We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quick Breakfast Venue”
Review of Twizel Bakery Cafe

Twizel Bakery Cafe
Ranked #3 of 4 Quick Bites in Twizel
Restaurant details
Reviewed 30 January 2020

A basic bakery with some tables outside. Good coffee and a range of pastries and pies. OK for a quick refuel. Service had a naive charm.

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank BazJackSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2020 via mobile

Food is ok and affordable but the ambiance is everything but nice and welcoming. The staff is cheerful but ruled by a man who screams at them in front of the customers and from the back, shouting out from the kitchen and insulting them. Nobody should talk to people like that, moreover if they make the business run. I don’t recommande the place.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank prudence c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2020 via mobile

This is an awful experience.

I walked in the cafe and asked this blonde waitress politely for a steak and mushroom pie. She did not even look at me when I was making the order, so I repeated it again. She nodded, without looking at me still, and grabbed a different pie. When I told her that’s not what I ordered, she asked suddenly “do you want another person to serve you”? I was quite confused and did not get what she was on about so just went “not really”. She replied in a hostile tone “then I will serve you”. She grabbed the pie and dumped it on the counter and walked away and never returned!

I was stunned and did not know what to react. Could not think of one reason of what I have done to deserve this kind of customer service.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank NICOLE Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2020 via mobile

Visited here for takeaway lunch. Could not fault the food. Good selection of eat in and takeaway food. Very busy shop.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Greg8591
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2019 via mobile

We wanted a quick breakfast and this place worked our fine. They will sell you coffee to go, and our apple & cinnamon muffins were fine. Not quaint or charming, but just the basics.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank CaliTexan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Twizel Bakery Cafe also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Twizel Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.