We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
29
26
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
26
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath comfortable studio close to town owners were friendly rooms are clean great heating well equipped kitchen new zealand mount cook walking distance stayed nights living area south island warm welcome on arrival free wifi one night
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018

I was very impressed to walk into a spacious warm room after arriving in the late afternoon on a cool Autumn afternoon. It was very welcoming and nice to come back to after dinner in the town centre. I would highly recommend staying at The Lakes Motel in Twizel and will certainly be staying there again next time i am visiting. Fantastic radiator heating, made all the difference.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeN2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We enjoyed our overnight stay here! The room was spacious with great heating and a very comfortable bed! Short walk to the small village centre. There is also a wood fired pizza van parked across the road where we got some delicious pizzas for dinner!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 124AmandaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

This place is awesome. Very nice and clean rooms, well equipped kitchen and friendly owners. You have also got a front porch with seats and a bit of garden. I also liked that there are walls between your and your neighbours front porch, so you've got some privacy. The center of Twizel is just 5 minutes away by foot. You can find restaurant, pubs and Supermarkets there. The rooms are well isolated, so you can't hear your neighbours at all (not like other motels). If you fancy stargazing you can walk a couple of meters away from the motel during the night and you'll see the most unbelievable sky on a clear night. It's also quite close to the mount Cook National Park (45 minutes by car). We stayed there two nights and went hiking at the NP. That was very cool. and Twizel seems a bit more laid back and less touristy than Mount Cook Village. I really recommend to stay in Twizel and the Lakes Motel!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrigiZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The managers helped us call Australia to sort urgent affairs that suddenly presented themselves with family etc and couldn't do more for us during our pleasant sty with them, they are close to town, walking distance to all facilities.
The Motel was very comfortable and clean.
We highly recommend this Motel if staying in Twizel.
There are Mount Cook Air tours service at the airport just a short 5 min drive away.

Room Tip: All rooms wer saw were good.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank PUKAirlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I stayed at this motel for 2 nights during the rowing championships and I was really happy with it. The motel is clean, warm and well set up with everything I needed, a good kitchenette, nice bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Just a 5 minute walk to the shops and restaurants
The owners are really friendly and helpful and the motel was just right.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews