We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
18 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$464
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Priceline
$464
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
$465
Fully refundable before Sun, 28 Apr
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
tlbarker21
Wollongong, Australia
Relaxing, just a very tired resort
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Jan 2024via mobile
Most of staff we came in contact with were lovely, resort slightly ran down for the price you pay,rooms a bit dated and have a mouldy odour.
Some cocktails were barely drinkable unfortunately, the bar staff are in need of a bit of education about service.
Relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely visit Fiji again but not at this resort.
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: Don't be in a hurry for anything!
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
$712
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
    $808
  • Agoda.com
    $559
  • Hotels.com
    $805
67.1 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$293
  • Priceline
    $449
  • Vio.com
    $248
  • Expedia.com
    $313
69.5 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
$1,043
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $1,043
  • Tripadvisor
    $1,043
  • Priceline
69.3 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Vio.com
$92
  • Trip.com
    $161
  • Agoda.com
    $149
  • travelup.com
    $162
71.1 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Breakfast included
Beqa Adv Divers boat leaving the dock
Agoda.com
$184
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Multiple ways to pay
  • Lol.travel
69.9 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Pool
Restaurant
Expedia.com
$184
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $184
  • Agoda.com
    $137
69.9 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Booking.com
$257
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $257
  • Expedia.com
    $257
  • Vio.com
    $257
45.6 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
$128
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    $80
  • Vio.com
    $82
  • Hotels.com
    $128
45.0 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$77
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $88
  • Agoda.com
    $77
  • Hotels.com
    $79
78.8 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
ZenHotels.com
$272
  • StayForLong
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
40.3 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Yanuca Island
Reviews (4,695)
Filter reviews
4,695 results
Traveller rating
1,834
1,528
706
347
280
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,834
1,528
706
347
280
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon terrace chi spa beach bar and grill ocean wing kids club beach massage family holiday kids eat free mini golf ground floor main pool buffet breakfast per adult fish water sports fire show great for families
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 4,695 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2024

Let's start with the pros:
The Yanuca Lagoon Deluxe Rooms are renovated, spacious, and nice
The Asian restaurant is excellent
Kids enjoyed the waterpark and pool basketball

Unfortunately the list of cons is far too great to ever consider returning.
The resort is in a complete need of a makeover. The buildings are rundown and tired. There are nails protruding from the boards around the pool.
The cost is absolutely exorbitant for what you get.
The swimming pool needs a complete makeover. The decking is rotting. They are doing minor repairs but the whole pool area needs to be replaced
The food at the pool is disgusting
The buffer is sub par
The grounds are not maintained nicely
There is minimal shade and no shade over the pool at all
The gym has minimal equipment for such a big resort
The kids club was below average. Staff appeared bored and disinterested in the kids. No energy at all
The resort is isolated so you cannot easily get outside food or groceries
We had to ask several times to get service. 3 calls to housekeeping to get a cot. Took over an hr to get our luggage delivered to our room. Staff were lacklustre with service.

Overall the grounds and staff are tired. We would not return.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DRIW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

Bula DRIW_10,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your review through Medallia and Tripadvisor on resort which was shared with all management team who has communicated with the own areas of defects.

We are having maintenance on property and you may have noticed during your visits, colleagues were working all around the resort and signage was placed for our guests to know on the status of work being done. Resort is 55 year more old, maintenance work has been planned which is in progress in stages to commence and complete for our all guest better experience with comfort.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay with us.

Once again we thank you for your valuable review which gives our resort an opportunity to look into areas to work and improve.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2024

This property is in urgent need of complete makeover: accommodation, approach, and staff. Sadly, in its current state, it is a long way from a five-star resort and the quality that one would expect from a Shangri-La property. Which is an enormous shame, given the location is incredible. The beachfront is pure gold. The accommodation wings need a complete renovation. The rooms are tired and unloved, and while our room was clean (although we didn't receive towels for two straight days), the room occupied by some friends in another wing was filthy and flimsy. But I think what made this resort experience the most disappointing, was the staff. There appears an attitude of indifference and inexperience from the staff. It was a vacuous, transactional approach. Like the staff didn't want to be there, had no pride in their property/work and were somewhat downcast and thus disengaged. We experienced the complete opposite from the staff at a subsequent resort on Malolo Island after leaving the Shangri-La. The difference could not have been more stark. There were positives, beside the location. The food in the Asian restaurant was exceptional, and the watersport options plentiful and kids loved the pool and waterpark. And the New Years Eve party was magnificent. But sadly, the rest was subpar.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Bula AndyIsOnTheRoad,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your constructive feedback on resort and colleagues. This is very disappointing to know you have encountered such a unsatisfactory experience with us and review has been communicated with the management team to work with own area of improvement.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2024 via mobile

AVOID THIS PLACE! currently staying at this resort at the moment (4/1/24). Originally I had drafted an average review of the hotel, but that last 24 hours makes this place worthy of Zero Stars. Worst holiday I have ever had, and we travel ALOT!!
We booked a all inclusive package via luxury escapes, which should be called limited inclusiveness at some time at some restraunts. Same for the drinks.
Let's start with the rooms, we have booked the ocean Grand Deluxe room, which was basically a 90's hotel room which hasn't been updated since (room 446 and 447), I could live with the mould in the shower, the 20 years of wear and tear on everything, the TV the same size as a tablet, but last night 3/1/24 we incurred the hotels sewage flood our rooms. Accidents happen, but what's concerning is our child's nappies and all her clothes have gone missing in the move. Hotel staff were great to get us moved, and moved to a lagoon room (much nicer room). But in the move someone has decided all our childs clothes and nappies are more important to them. Lagoon room is a nice room, really what you'd expect from a Shangrila branded hotel. But it couldn't be that simple, both room safes are missing, the showers don't work properly (stuck between the 2 heads).
Accidents happen, but all our daughters clothes aren't an accident. Plus nappies. Hotel just say sorry and we have to wear it.
Food: positive is the food, Italian and Asian are beautiful.
Service: you really need to adapt to Fiji time, which is average service, alot of confusion, and a lot of patience required (must note Mary at the Italian is the exception to this)
Pools; so during our stay, I would assume the occupancy level over new year was quiet high but for a period of time we were all limited too one pool, the pool at Takali and the reef wing were both broken. Meaning one pool for 1200 or more guests.
Towels; the first 3 days we couldn't get a pool towel, basically by 9am they were all gone, and they would say they are coming but never came.
This was also the case with bath towels, the night we arrived we had to call asking for towels, which didn't arrive so our 13 month old was the only one to properly shower and dry using the floor mat.
Check-In; this is your welcome to Fiji time. You need 2 hours just to check in, and it's a process, even if you are all inclusive you are required to put a hold off $150 per day per room.
Spa; massage was good, we 'upgraded to Hot Stone' which they forgot to do.. mins you the bungalow was like a sauna, which was kind of good they did forget.
Shelter: apparently it's storm season, so there is basically no cover or minimal cover of the pool and seats, anytime you are in the pool or sitting around the pool it's straight sunlight, which is great for a 13 month old.
Lagoon Bar: not sure what the go is, but they run out of drinks by like 130 everyday, mainly water and they just tell you they have ran out, not really any point have the drinks package when they run out of drinks daily. There is no intention to go and get more, it's just so be it.
Overall I wouldn't recommend staying here, it's been basically an episode of Faulty Towers. Food is good, activity for kids yes.
Everything is overpriced, even if you get the all inclusive it's not all inclusive, if you get the drinks package it's not a full drinks package it's a partial menu. Go to Bali, Thailand, or even the Gold Coast. This hotel shouldn't be allowed to use the Shangrila name. If you have your heart set on Fiji maybe try the intercontinental or go somewhere near Denaru. If you are staying at the Shangrila and you happen to comes across a 75% full sleeve of pink Huggies babies nappies, and bag full of seafolly baby girl swimmers, and various clothes including country road, please take to Reception so our Little girl has swimmers and clothes.

Room tip: Avoid this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
6  Thank Brendan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Bula Vinaka Brendan J,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you for your review with concerns which was handled by our Director Of Rooms with his team on the day.

We sincerely apologize for the unexpected issues which your family has encountered.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2023 via mobile

We stayed in the adult wing in a deluxe grand room. We ourselves come from a tropical climate so I understand mould due to humidity.
However every venue you go to is filthy and mouldy.
I would not want young children or anyone with a respiratory condition to stay at the resort for fear of them catching a mould disease

We had our sheets changed after the third night they were replaced with filthy stained sheets. We called management who really couldn’t care no apology- said she would get someone from housekeeping to come
We are still waiting 50 minutes and still no one has arrived.
We had booked for 7 nights after 3 we are leaving and have booked elsewhere.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Venture39219612564
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Bula Vinaka Venture39219612564,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your constructive feedback which has been communicated with the management team and concerned colleagues to work with own areas to improve and implement on the areas being mentioned.

We sincerely apologize for the unexpected inconvenience and disappointment you have encountered during your stay.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2023 via mobile

We usually head to Bali but this year we thought we would try something different
We are from Perth so 8 hours against 3 to Bali
This resort has it all and perfect if u want to stay put
However we like looking around and it’s a long bus ride to anywhere

Room tip: Busy busy with children but u can opt to stay at opposite end of the resort
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BarbaraG1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2023

Bula Vinaka BarbaraG1315,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your excellent review on resort with your observation and suggestions. We are glad you had awesome holiday with us and we look forward welcoming you back you soon when you decide to visit us again.

It is with much pleasure to have you back and feel free to contact me directly for your future visit for any assistance needed.

Wishing you all the best for joyful and blessed happy New Year 2024.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews