We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
$544
Fully refundable before Sun, 19 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
$544
Fully refundable before Sun, 19 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$543
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Trek59684796181

BEAUTIFUL RESORT, A MEMORABLE STAY

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Nov 2023
Check in was a long process. No map or orientation was given at a check in and we found out what was where from other guests. The room provided everything needed for a comfortable stay and a lovely touch was the complimentary bottle of wine and chocolate box. The bed was comfortable and we had a view over the lagoon area which was great. Wi-Fi is complimentary and worked really well.
We were on a full package, with meals and drinks. This worked very well for us. Be aware that the meal package is capped at $114 per person per day but you can easily work around that. We visited the Terrace restaurant, which is buffet style and more for families, only once. There is an Asian restaurant which was great and the Black Marlin (adults only - mainly Italian) which was fantastic for a quiet long dinner.
Each and every staff member is a jewel, so happy, warm and friendly. The staff made for a memorable visit. I would consider seriously coming back again. Having no children would opt for the adults only area with a dedicated pool and bar. Other than the above, loved our stay.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Just enjoy every moment of your stay, it will be memorable.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this review
Responded 5 Nov 2023
Bula Trek59684796181,

Thank you to share your great & valuable review on resort. We are glad you have memorable stay with us and we look forward welcoming you back soon.

We do apologize for the check in took long and not providing map, this review has been shared with the management team to assist with working on improvement and implementation.

Feel free to contact me directly for your future travel.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$302
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • travelup.com
69.6 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $182
  • Agoda.com
69.9 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $255
  • Booking.com
45.6 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
$195
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
45.0 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $304
  • Priceline
40.3 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $193
  • Trip.com
  • Destinia.com
38.5 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Algotels
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $341
  • Hotels.com
34.4 km from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Yanuca Island
Reviews (4,708)
Filter reviews
4,708 results
Traveller rating
1,840
1,534
706
347
281
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,840
1,534
706
347
281
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon terrace chi spa beach bar and grill ocean wing kids club beach massage family holiday kids eat free mini golf ground floor main pool buffet breakfast per adult fish water sports fire show great for families
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 4,708 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2023

This is my second time at this hotel, first time I came as a solo traveller, second with my mum I returned.
My first experience here was flawless. Hence returning and my first review I talked up the Shangri-La.
My second time around was a lovely trip but different. Please note only 11 months between the two..
Few things that were different / affected my review :
Booked a twin room, as with my mother . Ended up with a king bed. No other rooms available to move to (even if we paid more) no compensation offered. Eventually got two individual rooms at a lesser rate but this took two days of our 5 day trip and lots of arguing with the hotel- certainly not a memorable start to our trip and not what I would expect for a return traveller.
Other things that were different to first time.
I was able to get bottled water from bar complimentary at anytime. This time not available.
No safe in room
Adults breakfast / dinner venue closed for renovations. We knew ahead of time so not an issue as has an alternative adults venue but this was closed one of the 5 nights we were there which was disappointing as we would have liked to have known this and booked elsewhere.
Pool had removed all its umbrellas except one. Luckily I like the sun but not ideal if you want shade. Apparently related to the recent winds but should have had more than one.
Overall, a lovely trip but lots of little things that didn’t leave me with the same “feeling” I had after the first time at shangri-La.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank laurasY469VI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Bula Vinaka laurasY469VI,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your valuable response on your first and second stay with us, your response is very important to our resort as this allows us to work on the areas which needs to be improved and implemented.

We sincerely apologize for all inconvenience you have encountered during your stay on the mentioned issues.

This review has been shared with the management team who work with team members on improving and arrange refresher trainings for the colleagues.

Feel free to contact us directly for your future travels.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2023

Very poor service
Maybe one of the worst reception service in Fiji currently
Check in time 3pm for two rooms but one room made available after 3.30pm and another given after we called around 6pm
Second room only made available after calling reception.
Room service don't attend to calls for around 30 minutes. That too after numerous reminders.

Room tip: Get ready to pay security deposit of 150/room upon arrival. No mention of that anywhere. Dirty and crowded
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RaviFijiChess
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Dear Dr. Ravikesh Prasad,
Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji
Thank you to share your review which I have shared with the management team as we will surely look into this issue being highlighted. We take each guest review very seriously to work on improvement. I take this opportunity to sincerely apologizes for all inconvenience you have encountered during your stay. It is very disappointing to know you have experienced mentioned issues, kindly updating our respected management will be taking appropriate action to improve and train colleagues.
Once again thank you for your valuable time providing feedback.
Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary/Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2023

Really great hospitality, we only do 5 star accommodation and this certainly is a luxury resort. We had a 2 bedroom beach bure on the water's edge which was perfect. If you can afford the splurge the bure is worth it for privacy and space. We felt like the whole beach was ours. We will be back with the whole family and will get two bure side by side.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank shivnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2023

Bula Vinaka shivnis,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your great review on resort. We are glad you and your family had a wonderful holiday with us and we look forward welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2023

This is an amazing location. Beautiful beach. Coral. Tropical fish. Was just disappointed at the quality of the rooms. Is not 5 star quality. When it rained there was water dripping from the ceiling onto my daughters bed. Rooms smelt mouldy. Towels weren’t replaced one of the days. Although kids thought it was great when one cleaner made an elephant out of the towels. Torches at the restaurant only got lit once during our 6 night visit. Felt it lacked in free entertainment and atmosphere. Had to pay to see a fire show. Missed out on weaving as it wasn’t advertised anywhere. Buffet is very overpriced!! Had to pay adult price for my two teenage daughters. When all they eat is a bowl of spaghetti bol a roll and have an ice cream. Made it very expensive for a family of 6! Italian restaurant was closed for renovations. So food choices very limited. Was expecting this resort to be amazing for the amount we paid. Was left disappointed!

Room tip: Bring your own snacks. Food is VERY expensive.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

Dear leannesN9291AS,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you for sharing your constructive review on resort. It is very disappointing to know your expectation with resort did not meet and this review has been communicated with the management team to discuss with team on which areas of improvement they can work on.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay.
Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2023

The resort is a long way off the quality of the photos shown in its promotion material. In addition, during our week's stay the main restaurant area was under construction, with rain water pouring through light fittings into the breakfast buffet area below as a result. Our room was tired with some lights not working. The main pool toilet floor was continuously flooded with a urninal blocked and it smelled like a sewer. The toilets that service the Black Marlin were also disgusting. The golf course was un-mown and nothing like the quality shown in photos. Never going back!

Room tip: Don't do it.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Passenger41646766521
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shangri-La Fiji, Owner at Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2023

Bula Passenger41646766521,

Greetings from Shangri-La Yanuca Island, Fiji

Thank you to share your constructive feedback towards resort and services. This is very upsetting to know you have experienced issues during stay which has made your holiday unpleasant. Review has been communicated with the management team to work defects to rectify.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay.

Yours Sincerely,
Ashwini Singh
Executive Secretary / Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews