We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dot H
Ipswich, United Kingdom

Comfortable motel in excellent location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Apr 2024
Great little motel well located in Twizel. Short walk to town centre with shops and restaurants. Unit was very spacious and well equipped. Comfortable beds and we both slept very well. Hosts were welcoming and helpful. Good location for Mount Cook area. Would recommend
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warren Joyce, Owner at The Lakes Motel Twizel, responded to this review
Responded 28 Apr 2024
Hi there, Thank you for your review, enjoy the rest of your travels in NZ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Bedroom
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Vio.com
1.4 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room #2
  • Agoda.com
1.9 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spacious and Comfortable Lounge
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.2 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mt Cook from nearby Lake Pukaki
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.5 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.6 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $89
  • Booking.com
2.7 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $145
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free parking
View more hotels in Twizel
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
107
49
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
49
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath comfortable bed mount cook great stay definitely stay here again town centre within walking distance nice place to stay minute walk stayed nights fishing trip separate bedroom restaurants and shops great facilities heat pump small town rooms are large
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2024

We encountered issues with the cooking facilities trying to cook breakfast this morning. Unfortunately, the thermostat appears to have malfunctioned, resulting in the elements not turning off and going to max power as soon as the unit is switched on, this resulted in our food burning nearly instantaneously (on a med-low heat setting) in a ploom of smoke and the spatula melting to the pot while trying to flick the burning bacon out of the pan.

Despite notifying the owner/manager, we were only offered the suggestion of an electrician who never arrived, forcing us to spend extra on takeaways and leaving the food we brought to cook go to waste.

Given the high cost of food these days, this unexpected expense has significantly impacted our school holiday plans. While I understand that mishaps can occur, the lack of a satisfactory resolution leaves us feeling disappointed and out of pocket for amenities we couldn't use.

We did request after the electricians failure to appear and no updates being provided, that alternatives be made for us to cook some of the remaining food for breakfast. Unfortunately we were unable to be accommodated and there was no other offer by The Lakes Motel to remedy the situation.

I would think that this would sit fairly high on the urgent to do list considering the huge fire risk to everyone staying here.

At $315 per night, one would expect better maintenance of the facilities. A previous review also highlighted a similar issue a few months ago, suggesting that room maintenance might be an ongoing concern. This is evident by the broken door stop and large hole in the wall we were greeted by. On a positive note.. The housekeeping has done as fantastic job as the place is spotless.

We would currently be seeking a full refund and alternative accommodation, however my wife was here on business and a deal was made with her work that we would pay the $100 extra for the larger room.

Upon checkout the owner chose to enter a engage in an argument with us over our review on Google (despite still providing 3 stars) and threatened us with a response in an attempt to intimidate us to take it down.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curious30665066938
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warren Joyce, Owner at The Lakes Motel Twizel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2024

Hi Quentin Moss, I see you are still putting reviews up any where you can.
As I told you I was sorry to hear the problem that you had with the cooktop, but as I explained to you and your wife I could not get an electrician in Twizel that day to have a look at the problem, sometimes this happens in any appliance as you stated to me at the time when you came and seen me, I see that you used it on the second day of your stay, I hope your bacon and eggs were better second time around. I see you also wrote a couple of reviews about a Twizel restaurant yesterday as well, I hope your school holiday week gets better !
Save travels on your journey home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2024

An excellent place to stay in twizel, very nice rooms , well equiped, modern , easy parking, and very friendly staff. I highly recommend. In addition prices are very reasonable and there are plenty of restaurants in a 500 meters circle. 65 restaurant is a good typical kiwi place for dinner.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcelcY1162YX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warren Joyce, Owner at The Lakes Motel Twizel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2024

Hi , thank you for doing a review we appreciate your comments, and kind words about Twizel which is also very close to Mt Cook and has fantastic salmon fishing in the canals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2024

We recently stayed one night at The Lakes Motel on our way to Mt Cook. We had a very enjoyable one night stay! Our room was clean, linens and towels were good quality, road noise not an issue, easy to walk into town to grocery or restaurants. The manager Warren was very understanding about us possibly arriving LATE because the road from Omarama was CLOSED due to an accident. If we return to NZ we will definitely stay here again!!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank msbarb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warren Joyce, Owner at The Lakes Motel Twizel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2024

Hi there, thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and if you come back we will look forward to hosting you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2024

The motel room was very clean and comfortable. It is located close to a lot of restaurants, shops and the lake. Staff was super friendly and helpfull as well. They gave us some good recommendations for restaurants we could go to. I would recommend 10/10.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sajid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warren Joyce, Owner at The Lakes Motel Twizel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to do a review, we appreciate your comments, enjoy the rest of your holiday !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2024

Great motel. Manager & his wife were very helpful & obliging as there was a mix upon our accommodation through the booking company we booked with. Manager sorted it all out for us as we were quite stressed. Lovely clean motel with all facilities. Loved the spa bath. An easy walk to the town centre. Would recommend this motel.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warren Joyce, Owner at The Lakes Motel Twizel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

Hi Douglas, I am pleased to have helped you with the mix up in your booking with the booking company, enjoy the rest of your travels around NZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews