We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Coffeeservice at the Hydro”
Review of Hydro Cafe

Hydro Cafe
Ranked #1 of 4 Quick Bites in Twizel
Restaurant details
Reviewed 15 July 2023

I went for breakfast and a Long Black coffee but the coffee was very bitter and was over extracted so I returned it and asked for a replacement please and explained that it was over extracted. I was met with a very chilled response with no apology. The scrambled eggs were delicious but when the replacement coffee arrived from a stoney faced silent “Barista” it was no better. Sad that she couldn’t manage any conversation or apology, just a sour face. Never mind there’s other dining options in Twizel.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Broadbeach49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2023 via mobile

We had an unplanned stop in Twyzel which called for a coffee break, wow what an incredible cafe. My husband had his mandatory cheese rolls which were up there with the best he’s had during our two weeks in South Island. I tried pea and leek stacks, with a little extra bacon. Really enjoyed it and the coffee was delicious. Highly recommend a coffee break here

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank X3089PDangelat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2023

Nice good old fashioned Kiwi cafe. Friendly staff, great coffee and tasty scone,
Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RST-Queenstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2023 via mobile

We had a date scone and a GF orange cake. The date scone I am reliably informed was excellent. Lots of dates. The orange cake was okay but a bit of syrup, icing or yoghurt would have elevated it to very good. Coffee was strong and the locally made mugs are wonderful. Friendly service.

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank julienz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 December 2022 via mobile

We stopped in Twizel in search of good coffee,
Hydro Cafe met all expectations. Great coffee, great service and the date scones are amazing!

Date of visit: December 2022
Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Hydro Cafe also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Hydro Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.