We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Andy C
Canberra, Australia

Forget it. Head to the islands instead.

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Jan 2024
This property is in urgent need of complete makeover: accommodation, approach, and staff. Sadly, in its current state, it is a long way from a five-star resort and the quality that one would expect from a Shangri-La property. Which is an enormous shame, given the location is incredible. The beachfront is pure gold. The accommodation wings need a complete renovation. The rooms are tired and unloved, and while our room was clean (although we didn't receive towels for two straight days), the room occupied by some friends in another wing was filthy and flimsy. But I think what made this resort experience the most disappointing, was the staff. There appears an attitude of indifference and inexperience from the staff. It was a vacuous, transactional approach. Like the staff didn't want to be there, had no pride in their property/work and were somewhat downcast and thus disengaged. We experienced the complete opposite from the staff at a subsequent resort on Malolo Island after leaving the Shangri-La. The difference could not have been more stark. There were positives, beside the location. The food in the Asian restaurant was exceptional, and the watersport options plentiful and kids loved the pool and waterpark. And the New Years Eve party was magnificent. But sadly, the rest was subpar.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this review
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Bula AndyIsOnTheRoad,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your constructive feedback on resort and colleagues. This is very disappointing to know you have encountered such a unsatisfactory experience with us and review has been communicated with the management team to work with own area of improvement.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $275
  • Agoda.com
    $239
  • Hotels.com
    $284
69.6 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $921
  • Vio.com
69.3 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Beqa Adv Divers boat leaving the dock
Agoda.com
$181
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Multiple ways to pay
  • Lol.travel
69.9 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Pool
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $180
  • Agoda.com
    $130
  • Hotels.com
    $162
69.9 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $374
  • Hotels.com
    $311
  • Priceline
45.6 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$156
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $156
  • ZenHotels.com
    $117
  • Priceline
45.0 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $76
  • Hotels.com
    $80
  • Agoda.com
    $76
78.8 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $385
  • Vio.com
40.3 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Yanuca Island
Reviews (4,715)
Filter reviews
4,715 results
Traveller rating
1,844
1,537
706
347
281
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,844
1,537
706
347
281
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon terrace chi spa beach bar and grill ocean wing kids club beach massage family holiday kids eat free mini golf ground floor main pool buffet breakfast per adult fish water sports fire show great for families
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 4,715 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2024 via mobile

AVOID THIS PLACE! currently staying at this resort at the moment (4/1/24). Originally I had drafted an average review of the hotel, but that last 24 hours makes this place worthy of Zero Stars. Worst holiday I have ever had, and we travel ALOT!!
We booked a all inclusive package via luxury escapes, which should be called limited inclusiveness at some time at some restraunts. Same for the drinks.
Let's start with the rooms, we have booked the ocean Grand Deluxe room, which was basically a 90's hotel room which hasn't been updated since (room 446 and 447), I could live with the mould in the shower, the 20 years of wear and tear on everything, the TV the same size as a tablet, but last night 3/1/24 we incurred the hotels sewage flood our rooms. Accidents happen, but what's concerning is our child's nappies and all her clothes have gone missing in the move. Hotel staff were great to get us moved, and moved to a lagoon room (much nicer room). But in the move someone has decided all our childs clothes and nappies are more important to them. Lagoon room is a nice room, really what you'd expect from a Shangrila branded hotel. But it couldn't be that simple, both room safes are missing, the showers don't work properly (stuck between the 2 heads).
Accidents happen, but all our daughters clothes aren't an accident. Plus nappies. Hotel just say sorry and we have to wear it.
Food: positive is the food, Italian and Asian are beautiful.
Service: you really need to adapt to Fiji time, which is average service, alot of confusion, and a lot of patience required (must note Mary at the Italian is the exception to this)
Pools; so during our stay, I would assume the occupancy level over new year was quiet high but for a period of time we were all limited too one pool, the pool at Takali and the reef wing were both broken. Meaning one pool for 1200 or more guests.
Towels; the first 3 days we couldn't get a pool towel, basically by 9am they were all gone, and they would say they are coming but never came.
This was also the case with bath towels, the night we arrived we had to call asking for towels, which didn't arrive so our 13 month old was the only one to properly shower and dry using the floor mat.
Check-In; this is your welcome to Fiji time. You need 2 hours just to check in, and it's a process, even if you are all inclusive you are required to put a hold off $150 per day per room.
Spa; massage was good, we 'upgraded to Hot Stone' which they forgot to do.. mins you the bungalow was like a sauna, which was kind of good they did forget.
Shelter: apparently it's storm season, so there is basically no cover or minimal cover of the pool and seats, anytime you are in the pool or sitting around the pool it's straight sunlight, which is great for a 13 month old.
Lagoon Bar: not sure what the go is, but they run out of drinks by like 130 everyday, mainly water and they just tell you they have ran out, not really any point have the drinks package when they run out of drinks daily. There is no intention to go and get more, it's just so be it.
Overall I wouldn't recommend staying here, it's been basically an episode of Faulty Towers. Food is good, activity for kids yes.
Everything is overpriced, even if you get the all inclusive it's not all inclusive, if you get the drinks package it's not a full drinks package it's a partial menu. Go to Bali, Thailand, or even the Gold Coast. This hotel shouldn't be allowed to use the Shangrila name. If you have your heart set on Fiji maybe try the intercontinental or go somewhere near Denaru. If you are staying at the Shangrila and you happen to comes across a 75% full sleeve of pink Huggies babies nappies, and bag full of seafolly baby girl swimmers, and various clothes including country road, please take to Reception so our Little girl has swimmers and clothes.

