We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So impressed we went back the following day!”
Review of Hydro Cafe

Hydro Cafe
Ranked #1 of 4 Quick Bites in Twizel
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 July 2020

If you're driving the main highway through the centre of the South Island I recommend visiting Twizel for a coffee, breakfast or lunch. It is well worth the short detour off the main highway and, in my experience, better than the cafes in nearby Tekapo. The Hydro cafe is right in the centre of the small town. It has a fun atmosphere with very good coffee and a good selection of cabinet food plus a blackboard menu.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2020

After a quick wander around Twizel we decided upon this cafe for breakfast. Quirky and bright interior, friendly staff and delicious breakfasts. We will be back!

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank horseymum_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2020

The 10 of us stopped for breakfast at Hydro , and were very impressed with the quality and generous breakfasts and coffee . Nice premises, clean and tidy , good service !

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2020 via mobile

Came here for a coffee and a bite to eat on our way out of Twizel. For some reason the kitchen was closed so there was only cabinet food which was fine if not great. The coffee was very nice, the service very friendly and we sat outside in the sunshine which was very pleasant.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank IainR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2020 via mobile

Nice selection of hot drinks and breakfast dishes. All of the items in the chiller looked really good too. Food was tasty and served quickly too. Cute little bookshop attached to the cafe too!

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank stefsabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Hydro Cafe also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Hydro Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.