We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Memory - making magical stay

A very special part of the world with luxury accommodation. Guaranteed privacy. Weather was... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
MickandNik
Just as we hoped for

A real slice of Mackenzie country; totally private and a superbly designed 'glass' house. Sadly we... read more

Reviewed 25 July 2021
jan s
,
Auckland, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 91 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Twizel
from US$143.95
More Info
from US$307.86
More Info
from US$288.62
More Info
from US$397.85
More Info
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
89
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor bath unique experience first night stayed here glass house two nights mackenzie country new zealand dark sky reserve next morning off grid a wonderful stay wedding anniversary magical place to stay watch the sunrise amazing sunrise solar power
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2021

Skyscape was the only accomodation we had booked for our whole holiday. This was the one experience I had on my wish list. Bevan & Bridget had a vision and have created the most beautiful hideaway for you to enjoy. On arrival we asked Bevan to please remember to turn on the stars. He said he’d do his best. We had been blessed with beautiful weather for the first few days of our mini vacation but had driven through rain that day so weren’t very hopeful. On arrival the setting was so picturesque I knew we’d arrived at something special. Nestled amongst the scrub and tussocks our private little glass cabin awaited. Floor to ceiling (including the ceiling) glass with clever windows coverings if u wanted them meant you could lie on your bed and stargaze then watch the sun rise. A beautifully presented complimentary breakfast was left for us with delicious local jam/honey fresh bread, juice, cereal, yoghurt and more. Early in the evening we filled the hot tub and were happy with the 3 stars we saw. Within an hour the sky was an ink carpet with thousands of diamonds sparkling. The most beautiful sight. I only hope when I close my eyes now I can see the same gorgeous night sky. I luv taking photos but no photo I took was close to what was infront of us.
My wish is everyone gets to experience this beautiful McKenzie Country and enjoy Bridget and Bevan’s hospitality. BEYOND BEAUTIFUL!!

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank GlendaCX9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyScapeNZ, Owner at SkyScape, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2021

Thanks Glenda. Thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. People tell us time and time again that photos don't do justice to this beautiful landscape.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2021

We stayed here to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. What an absolute gem in our own little country. An amazing place in an amazing setting with amazing hosts. I don't think that there is not enough words to describe the tranquility, the absolute beauty of sky scape nz. You have to go there to experience it yourself

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank Wailuff91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyScapeNZ, Owner at SkyScape, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2021

Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2021 via mobile

Such an unexpected delight! Everything was perfect. Amazing lodge and hot tub with the stars. Unsurpassed Peace and quiet. The platter was also excellent

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyScapeNZ, Owner at SkyScape, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2021

Thanks Colleen for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2021 via mobile

Can only echo previous reviews. Booked our whole trip around two nights here to see the stars without moonlight and Bevan/Bridget and Mother Nature didn’t disappoint. Two clear nights with just an amazing, spectacular night sky, together with awesome sunrises and views from the bed to die for. It is off grid and solar power only so no TV or hairdryer but if you can’t survive without those probably not the place for you. WiFi good though if you really do need to connect.

But even if the weather is not perfect for stargazing everything else is - from the friendly welcome (thanks for the lift up the hill) and the high quality accommodation which makes you feel wrapped in luxury. It’s worth staying here just for the views. And then there is the private outdoor hot tub.... what else is there to say? Can’t recommend highly enough.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank FoodieGregs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyScapeNZ, Owner at SkyScape, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2021

Thanks for the review. Thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2021

Bevan and Bridget have created a wee slice of paradise in the middle of Mackenzie Country.
Fantastic accommodation, so well presented and thoughtful, with the eco-friendly design of the room.
Peaceful and isolated, it was the perfect place to relax and unwind with views looking out over the the land and of course, billions of stars once the sun sets, either from the outdoor bath or the comfort of the roomy bed. The magical sight of seeing stars drifting across the glass ceiling as you lay in bed is an experience like no other.
I will definitely be back and highly recommend Skyscape for anyone looking to experience something special.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank Travellingtom2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyScapeNZ, Owner at SkyScape, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2021

Thanks for the review. Hope to welcome you back to SkyScape in the future. Perhaps a winter escape, with the snow on the mountains next time?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews