We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
17 people are viewing this hotel
Priceline
$559
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
$560
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
$560
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Kevin G

Disappointed

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Feb 2024
This so called resort would have to be the worst place I have ever been to.The buildings are run down and worn out and doesn’t deserve the 5 star rating.The buffet breakfast is edible however lunch and dinner would only pass for prison food.We paid for the so called inclusive food and drinks package but there are only some items covered by this package.Management need to be terminated and professional hoteliers need to take over.People running this place pay the local Fijian $5 per day and totally take advantage of these beautiful people.Listen up everyone don’t stay here instead go to an island off the coast.Anyone that thinks this place is good must have extremely low expectations.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this review
Responded 5 Feb 2024
Bula Vinaka Z9269Ukeving,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your productive feedback based on your observation and suggestion of review on resort and colleagues.

For our resort we all know it is old property over 55 years old and our Executive's are already working on the maintenance of products phase by phase. You may have noticed while on property our maintenance team is already in progress of working on rooms, pool side, restaurants etc. Resort is working in best of our property to bring new furnitures for comfort of our guests.

For the colleagues we lost our old colleagues during COVID, for now we have most of colleagues who are being hired straight from university who are working with us and in process of training to get up to standard to get experience with the process of customer care with excellent services. Please note we will not touch colleagues rate to answer.

Sir/Madam, We as Shangri-La Fiji do our best to look after our all guests to the best with our customer services and care.

We take your review positively to work with our team to improve and implement on the mention issues.

Do give us another chance to provide best of services on your return and feel free to contact me directly.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary/Quality Improvement Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
$817
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $820
  • Agoda.com
    $638
  • ZenHotels.com
    $857
67.5 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$276
  • Expedia.com
    $275
  • Vio.com
    $240
  • Hotels.com
    $311
69.6 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Breakfast included
Tripadvisor
$1,024
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,024
  • Priceline
69.3 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Trip.com
$196
  • Vio.com
    $90
  • travelup.com
    $202
  • StayForLong
    $194
71.0 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $278
  • Agoda.com
69.9 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    $216
  • Expedia.com
    $252
45.6 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$130
  • Priceline
    $112
  • Agoda.com
    $95
  • Hotels.com
    $155
45.0 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $89
  • Agoda.com
78.8 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
ZenHotels.com
$459
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
40.3 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
$228
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $193
  • Lol.travel
  • Trip.com
    $193
38.5 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Yanuca Island
Reviews (4,715)
Filter reviews
4,715 results
Traveller rating
1,844
1,537
706
347
281
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,844
1,537
706
347
281
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon terrace chi spa beach bar and grill ocean wing kids club beach massage family holiday kids eat free mini golf ground floor main pool buffet breakfast per adult fish water sports fire show great for families
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 4,715 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2024

The family and I stayed in Fiji Shangri-la and over all happy with the holiday but there was a few things that made think I won't be going back any time soon. I have to start with the local staff are fantastic, they were friendly and caring but I think the management needs to looked at a lot closer. The resort was really run down and needs lots of maintenance, we had leaking air-conditioning unit, light switches were loose, bad smells coming from the toilet, holes in the ceiling and slippery tiles in the room. The pool is fantastic apart from the black mould around the edges of pool and missing tiles. The resort golf course is unplayable due to the use of pond water smells like raw sewage and the fairways are like playing in the ruff considering that was the main draw card for me to stay here a huge let down. Finding staff at the golf and mini golf were a let down had to wait 20min or more to get started. The bars and staff I can't fault they were very attentive. Shout out to the bilo bar great job. Pool staff were good. The breakfast buffet was awesome and had a great selection of food but the dinner buffet was crap. We're were the see through kayaks that are promoted in advertising. The pricing for all extra things to do is ridiculous and I think it stops alot of people. I don't think the resort deserves the 4.5-5 star I think in its current state it is a 3.5star for the money I had to pay. I feel let down and won't be going back until a full renovation is done.

Room tip: Drinks package is worth it
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

Bula Vinaka michaelgD7176TA,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your constructive feedback on resort which has been already communicated with the management team.

Thank you once again for your kind words on colleagues which is highly appreciated.

Resort has already in progress with the maintenance work which you may have noticed during your stay, we are closing area by area to work on the maintenance to upgrade, maintain the products. For the pool we managed to do some work earlier during low period however as mentioned this will be relooked and team will surely work on. AC in room will be checked for maintenance and same for the other mention areas.

We take each guest feedback to work on the issues which gives a great opportunity to improve and implement to get better services to all our guests.

Once again we thank you for your valuable time being provided for the constructive feedback.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh,
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2024 via mobile

We have the BEST holiday here with our 10 month old I already want to go back!

I would recommend this resort to anyone.

The staff are just amazing, from the waitstaff, landscapers, cleaners everyone is exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Highly recommend having breakfast at the buffet breakfast at Takali kitchen! So beautiful and again the staff there are just wonderful. We couldn’t help but go back every morning we were there!

