We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Varun K
Melbourne, Australia

Shangri La should understand what "Hospitality" is

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Jan 2024
We have sent email to the hotel that we are 2 families and have planned to spend our 11 year anniversary at Shangri La and if they can make it special or have anything added complementary for ur. For our surprise there was nothing done, literally nothing and no note of Happy Anniversary as well. We did ask at the reception during check in if any complementary upgrade, we were told no. The room we got, Room No. 909, A/C was not working properly and room was pretty hot and we had table fan provided which helped survining the night. After multiple call they have sent someone to have a look at A/C but no luck, he said he will request for Portable A/C but it was not sent. Next Day when we chased 9 times to change the room we were given room around 5:30pm and that too after 7 calls to reception to send the portar to transfer our luggage. It was very very bad experience. Shangri La could have managed it differently in customer's favour but seems they were too busy in managing other thing.
Apart from what i have mentioned as issue faced during the stay and how unwelcoming staff was in acknowledging the request to make our anniversary special, we have been very disappointed about the restaurant staff with their admant responses on all our request for kids.
1) We requested for takeaway of menu items in room as kids were not eating in restaurant but they refused to give us in takeaway box for the room
2) Religiously we observe a day where we dont eat garlic and onion so we had got some food from outside which we requested them to just warm it in Microwave as they did not have any in the rooms. But they refused that too
3) I did say we have some food suitable for our kids need as they are allergic to things which were in the menu items on the day so we got something form out side, still they refused to warm it.
4) They even refuse to warm milk for the kids
People who refused are the staff at Takali restaurant and Girl at the reception (who was thinking that we should have microwave in our room)
We reached out to the restaurant to warm the food only after speaking to the in room dinning number where they confirmed that they can help warming up food.
These are very basic things which anyone would need who are travelling with kids and people with needs and this should be part of the hospitality.
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: This is far from Nadi and Denarau Island so plan accordingly
Trip type: Travelled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this review
Responded 5 Feb 2024
Bula Vinaka 163varunk,

Greetings from Shangri-La Fiji,

As spoken with you directly and responses being communicated through other channel. Please accept same feedback from resort end to you on Medallia.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $817
  • Official Site
66.9 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $339
  • Booking.com
69.0 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $159
  • Agoda.com
69.3 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
$289
  • Expedia.com
    $347
  • Agoda.com
    $266
  • Vio.com
45.0 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
$155
  • Expedia.com
    $194
  • Agoda.com
    $139
  • Vio.com
44.4 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $424
  • Trip.com
39.7 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $190
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
37.9 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
$465
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $426
  • Hotels.com
    $548
33.8 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Yanuca Island
Reviews (4,726)
Filter reviews
4,726 results
Traveller rating
1,851
1,541
706
347
281
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,851
1,541
706
347
281
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon terrace chi spa beach bar and grill ocean wing kids club beach massage family holiday kids eat free mini golf ground floor main pool buffet breakfast per adult fish water sports fire show great for families
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 4,726 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. I do not agree with all the negative reviews.
The resort is well maintained, not run down like others suggest. It is an old resort but all restaurants and our room seemed to be refurbished.
We ate at the Asian restaurant 2 nights as it was the best food we have had in Fiji! We have been to Fiji 10 times and I could not fault this restaurant! Mereula was our server and she was amazing! All the food was good quality.
The waterpark is fun for kids. Opens at different times due to tide times. It did seem inconsistent opening, not just due to tide times. My kids absolutely loved Sammy the lifeguard. The beach sun lounges need to be replaced.
The different wings are really spread out and some are very far away but buggy’s seemed mostly available.
All the staff were really friendly.
They won’t let you check in until 3pm so don’t go early expecting to get your room.
We had the drinks package and I probably wouldn’t get it again as I felt I had to drink to get my money worth. They run out of cocktail ingredients so maybe they could offer extras as part of the drinks package.
I would not hesitate to recommend this resort to other families travelling to Fiji.
Just chill out and enjoy Fiji time!

Room tip: Book the Asian restaurant, it gets very busy Go to Asian restaurant for buffet breakfast, it’s quieter than the main restaurant.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank PeterAndJodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

Bula Vinaka PeterAndJodie,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your great review with your observations on resort and colleagues. We are glad you had a wonderful holiday with us and left us reviews areas of improvement is needed to work on.

