We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Hydro Cafe

Hydro Cafe
Ranked #1 of 4 Quick Bites in Twizel
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 August 2022

Awesome food and service, pleasantly surprised with the funky cafe in Twizel. Will be back for sure, great variety of hot and cold food

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank Raglan_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2022

Obviously a local favourite and extra points for the adjacent bookstore. Good hot chocolate on a cold morning, appealing cabinet food although the staff looked a little under pressure - it can't be easy operating city-style fare in a village like Twizel. Good refuelling stop.

Date of visit: January 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2022 via mobile

Pretty disappointed with the food. I ordered a chicken panini and the chicken was about the size of a .50 piece. The milkshake with ice cream was runny with no hints of ice cream. The upside was the sausage rolls were divine! Thankfully the kids didn’t like them so I managed to get some food!

Date of visit: December 2021
Thank Sherpa48853698406
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2021 via mobile

We were recommended this cafe by a tourism provider to have breakfast at before leaving on our A2O. They proudly display a “we do not discriminate “ poster, and when I asked if she could scan my vaccine pass she said “ well you can if you want to”
I mentioned that they were required to if we wanted to be seated indoors and she said “ no you don’t , I know my rights and we won’t discriminate “
This is incredibly disappointing and I had a takeaway coffee and sat outside as I am unwilling to be seated inside with potentially unvaccinated people.
The food looked good , what a shame they can’t care for their customers.

Date of visit: December 2021
2  Thank 65leighe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2021 via mobile

Nice coffee, Awesome cheese scones and best of all close to Jake’s hardware stores so we hung out there while waiting for coffees

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank NorthStar66002275532
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Hydro Cafe also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Hydro Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.