We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner Experience ”
Review of Poppies Cafe

Poppies Cafe
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Twizel
Price range: $4 - $37
Cuisines: Contemporary, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: At Poppies Cafe & Restaurant we pride ourselves on giving you a great memorable experience. We have a large vegetable garden & glasshouse where we grow a wide range of organic herbs & vegetables. Our chefs use only the finest local ingredients, Mt Cook Salmon, Lamb rack, Appletree Pork, local Beef fillet ( free range & grass fed). We offer a fantastic range of locally produced wine & craft beer. With alfresco dining and some of the most picturesque scenery in the world, come and enjoy the best service, food, wine, beer & coffee Twizel has to offer.
Reviewed 21 December 2023

The appetizers, food and desserts were fabulous and the presentation of each dish was fantastic. The staff was friendly and efficient. We were very impressed and recommend it.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lulugigi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2023

Beautifully presented starter of gravid lax. Variety of mains including a trio of venison, salmon, risotto, and fish and chips. Presentation of meals was exceptional and each member of our party commented that the food was delicious. Well done to the team. A delightful find in a small town.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lesley499522
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2023 via mobile

Great service, great menu, excellent setting and fine food and drinks. Twice! Might add that even when full service is quick and efficient maintaining a high quality.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank kenz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 November 2023 via mobile

We have eaten here in the past and it was excellent but tonight it fell short. Very busy and understaffed. Mind you the staff were very pleasant and looked after us the best they could but they were definitely short staffed! A 7 pm reservation and we did not get our mains until 8:35. The appetizers came out quickly and they were good, bread and dips and the beef tartare. Then the wait. People who came in much later received their meals before us which was perplexing? We had the lamb rack(2), the orange roughy and the steak- nothing complicated. The fish and steak were good but the potato rosti on the lamb dish was way overcooked and dry! The lamb rack was okay but it was a bit overdone as well. The bottle of wine was excellent and again the staff were superb!

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank Smoltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2023 via mobile

Wow! So impressed with our meals here, our party of 4 ate here twice during our stay in lovely Twizel. Meals were all outstanding, delicious and good portions. The desserts are out of this world, amazing, handcrafted delights, the three of us that enjoyed dessert raved about them. Service is very good, super busy night the second time we dined, our service was a little slow, but cherry serve person soon had our drinks and meals sorted - highly recommend, you will need to book, many turned away at the door, as fully booked on a tuesday!! Will be back in a flash when passing through!

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank R7339WGdebbieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Poppies Cafe also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Poppies Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.