We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
DAVE B

Security bond not refunded

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Nov 2023
Resort itself was a lovely family resort and we had a wonderful time. We arrived an hour early and front office provide us early check in without any extra fee. however, the problems started on checkout. We were advised that security deposit would be refunded straight onto our credit card and said it could take up to 7 days to process. We waited and waited and despite emailing many many times it has not been refunded. This is a large amount of money and unacceptable that it has taken this long to return. It was September 2nd November 2023 we checked out and my emails seem to be being ignored. Very frustrating! Reservation Reference numbers are 28024917/28024916
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this review
Responded 22 Nov 2023
Bula Vinaka Balapitiya,
Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Thank you for your constructive feedback on resort. Kindly updating I have communicated this review with concerned department managers who will be looking into pre-authorization amount which was held to secure your incidental and upon check out using of same credit card would have been dropped in your account with no changes to your balance since amount is only been held not being processed out of your account. Pre-authorization (bond) release will take place 10 to 15 working days to drop back to your account.
We sincerely apologize for the delays which has inconvenienced you.
Please allow time to concerned department to check and revert back to you.
Feel free to contact resort directly or via email address to reservations team which has been published on Shangri-La Website.
Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$1,062
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
66.9 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
$350
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
69.0 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
$1,039
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    $1,039
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
68.7 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $209
  • Priceline
69.3 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $417
  • Hotels.com
45.0 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $92
  • Agoda.com
78.2 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $424
  • Hotels.com
39.7 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $237
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
37.9 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $416
  • Algotels
33.8 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
$281
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $281
  • Priceline
27.1 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Yanuca Island
Reviews (4,749)
Filter reviews
4,749 results
Traveller rating
1,867
1,544
708
349
281
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,867
1,544
708
349
281
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon terrace chi spa beach bar and grill ocean wing kids club beach massage family holiday kids eat free mini golf ground floor main pool buffet breakfast per adult fish water sports fire show great for families
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 4,749 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2023 via mobile

A wonderful resort with the best people!

We booked an all inclusive package for myself, my partner and our 20 month old toddler via Lucury Escapes for $3600AUD in an Ocean Deluxe Room. I didn’t really understand the layout of the resort when booking, but once I realised I emailed them and they said we could move to a Yanuca deluxe room for an extra $100FJD per night - great! Locked it in.

We arrived and sadly they’d overbooked those rooms so we had to go in the Ocean Deluxe Room anyway - this was annoying as I had the email trail to show too. Oh well, this was literally the only hiccup! We got a cot for our toddler no problems, we were in room 550, there isn’t a lift though apart from the staff lift, and this was sometimes closed which made life with a pram and stairwell difficult but we managed, but something to be aware of.

We had transfers included with Tewaka and they were fantastic, they even dropped us in Denarau on the way back instead of the airport. I did ask for a car seat and they had one ready for us each visit, but Hunter is 95cms tall at 20 months and there was no way he would fit in the tiny rear facing capsule they had ready for us haha. He sat on my lap both ways and luckily it all worked out fine!

For our first breakfast we tried Takali, it was much closer to our room and we loved it so much we ended up having breakfast there for all 5 mornings! Every single staff member there was beautiful, when Hunter screamed when I went to get some food they would just rush over and pick him up and distract him, they were wonderful! One in particular, Joe or Joseva was just the sweetest most kindest human, when he saw us even swimming by the pool he’d come over with our drink orders without us even having to ask and he even brought Hunter icy cold apple juices throughout the day, again without being asked 🥰 we left him a big tip on the last day haha, but truly every single person in the entire resort just bent over backwards for us and helped us so much with Hunter. If you have a toddler this is definitely the hotel for you!!!!

We didn’t ever really want a huge lunch because the breakfasts and dinners were so big so we just ordered from the takali pool side menu, and that worked perfectly! Our faves were the seafood salad, spring rolls and chicken satay! Oh and the pandan crepes with caramelised coconut were to die for!!!!!!
Nanny service was excellent! We had Francis every night!

The a/c in the room was ok, but not amazing. During the day it definitely didn’t do enough and we were absolutely boiling but it was perfect at night.

Dinners out, we splurged! We had lobster and mud crab at Takali, did a night at golden cowrie (black marlin) sunset drinks at Bilo Bar, and one night we did the marau village show! our first night we arrived so late but they allowed us to use our credits in room service which was great, that food wasn’t amazing and it took an hour but very convenient after a toddler travel day!

The fire show was pretty good, but in true toddler form Hunter cracked it at the loud noise and humidity so we did sadly have to leave. I’ve definitely been to better luaus in Hawaii etc. But given you can put your credit towards it it’s actually an incredibly cheap awesome night! Hot tip, the Kokoda is at the end so make sure you leave some room on your plate if you’re a seafood lover like me!

We also had a 90 minute Fijian bobo massage at the Chi spa which was just absolute bliss! It was so relaxing and such a beautiful setting, I felt very at peace!

Resort is a little dated but perfect vibe and exceptionally friendly staff, have never stayed somewhere where I felt like I was with family like this!

Room tip: Definitely do all inclusive
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank xtinacocacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2023

Bula xtinacocacola

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your excellent review on resort and colleagues with your suggestions and observations. We take each guest feedback very seriously to look into areas being highlighted to work with team on improvement and implementation.
This review has been communicated with the management team and colleagues.

Mostly important we are glad you had a awesome holiday with us and we look forward welcoming you back in near future.

Once again we thank you for your constructive detailed feedback on resort and colleagues.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2023

I think this Shangri-La property was pretty nice when it was built but it’s starting to show its age and is a lot to maintain! It doesn’t look as pristine as other Shangri-La properties we’ve been to. The staff there was amazing, super friendly and welcoming. We were ending our 2 week long vacation and only had a short stay here but our room was not ready until 5:30pm the day we checked in, we arrived at 12pm and check in time is 3pm. So I was hoping to get a late check out and the best they could do was 1pm. I was a little disappointed our room was ready so late because it made it a rush to try and get ready for dinner in time for a 6pm sunset. Not what I was expecting. We did really enjoy the amenities like the lagoon side pool, my child loved the ocean waterpark and snorkeling is doable in the protected bay.

Room tip: If you have to check out and then have a later flight in the evening or night. Use the showers at the gym to freshen up before leaving
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LUV2TRVL4EVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2023

Bula Vinaka LUV2TRVL4EVER,
Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Thank you to share your constructive feedback on resort and colleagues and also booking your holiday with us. We are glad you had short & sweet stay at the Shangri-La.
We take each review very seriously to work with management and colleagues on improvement. We do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered for late check in.
We look forward welcoming you back in near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2023

We stayed for 5 nights all inclusive. The breakfast was fantastic. However lunch so so, & dinner choices limited. Staff so ‘laid’ back - slow service and a system only they know. Resort too spread out

Room tip: If you want to go from 1 part of resort to another be prepared for a walk - buggies available to transport you but we waited 40mins for ours
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2023

Bula Vinaka karenfY6529DX
Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Thank you for your valuable time providing your review on resort and colleagues with your observations / suggestions. We take each guest review very seriously to look into with management & colleagues to improve on product and services and this review has communicated to management and colleagues.
We do apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay.
We look forward welcoming you back in near future.
Once again thank you for your constructive feedback.
Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2023

The bar staff were amazing! We were greeted by the lovely Netani Seva who looked after us by the pool each day.
He was very friendly and the kids loved him.
He always made sure the kids and adults were fed and happy.
We will miss you Netani!

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Bula Vinaka emilywS2313LE,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your great review on resort and Netani which has been communicated with all colleagues and management. We will surely recognize Netani, this review brings great motivation to him and encourages to keep providing his best to all guests.

We can see you had enjoyed holiday with us and we look forward welcoming you back.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary/Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2023

Excellent service, amazing hospitality. Everything was organized and very smoothly. Great place to relax and spent time with family and friends. Definitely will go back and recommend this resort to anyone. A lot of activities for children and adults, never get bored.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Bula Vinaka olgakU36229FG,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your excellent review on resort and colleagues. We are glad you had wonderful holiday with us and we look forward welcoming you back in near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews