We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A HIDDEN GEM BETWEEN THE MOUNTAINS”

Ministry Of Works Bar And Eatery
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Twizel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $38
Description: Twizel's social meeting place, combining great food, craft beers and fabulous wines! This contemporary space also plays homage in its design to the Ministry of Works era, the reason that the Twizel township was created. A welcoming vibe and space to enjoy, open every evening till late.
Restaurant details
Description: Twizel's social meeting place, combining great food, craft beers and fabulous wines! This contemporary space also plays homage in its design to the Ministry of Works era, the reason that the Twizel township was created. A welcoming vibe and space to enjoy, open every evening till late.
Reviewed 2 March 2024

WENT FOR A DINNER TO THIS PLACE FOR ITS INTERESTING NAME. THE MENU WAS ALSO GOOD, NOT VERY LARGE, BUT GOOD FOR EVERY NEED. AS A STARTER I HAD GRAV SALMON, AS MAIN
A STEAK AND AS A DESSERT CHOKOLADE PUDDING WITH ICE CREAM. WE WERE HAPPILY SURPRISED ABOUT THE EASYGOING FRIENDLY ATHMOSPHERE AND VERY GOOD MUSIC. SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT AND FOOD ALSO, ALMOST SWALLOWED MY TONGUE EATING THE DESSERT...

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eija N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisette van Baarsen, Marketing at Ministry Of Works Bar And Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Wow, we're blown away by your kind words! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this review, it really makes our day! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2024 via mobile

Very nice welcome and nice staff.
Beer was good and cold but unfortunately was the meal.
No fork
Chips cold
Ordered the beef burger hoping for a nice meal.
The beef patty was small and just mince and very dry.
The coleslaw was basic no lettuce or anything special.
After service was not good but did get asked if everything was OK as I started.
Did I say no forks in the outside cutlery boxes.
Not happy so told the staff.
Sorry guys but I will not be back.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank ChauffeurNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisette van Baarsen, Marketing at Ministry Of Works Bar And Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Hi there, sorry to hear your experience was not up to our standards. We appreciate your honest feedback and also letting the staff on site know right away. This will help us to work on improvements in our service and we do hope you will give us a second chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2024

OK. YOU HAVE TO GO HERE IF YOU'RE IN TOWN. New owners and Manager (KC) have upgraded the experience massively. The lamb rum with lentils was nothing short of spectacular (lentils are not easy to get perfect and the lamb was tender, perfectly cooked medium rare, and with a light ' not too lamby' flavor) and the fish and chips perfectly cooked (crispy, moist fish, tender chips).
The bar service is excellent as KC ran the busiest cocktail lounge in Auckland for the last several years. He knows his cocktail stuff and has a solid selection of whiskeys for those so inclined. BUT here's the sign of a person who cares: I ordered a Negroni but had to run out to take care of a quick errand. My wife kept asking when I was coming back because KC was concerned that the ice cube (large, square, as it should be) was diluting my negroni. I hurried back. When I came back, the drink was gone. KC was busy making a fresh one for me. No charge. No fuss. And it was perfect (right gin, right vermouth, Campari, 3 drops of bitters). I saw some other great plates go by.
Atmosphere feels more like a sports bar than a high-end foodie joint / cocktail lounge... but the music is fun and the ambiance festive. We looked closely at a fancier nearby restaurant ... I think you'll eat best at MOW.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Stefano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisette van Baarsen, Marketing at Ministry Of Works Bar And Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Hi there, thank you so much for leaving us this amazing review! Fair to say, we're quite blown away by your kind words. Thank you for taking the time to write this and it's great to see you really loved your experience with us. Hopefully we'll see you back some day in the future! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2024

The salmon was really good and the steak was also good. The staff were friendly. Located right in the centre of town

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelDooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisette van Baarsen, Marketing at Ministry Of Works Bar And Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to review us! Glad to see you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2023 via mobile

I was surprised to find such a busy pub in a small town. There was a good choice of beer and it was a fun atmosphere. Staff were really friendly although seemed a little overwhelmed by how busy it was.. I ordered a pizza which was fine but a bit soggy.. Great place if you looking for a few drinks.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank abloomfield93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lisette van Baarsen, Marketing at Ministry Of Works Bar And Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! Great to see you really enjoyed the atmosphere here at MOW. Your constructive feedback re the pizza is duly noted and will be discussed with our team. Thanks for bringing this to our attention!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ministry Of Works Bar And Eatery also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Ministry Of Works Bar And Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.