We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cafe in Twizel”
Review of Hydro Cafe

Hydro Cafe
Ranked #1 of 4 Quick Bites in Twizel
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 July 2023

Nice good old fashioned Kiwi cafe. Friendly staff, great coffee and tasty scone,
Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RST-Queenstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2023 via mobile

We had a date scone and a GF orange cake. The date scone I am reliably informed was excellent. Lots of dates. The orange cake was okay but a bit of syrup, icing or yoghurt would have elevated it to very good. Coffee was strong and the locally made mugs are wonderful. Friendly service.

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank julienz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 December 2022 via mobile

We stopped in Twizel in search of good coffee,
Hydro Cafe met all expectations. Great coffee, great service and the date scones are amazing!

Date of visit: December 2022
Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2022 via mobile

Always has great coffee . Best place in Twizel. Also make a good date scone. Slices look good but haven’t tried them as not much of a sweet tooth.

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank Navigate06581392459
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2022 via mobile

Very good hot coffee and real date scones. Nice vibe, friendly staff. Excellent starting point for lakes and mountains on way to Tekapo and Mt Cook Aoraki.

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank DavidRRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Hydro Cafe also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Hydro Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.