Room tip: Avoid this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
6  Thank Brendan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Bula Vinaka Brendan J,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you for your review with concerns which was handled by our Director Of Rooms with his team on the day.

We sincerely apologize for the unexpected issues which your family has encountered.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2023 via mobile

We stayed in the adult wing in a deluxe grand room. We ourselves come from a tropical climate so I understand mould due to humidity.
However every venue you go to is filthy and mouldy.
I would not want young children or anyone with a respiratory condition to stay at the resort for fear of them catching a mould disease

We had our sheets changed after the third night they were replaced with filthy stained sheets. We called management who really couldn’t care no apology- said she would get someone from housekeeping to come
We are still waiting 50 minutes and still no one has arrived.
We had booked for 7 nights after 3 we are leaving and have booked elsewhere.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Venture39219612564
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Bula Vinaka Venture39219612564,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your constructive feedback which has been communicated with the management team and concerned colleagues to work with own areas to improve and implement on the areas being mentioned.

We sincerely apologize for the unexpected inconvenience and disappointment you have encountered during your stay.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2023 via mobile

We usually head to Bali but this year we thought we would try something different
We are from Perth so 8 hours against 3 to Bali
This resort has it all and perfect if u want to stay put
However we like looking around and it’s a long bus ride to anywhere

Room tip: Busy busy with children but u can opt to stay at opposite end of the resort
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BarbaraG1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2023

Bula Vinaka BarbaraG1315,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your excellent review on resort with your observation and suggestions. We are glad you had awesome holiday with us and we look forward welcoming you back you soon when you decide to visit us again.

It is with much pleasure to have you back and feel free to contact me directly for your future visit for any assistance needed.

Wishing you all the best for joyful and blessed happy New Year 2024.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2023

We stayed at Beach Bure 3 (BB3) which is a 2 bedroom Bure down towards Bilo Bar! The rooms are air conditioned but common area ie. living area and kitchen have fans but not an issue as the breeze through the Bure is lovely when you open the front and back sliding doors. The rooms are a little dated but for a family of 4 with a 2 yr old and 7 month old it didnt bother us in the slightest. For us its more about functionality and the Beach Bure 3 delivered on all fronts! So its excellently located for sunset drinks during happy hour with the incredible Telica and Elijah at the Bilo Bar! The view is of the lagoon which is incredible and you have your own little stretch of beach to walk out of for those early morning swims. Biggest highlight as we have a 2 year old son and 7 month old daughter is the Nanny! Our Nanny is Marisilina Naresia, who has worked at ShangriLa for more than 20 years! She was incredible with our 2 year old showing him how to weave a basket from coconut fronds and teaching him about the different types of fish that were swimming outside our Bure. Marisilnia then would sing Fijian songs (meke) to our 7 month girl to ease her to sleep and even did Fijian massages (bobo) on her after every bath! By the end of our incredible holiday our 2 yr old was calling Marisilina Bubu which is Fijian for Grandmother. If you need a Nanny when at ShangriLa then specifically ask for Marisilina Naresia! I cant recommend her enough! ps. She is a Catholic for information.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2023

Bula Vinaka willowsinthedam,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your great review on resort and colleagues. We are glad you have enjoyed your holiday with us and we look forward welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2023 via mobile

It was a very good stay. Unlike other reviews we found the rooms to be good, not damp or dirty. The housekeeping also showed up when we called. The staff overall was wuite friendly and good. The resort is great but too spread out, lots of walking. The front reception did seem clueless about few things. There wasn't enough clarity around the full board we booked. Each time they had to ask. I dont think the full board is worth the money. The onlg thing lacking was vood food. The lagoon restaurant food was just average. Beach bar and grill not good. Only good restaurant was Takali. We couldn't eat at Cowrie restaurant as we were told its adults only. That's a shame. Plenty of beach towels, no issue. Free snorkeling gear for an hour which was good. Free kids lunch was good option. Fire show and dinner was expensive for what you get.
Few cons: staff seemed to not know much, every time we asked something they had to go and check with management. Nothing in the restaurants to keep kids busy, no colours, crayons etc. Cocktails were very limited and pricey. Having said that, we had a very good trip, wish we had booked lagoon rooms as ocean wing was a bit far.

Tip: get taxi from outside the airport as they as half price or less than what you get charged when you book from the hotel.

Room tip: Get taxi from airport, get water bottles and get reef or lagoon rooms.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hinz_Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2023

Bula hinz_Auckland,
Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Thank you to share your review on resort. We are glad you have enjoyed your holiday with us and we look forward welcoming you back in near future.
We will take your review seriously to look into the areas you have observed needs improvement to work with concerned department.
Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews