Fig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.