We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Lakes Motel(Twizel)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Chalet Motels(Twizel)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Matuka Lodge(Twizel)
US$232
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Twizel Holiday Park(Twizel)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
34 Mackenzie Apartments(Twizel)(Great Value!)
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$87
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
48
126
118
44
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
126
118
44
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmount cooktwo double bedssmall balconyopen fireplace to staybit datedplenty of parkingen routesmall townlake tekapotown centremackenziepoppiesstopovercafechannelsfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This hotel is not the greatest 'looker' but is quite nice. We had a first floor room with a balcony and some worn, but comfy chairs to look out over the gardens. Make sure you get a garden and not a car park view room. The room was a little dated but perfectly adequate and comfortable. We were able to drive to Mount Cook from this hotel through stunning scenery. Breakfast was good though we did have a problem with dining one night as they has a huge number of young people staying for a rowing competition. Also, at breakfast, we were told we could not dine until later on the second day because of all the rowers!! We were not told this beforehand and I had to insist we has breakfast at the early time as we need to leave to drive on!! We felt a little like second class guests! A good stopover for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Garden view room.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UK2Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twizeled, Manager at Mackenzie Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Stayed one night in a group as part of an inclusive tour. The hotel comprises mostly ground floor rooms looking onto a garden area. We had a well equipped spacious room with terrace looking out onto a berried Roman tree and garden. Very pretty. There are big public spaces to sit quietly or take a drink in the bar. Good quality buffet dinner and breakfast. A very pleasant stay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twizeled, Manager at Mackenzie Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Some 20 years ago we stayed at the Inn with friends and we were overwhelmed by the then quality, service and friendliness of the owner and staff. 20 years later again visiting with friends there have been very few changes, other than the tour buses now roll in loaded with what seem to be very aggressive rude people from other countries, a couple of which were definitely going to get their moneys worth at the all you can eat buffet, seven times we saw them go for food. It stalled our meals being delivered whilst the staff dealt with the on rush of tourists eating for China!

When meal it arrived was very nice and the surroundings were as they were some 20 years ago, we did not worry that it took a while to get our meal as the entertainment was very funny. Overall the place has not changed and the service and friendliness was very good the quality however leaves a lot to be desired. 20 years ago it was somewhere worth going to stay and bragging about it now she is a tired old lady in need of a refit.
It will not stop me going back as the memories flooded back and the scenery in the surrounds is truly amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the mountains at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kiwi353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twizeled, Manager at Mackenzie Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This is a larger than average hotel in my experience of New Zealand. The room is large, bathroom a good size, tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge.
A lot of my accommodation experience so far has been in the cheaper motel type, so a couple of things struck me about this hotel; there's no lift, and there's nowhere to unpack/put your clothes...
I had assumed this was a factor in motels but based on this, and our following nights experience, it's quite commonly widespread!
I'm physically able and comparatively active, but carrying two large suitcases up and down stairs is something I would avoid if I could!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 747idletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twizeled, General Manager at Mackenzie Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Paid top dollar for this room...worn, old bedspread and furniture...bathroom door did not stay shut or lock. No microwave. Reception forgot to advise us of the buffet tea leaving us all searching for affordable meal for all the kids. Only 2 towels provided for the 4 of us. Really poor quality and value....saved to take gghe grandchildren...very disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank millsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twizeled, Manager at Mackenzie Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback - we will address the issues raised immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews