We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mark of Superiority and Distinction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat
Ranked #2 of 6 Twizel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Having traveled the North and South Islands, staying at several accommodations, none compared to our stay at Mt. Cook's Lakeside retreat! Our hosts, Luke and Kaye were the most welcoming and warm people we met along our route. The arrangements were private with all the amenities one could only hope for in a retreat Private gym/yoga cottage, private dry sauna, private massage parlor, and a perfect little two person hot tub to view the beautiful unpolluted southern hemisphere. The cottage was elegant in every way! The cuisine superb! The view...Breathtaking! The experience... "PERFECT!" Well, except for having the in-laws tagging along.
All humor aside. I couldn't consider a better place for a wedding than on the lawn with that turquoise lake and Mt. Cook in the background. Thank you for the personal tour of the southern sky in your observatory/wine cellar! WOW!!!
Thank you for making our wedding so amazing!

Room Tip: The Villa is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank patrickdoyle2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaye_Luke, Owner at Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Thank you for such a superb review Patrick. We felt privileged to share a small part of your wedding day and loved meeting you all in such a special context. A wonderful wonderful day.
Cheers Kaye and Luke (and Meg)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 62 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful time and would recommend this retreat most definitely.
We received lots of tips about excursions and places of interest.
The rooms and beds were excellent. And the dog is real cute as well

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaye_Luke, Owner at Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

We enjoyed being able to share our local knowledge with you and thank for taking time to write a great review of Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat. We agree, Meg is pretty cute. Cheers, Kaye and Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

It's very rare one can experience the beauty and solitude of a facility as the Villa at Mt. Cook Lakeside Retreat. The amenities are excellent and the view from the private lawn area looking onto the emerald green lake with the backdrop of the mountains and Mount Cook is wonderful. And the silence, oh that silence. The meals were lovely and delicious.
I am into astronomy so we took advantage of the on site observatory to view the southern skies which was the first time for me..great! The viewing of which continued in the dark skies at the Villa, the Milky Way was stunning.
Luke and Kaye made you feel at home and are very welcoming, which was a significant part of the entire experience. They have put together a wonderful facility to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaye_Luke, Owner at Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Thank you for taking time to make such a wonderful review. We loved sharing the observatory experience with you, as budding astronomers we learned a lot! We love sharing our piece of NZ paradise, thanks for choosing us to stay. Cheers, Kaye and Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

it was the best accommodation that we have stayed in NZ . Everything is perfect. Wine food and breakfast. The lake view is amazing!! I wish we would spend more time there. 装修精美,室外桃园,希望下次能够多住几天,适合蜜月旅行。

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lshen_732140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaye P, Owner at Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2016

Thank you for a splendid review. We agree, the Retreat is a unique experience set in one of the world's most picturesque locations. Thank you, we hope you will be able to return one day. Cheers, Kaye , Luke and Meg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

By far and away some of the best accommodation on our recent trip to OZ and NZ.
The location, the villa and its facilities, our hosts - Luke and Kaye, the food, the observatory, the welcome, the tips about Mt.Cook, all perfect!!!!

Room Tip: we were upgraded to the lower villa to ourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaye P, Owner at Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2016

Well this is an absolutely superb review. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you here and sharing our piece of paradise with you both. We hope to see you again when you next venture downunder to NZ. Cheers, Kaye and Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
9.1 km away
Mackenzie Country Inn
8.6 km away
High Country Holiday Lodge
7.1 km away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
31 reviews
3.6 km away
Lakestone Lodge
Lakestone Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pukaki
79 reviews
7.3 km away
Omahau Downs
Omahau Downs
#3 of 6 in Twizel
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat

Address: 86 Mt Cook Road, SH80 | Lake Pukaki, Twizel 7944, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
Price Range: $1,338 - $1,571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide two luxury accommodation options: The 2 bedroom luxury Villa and Private Spa including sauna, hot tub, workout room and massage room (breakfast included). The Villa is private and romantic and set in one of the world's most picturesque locations. Meal options available; The 2 bedroom Pukaki Homestead where you will enjoy hosted bed and breakfast accommodation (breakfast included) with unsurpassed views and warm kiwi hospitality. Meal options available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing