We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$95
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
Hotels.com
US$95
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
FindHotel
US$85
View deal
Booking.comUS$99
PricelineUS$99
eDreamsUS$99
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
53
44
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
53
44
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath comfortable bed short stay one night craig radiator unit cafes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2021

We stayed for one night in a very large one bedroom unit. The unit was extremely clean but the bathroom is starting to show its age. Very comfortable bed and good pillows. Were not however impressed with the threating sign in the kitchen with regard to washing dishes, our understanding is if you stay more than one night you do the dishes as you go but not if you are only staying one night, a real let down for what other wise was a pleasant place to stay.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DudleyandFreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren Joyce, Owner at The Lakes Motel Twizel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

Hi Dudley and Freda, thank you for you review, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay, I am the new manager here and have made changes in regarding the sign in the kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2020 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights during our alps to ocean cycle journey it was a lovely motel and we thoroughly enjoyed coming back after each days cycling. The rooms were so clean and the owner extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for us. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we were ever in NZ again

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank caz644
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren Joyce, Owner at The Lakes Motel Twizel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

thanks for the review pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2020

I stayed one night on my way north back to Christchurch. The property was excellent. I had a full one bedroom that way enormous. It was clean and well cared for. The only problem here is that the restaurant selection in town is minimal and certainly not exciting. Not the Motel's fault however.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren Joyce, Owner at The Lakes Motel Twizel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

Hi Mike, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020

I organised a group of 18 to do the Alps to Ocean, We found the hotel very comfortable. I took ill and needed to stay on as was unable to walk. The owners were so kind looking after me nothing was to much trouble.

I would certainly recommend the Lakes.
Thank you Christine and Craig

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hughestravels2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren Joyce, Owner at The Lakes Motel Twizel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

Awesome ! thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2020

Pros: Room was clean. blankets were clean. furniture was relatively new and in very good condition. the shower was one of the best I ever had. The pressure was great. It was also a very green hotel. They provided shampoo/shower gel in wall dispenser. Parking lot was pavement (I was neutral) and well marked (that was nice)

Cons: There was no green space. It felt very industrial. One row of units faced the busy road. The bed mattress was too soften for my back. I got backpain next day.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allerrands
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren Joyce, Owner at The Lakes Motel Twizel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

Thank you for your review, we love our Jet tubs !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews