We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service, exceptional food”
Review of Poppies Cafe

Poppies Cafe
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Twizel
Price range: $4 - $37
Cuisines: Contemporary, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: At Poppies Cafe & Restaurant we pride ourselves on giving you a great memorable experience. We have a large vegetable garden & glasshouse where we grow a wide range of organic herbs & vegetables. Our chefs use only the finest local ingredients, Mt Cook Salmon, Lamb rack, Appletree Pork, local Beef fillet ( free range & grass fed). We offer a fantastic range of locally produced wine & craft beer. With alfresco dining and some of the most picturesque scenery in the world, come and enjoy the best service, food, wine, beer & coffee Twizel has to offer.
Reviewed 4 April 2021

We dined at Poppies restaurant tonight, not only did they kindly squeeze us in, (not literally there was heaps of room). But the service was outstanding - the waiter was so lovely and wine she recommended was amazing. The food (and the wine) was also outstanding can not recommend enough. Thank you so much Poppies! Will definitely be back. :)

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Jean120111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 62 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2021

We had three different choices and they were all very good. My fillet steak was cooked perfectly medium-rare. The vegetables were tasty and plentiful as a side dish. Nobody had room for dessert.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2021

Very refreshing to have fantastic service. Catered well to dairy free, gluten free and our child. Enjoyed a wonderful lunch in their outdoor area under an umbrella

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2021

We stopped here to refuel mid morning while cycling some of the mountain bike trails around Twizel. There are bike stands outside.
Poppies is just off the main highway so its an ideal place to stop for refreshments. It wasn't busy and the service was quick and friendly.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2021 via mobile

Wonderful food and reasonably well priced
Ample to eat
Good serving staff
My only complaint - and they were not busy - it took too long between ordering and a meal arriving
But would definitely come again

Date of visit: January 2021
2  Thank RKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Poppies Cafe also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Poppies Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.