We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but a bit pricey”

The Musterer's Hut Cafe & Gift Shop
Ranked #2 of 4 Quick Bites in Twizel
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: At The Musterer's Hut Cafe we specialize in homemade food, made fresh on the premises. Our retro themed cafe is open daily from 8am - 4pm. Relax in the sun while the kids play on our outdoor playground, or play a round of mini golf. Browse in the boutique giftshop for that unique gift. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, unquie decor and friendly staff - it's the place to stop in Twizel!
Reviewed 13 July 2023 via mobile

No question the food is good.Hearty soups, nice burgers & large fried brunches. Expect to be charged a fairly hefty tariff to match.

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2023 via mobile

We stopped here for a light lunch and coffee. We were warmly welcomed and service was with a smile. My husband said he had THE best coffee he’s had in NZ and I enjoyed my hot chocolate. We both loved our snacks of gluten feee cake and bacon and egg roll. Great little gift shop attached to cafe too. Highly recommend a stop here.

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank jokiwitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 April 2023 via mobile

Stopped of for lunch then again for breakfast. Good breakfast menu reasonable priced. Nice selection of cabinet food. Friendly service. Recommend the home made pies. Small tourist gifts also available

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank cjmjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2023 via mobile

Delicious coffee
Gluten free toasted sandwiches
Divine homemade ginger slice
And best of all the nicest friendliest staff

Date of visit: March 2023
1  Thank justordinary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2023

Went here mainly for the mini golf advertised at $20 on their web site for the size of our party. No separate desk for this activity and the queue was long. Owner charged $30 and said rates had gone up. When questioned that she should honour what they advertised she was quite rude. The course was fun with the kids enjoying it, but it wasn’t well maintained.
In the U.K. you can report this sort of charge to trading standards, will check what the situation is here.
We were going to have lunch here, but decided, with the attitude of the staff, that we would eat elsewhere.
Definitely wouldn’t recommend this place.

Date of visit: January 2023
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JoshieDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Musterer's Hut Cafe & Gift Shop also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to The Musterer's Hut Cafe & Gift Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.