Our favourite places to eat for lunch/dinner were Takali and Lagoon Terrace.

The vibe here is just the best. Super relaxed, everyone is friendly. So many stunning places to watch the sunset and swim!

Our room was lovely looking over the Lagoon Pool and the beach.

The perfect family trip!

Room tip: Book Takali for dinner If you are finding the Lagoon pool or beach to busy, the pool next to Takali kitchen is stunning and a lot smaller
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank pheepheejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

Bula Vinaka pheepheejay,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you for your wonderful review on resort and colleagues which makes us proud to read and communicate with all colleagues on this review.

We are very happy to know your 10 months old also enjoyed holiday and we are glad your whole family enjoyed holiday with us and look forward welcoming you soon.

Feel free to contact us directly on your next trip we will be more than happy to assist you.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2024

We have sent email to the hotel that we are 2 families and have planned to spend our 11 year anniversary at Shangri La and if they can make it special or have anything added complementary for ur. For our surprise there was nothing done, literally nothing and no note of Happy Anniversary as well. We did ask at the reception during check in if any complementary upgrade, we were told no. The room we got, Room No. 909, A/C was not working properly and room was pretty hot and we had table fan provided which helped survining the night. After multiple call they have sent someone to have a look at A/C but no luck, he said he will request for Portable A/C but it was not sent. Next Day when we chased 9 times to change the room we were given room around 5:30pm and that too after 7 calls to reception to send the portar to transfer our luggage. It was very very bad experience. Shangri La could have managed it differently in customer's favour but seems they were too busy in managing other thing.
Apart from what i have mentioned as issue faced during the stay and how unwelcoming staff was in acknowledging the request to make our anniversary special, we have been very disappointed about the restaurant staff with their admant responses on all our request for kids.
1) We requested for takeaway of menu items in room as kids were not eating in restaurant but they refused to give us in takeaway box for the room
2) Religiously we observe a day where we dont eat garlic and onion so we had got some food from outside which we requested them to just warm it in Microwave as they did not have any in the rooms. But they refused that too
3) I did say we have some food suitable for our kids need as they are allergic to things which were in the menu items on the day so we got something form out side, still they refused to warm it.
4) They even refuse to warm milk for the kids
People who refused are the staff at Takali restaurant and Girl at the reception (who was thinking that we should have microwave in our room)
We reached out to the restaurant to warm the food only after speaking to the in room dinning number where they confirmed that they can help warming up food.
These are very basic things which anyone would need who are travelling with kids and people with needs and this should be part of the hospitality.

Room tip: This is far from Nadi and Denarau Island so plan accordingly
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Varun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

Bula Vinaka 163varunk,

Greetings from Shangri-La Fiji,

As spoken with you directly and responses being communicated through other channel. Please accept same feedback from resort end to you on Medallia.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. I do not agree with all the negative reviews.
The resort is well maintained, not run down like others suggest. It is an old resort but all restaurants and our room seemed to be refurbished.
We ate at the Asian restaurant 2 nights as it was the best food we have had in Fiji! We have been to Fiji 10 times and I could not fault this restaurant! Mereula was our server and she was amazing! All the food was good quality.
The waterpark is fun for kids. Opens at different times due to tide times. It did seem inconsistent opening, not just due to tide times. My kids absolutely loved Sammy the lifeguard. The beach sun lounges need to be replaced.
The different wings are really spread out and some are very far away but buggy’s seemed mostly available.
All the staff were really friendly.
They won’t let you check in until 3pm so don’t go early expecting to get your room.
We had the drinks package and I probably wouldn’t get it again as I felt I had to drink to get my money worth. They run out of cocktail ingredients so maybe they could offer extras as part of the drinks package.
I would not hesitate to recommend this resort to other families travelling to Fiji.
Just chill out and enjoy Fiji time!

Room tip: Book the Asian restaurant, it gets very busy Go to Asian restaurant for buffet breakfast, it’s quieter than the main restaurant.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank PeterAndJodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

Bula Vinaka PeterAndJodie,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your great review with your observations on resort and colleagues. We are glad you had a wonderful holiday with us and left us reviews areas of improvement is needed to work on.

We look forward welcoming you back in near future.

Once again we thank you for your valuable time and feedback.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

We are staying at Shangri-La Fiji. Why can I not purchase a Drinks Package here? I have been told on more than one occasion by hotel staff they have to be pre purchased before arrival? What’s wrong with this hotel who complicate things for guests?

Room tip: Watch out for their Drinks packages!
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank martinjinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

Bula martinjinnz,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your feedback which was communicated on the day with the team and sorry for delay on response on the platform.
For the communication being on the drink packages our colleagues did provide you a information which was valid since we only sale meal packages.

This review will be shared with the management team who looks after packages for discussions what can be done for better for all guests.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay.

Yours sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews