We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lakes Motel
Nearby Hotels
Mountain Chalet Motels(Twizel)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Gladstone Cottage & Homestay(Twizel)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Twizel Holiday Park(Twizel)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omahau Downs(Twizel)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
26
24
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
24
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathcomfortable studioclose to townrooms are cleangreat heatingnew zealandwarm roommount cookwalking distancethree nightswell equipped kitchenpleasant stayliving areaonly stayed one nightsouth islandfree wifichristine
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We enjoyed our overnight stay here! The room was spacious with great heating and a very comfortable bed! Short walk to the small village centre. There is also a wood fired pizza van parked across the road where we got some delicious pizzas for dinner!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 124AmandaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

This place is awesome. Very nice and clean rooms, well equipped kitchen and friendly owners. You have also got a front porch with seats and a bit of garden. I also liked that there are walls between your and your neighbours front porch, so you've got some privacy. The center of Twizel is just 5 minutes away by foot. You can find restaurant, pubs and Supermarkets there. The rooms are well isolated, so you can't hear your neighbours at all (not like other motels). If you fancy stargazing you can walk a couple of meters away from the motel during the night and you'll see the most unbelievable sky on a clear night. It's also quite close to the mount Cook National Park (45 minutes by car). We stayed there two nights and went hiking at the NP. That was very cool. and Twizel seems a bit more laid back and less touristy than Mount Cook Village. I really recommend to stay in Twizel and the Lakes Motel!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrigiZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The managers helped us call Australia to sort urgent affairs that suddenly presented themselves with family etc and couldn't do more for us during our pleasant sty with them, they are close to town, walking distance to all facilities.
The Motel was very comfortable and clean.
We highly recommend this Motel if staying in Twizel.
There are Mount Cook Air tours service at the airport just a short 5 min drive away.

Room Tip: All rooms wer saw were good.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank PUKAirlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I stayed at this motel for 2 nights during the rowing championships and I was really happy with it. The motel is clean, warm and well set up with everything I needed, a good kitchenette, nice bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Just a 5 minute walk to the shops and restaurants
The owners are really friendly and helpful and the motel was just right.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The unit was clean and and comfortable with nice sized rooms. Came with wifi which was not advertised through Booking.com so a nice bonus. Nicely welcomed by fill-in for owners. A little dated but otherwise a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DavidGA986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews