We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat!”
Review of Poppies Cafe

Poppies Cafe
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Twizel
Price range: $4 - $37
Cuisines: Contemporary, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: At Poppies Cafe & Restaurant we pride ourselves on giving you a great memorable experience. We have a large vegetable garden & glasshouse where we grow a wide range of organic herbs & vegetables. Our chefs use only the finest local ingredients, Mt Cook Salmon, Lamb rack, Appletree Pork, local Beef fillet ( free range & grass fed). We offer a fantastic range of locally produced wine & craft beer. With alfresco dining and some of the most picturesque scenery in the world, come and enjoy the best service, food, wine, beer & coffee Twizel has to offer.
Reviewed 30 January 2024 via mobile

Great service and good food. We shared the courgette soup which was very tasty. Then we had the special - Venison pie. Quite a large portion but very tasty. Nice setting and everyone very helpful and friendly. Highly recommend

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2024 via mobile

A lovely cafe/restaurant in Twizel, unprepossessing from the outside but lovely inside. Good selection of food and drink. Service was excellent and care was taken of our two small children. Everyone enjoyed their meals, food arrived quickly and was well presented.
Would recommend booking in advance.
Would recommend.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank GillO190
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2024 via mobile

Excellent food - we had steak, salmon and lamb main courses and all were excellent.
It did lack a bit of ambience when we went for dinner but I liked the fact that the tables weren’t packed in.
The service was prompt and efficient.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Faith1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2023

The "cafe" in the name is a bit misleading as the restaurant produced some exceptional food - far more than a standard cafe cuisine. The food was delicious and the staff/service were great.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank K3547RFedb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2023

The appetizers, food and desserts were fabulous and the presentation of each dish was fantastic. The staff was friendly and efficient. We were very impressed and recommend it.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lulugigi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Poppies Cafe also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Poppies Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.