We look forward welcoming you back in near future.

Once again we thank you for your valuable time and feedback.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

We are staying at Shangri-La Fiji. Why can I not purchase a Drinks Package here? I have been told on more than one occasion by hotel staff they have to be pre purchased before arrival? What’s wrong with this hotel who complicate things for guests?

Room tip: Watch out for their Drinks packages!
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank martinjinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

Bula martinjinnz,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your feedback which was communicated on the day with the team and sorry for delay on response on the platform.
For the communication being on the drink packages our colleagues did provide you a information which was valid since we only sale meal packages.

This review will be shared with the management team who looks after packages for discussions what can be done for better for all guests.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay.

Yours sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2024 via mobile

Most of staff we came in contact with were lovely, resort slightly ran down for the price you pay,rooms a bit dated and have a mouldy odour.
Some cocktails were barely drinkable unfortunately, the bar staff are in need of a bit of education about service.
Relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely visit Fiji again but not at this resort.

Room tip: Don't be in a hurry for anything!
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

Bula Vinaka Tracy B,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your constructive feedback on resort and colleagues. Feedback has been communicated with concerned management team to work on training bar colleagues. For the resort we are already in process of upgrading products and maintenance on the facilities.

We are monitoring closely all guest reviews and working on action plans to enhance on improvement and implementation for excellent customer care and services.

It is very nice to know you had a relaxing holiday.

We do apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2024

Let's start with the pros:
The Yanuca Lagoon Deluxe Rooms are renovated, spacious, and nice
The Asian restaurant is excellent
Kids enjoyed the waterpark and pool basketball

Unfortunately the list of cons is far too great to ever consider returning.
The resort is in a complete need of a makeover. The buildings are rundown and tired. There are nails protruding from the boards around the pool.
The cost is absolutely exorbitant for what you get.
The swimming pool needs a complete makeover. The decking is rotting. They are doing minor repairs but the whole pool area needs to be replaced
The food at the pool is disgusting
The buffer is sub par
The grounds are not maintained nicely
There is minimal shade and no shade over the pool at all
The gym has minimal equipment for such a big resort
The kids club was below average. Staff appeared bored and disinterested in the kids. No energy at all
The resort is isolated so you cannot easily get outside food or groceries
We had to ask several times to get service. 3 calls to housekeeping to get a cot. Took over an hr to get our luggage delivered to our room. Staff were lacklustre with service.

Overall the grounds and staff are tired. We would not return.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DRIW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

Bula DRIW_10,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your review through Medallia and Tripadvisor on resort which was shared with all management team who has communicated with the own areas of defects.

We are having maintenance on property and you may have noticed during your visits, colleagues were working all around the resort and signage was placed for our guests to know on the status of work being done. Resort is 55 year more old, maintenance work has been planned which is in progress in stages to commence and complete for our all guest better experience with comfort.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay with us.

Once again we thank you for your valuable review which gives our resort an opportunity to look into areas to work and improve.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2024

This property is in urgent need of complete makeover: accommodation, approach, and staff. Sadly, in its current state, it is a long way from a five-star resort and the quality that one would expect from a Shangri-La property. Which is an enormous shame, given the location is incredible. The beachfront is pure gold. The accommodation wings need a complete renovation. The rooms are tired and unloved, and while our room was clean (although we didn't receive towels for two straight days), the room occupied by some friends in another wing was filthy and flimsy. But I think what made this resort experience the most disappointing, was the staff. There appears an attitude of indifference and inexperience from the staff. It was a vacuous, transactional approach. Like the staff didn't want to be there, had no pride in their property/work and were somewhat downcast and thus disengaged. We experienced the complete opposite from the staff at a subsequent resort on Malolo Island after leaving the Shangri-La. The difference could not have been more stark. There were positives, beside the location. The food in the Asian restaurant was exceptional, and the watersport options plentiful and kids loved the pool and waterpark. And the New Years Eve party was magnificent. But sadly, the rest was subpar.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Bula AndyIsOnTheRoad,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your constructive feedback on resort and colleagues. This is very disappointing to know you have encountered such a unsatisfactory experience with us and review has been communicated with the management team to work with own area of improvement.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews