We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
73
30
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
30
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig bedtwo young childrenmount cooknice bathroomlocal restaurantswelcoming hoststea and coffee making facilitiesanitaguestslodginglounge
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

We arrived on a hot Saturday afternoon and were made very welcome. The room was spacious with a big bed and a nice bathroom. The hosts are a friendly couple with two young children and a cute cat. They gave us a lot of information about the area and where we could go for diner. In the morning we enjoyed a very good breakfast in the breakfast room next to the kitchen.
We only stayed for one night, but I can surely recommend this place, friendly hosts, good room, good breakfast, couldn't ask for more.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank snowleopard2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkMidd, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thanks for your kind words and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

We had a good room with tea and coffee making facilities but no fridge. Breakfast was good, continental with a cooked option and nice touches like home baking and fruit. hospitable hosts, who were knowledgeable about the area. Expensive B and B

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PhillipaK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkMidd, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

We are so glad that you found the room to your liking. We don't have fridges in our rooms but we are most happy to place any items you need refrigerated into our fridge in the kitchen, or we can supply a chilly bin in your room if you wish. Thanks for your review. Cheers
Anita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights 4th & 5th March 2017. Warm welcome from Anita & Korey - spacious en-suite room with tea & coffee making facilities. Bar is in their lounge & Happy Hour is 6.30-7.30 daily. Continental breakfast with the option of delicious scrambled eggs served in the main kitchen. Delightful family atmosphere with their 2 children Ashlyn & Eli who are great company but not intrusive.
Lovely garden which guests are welcome to use including (for the adventurous) the trampoline!!
Lots of local information & details of local restaurants & Korey booked a meal for us at Shawty's - couldn't fault the food or service here & would highly recommend it.
Local shops within walking distance.
Driving to Mount Cook took about 45minutes with stunning scenery en route; Mount John observatory about 30minutes drive & well worth the 8 dollars to access the private road to the top with panoramic views of the area.
Great little B&B - thoroughly enjoyed our stay & would highly recommend it.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fred054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkMidd, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thanks for your very kind review of our Lodge. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We love to share our local knowledge and our NZ craft beers with our guests. We would also love to see more guests show off their tricks on the trampoline!!
Cheers Anita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We were a little bit surprised at this venue - we expected it to be more self contained. But it was far from it!! A warm welcome from Cory, into their family home - where family life is key. Although a little bit chaotic with toys and daily matter, we were made welcome. We had arrived early afternoon after a long drive, ready for a chill out. But we didn't feel there was much privacy. Breakfast was lovely, all guests sit round together in the family kitchen - while the children entertain you. Lovely family - not quite our scene

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Happywanderers20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkMidd, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

We are so glad that you felt welcomed into our home. Family life is key for us as we live and work here in the Lodge. We aim to make a balance between offering our guests a quiet room to relax, and welcoming them into our family for the time that they stay with us. For sure we do try to keep the children's gear from making to much of an impact into our guest stay...but there are the odd times that this is a challenge for us. We hope that you would recommend us to the people you know who would enjoy our family style B&B. Thanks so much. Anita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Really cozy and a real "home" feeling when you live here. The hosts are great and takes good care of you. Show you nearest restaurants and book for you.

Own cozy bar with wide range of beers!

Nice big room with shower.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Aspepuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkMidd, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2017

We are very happy to help all of our guests with making bookings and reservations. Our home is your home too, for the duration of your stay. So glad you had a nice time. We are passionate about New Zealand beers and love to share them with our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews