We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$209
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
No prepayment needed
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
marcel c
Draguignan, France

a nice place to stay in twizel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Apr 2024
An excellent place to stay in twizel, very nice rooms , well equiped, modern , easy parking, and very friendly staff. I highly recommend. In addition prices are very reasonable and there are plenty of restaurants in a 500 meters circle. 65 restaurant is a good typical kiwi place for dinner.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warren Joyce, Owner at The Lakes Motel Twizel, responded to this review
Responded 6 Apr 2024
Hi , thank you for doing a review we appreciate your comments, and kind words about Twizel which is also very close to Mt Cook and has fantastic salmon fishing in the canals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Trip.com
0.3 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
1.4 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room #2
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
1.9 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$225
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free parking
Restaurant
Mt Cook from nearby Lake Pukaki
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.5 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.6 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $86
  • Priceline
2.7 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $110
  • Priceline
0.3 km from The Lakes Motel Twizel
Free parking
View more hotels in Twizel
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
107
49
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
49
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath comfortable bed mount cook great stay definitely stay here again town centre within walking distance nice place to stay minute walk stayed nights fishing trip separate bedroom restaurants and shops great facilities heat pump small town rooms are large
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2024

We recently stayed one night at The Lakes Motel on our way to Mt Cook. We had a very enjoyable one night stay! Our room was clean, linens and towels were good quality, road noise not an issue, easy to walk into town to grocery or restaurants. The manager Warren was very understanding about us possibly arriving LATE because the road from Omarama was CLOSED due to an accident. If we return to NZ we will definitely stay here again!!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank msbarb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warren Joyce, Owner at The Lakes Motel Twizel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2024

Hi there, thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and if you come back we will look forward to hosting you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2024

The motel room was very clean and comfortable. It is located close to a lot of restaurants, shops and the lake. Staff was super friendly and helpfull as well. They gave us some good recommendations for restaurants we could go to. I would recommend 10/10.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sajid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warren Joyce, Owner at The Lakes Motel Twizel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to do a review, we appreciate your comments, enjoy the rest of your holiday !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2024

Great motel. Manager & his wife were very helpful & obliging as there was a mix upon our accommodation through the booking company we booked with. Manager sorted it all out for us as we were quite stressed. Lovely clean motel with all facilities. Loved the spa bath. An easy walk to the town centre. Would recommend this motel.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warren Joyce, Owner at The Lakes Motel Twizel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

Hi Douglas, I am pleased to have helped you with the mix up in your booking with the booking company, enjoy the rest of your travels around NZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2024 via mobile

Great place to stay and to visit Mount Cook area
Really nice and spacious accommodation
Good local store for food and great places to eat
All amenities that you need!
Nice to be able to sit out in our own part of the garden
Very friendly and helpful staff!
Thank you

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 782DebbieW782
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warren Joyce, Owner at The Lakes Motel Twizel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

Hi Debbie, thank you for your review, enjoy the rest of your travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2024 via mobile

What a find! The outside looks very ordinary. I thought the inside would be similar. Not at all! The rooms were spacious, clean and very well equipped. There were even 2 egg cups and a teapot! Bed was very comfortable. Hot tub was great. Water pressure, fantastic. Warren, the manager, was so friendly and helpful. He spent a lot of time talking to us about the local area. Walking distance to the pub and supermarket
Windows are double glazed so noise is minimal. It is across the road from the heliport that is attached to the medical centre. Not really an issue. Don't be put off by the appearance of the place. It's a gem!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warren Joyce, Owner at The Lakes Motel Twizel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2024

Hi Jo, Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words and truthful review of our Motels, enjoy the rest of your travels around New Zealand !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews