We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
niles s
Spring Valley, California

We were not impressed.

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Mar 2024via mobile
First, the good: 1. The staff are terrific. Attentive and accommodating. They all seem to enjoy their jobs. 2. The buffet breakfast. It’s plentiful and varied. Very good. 3. The pool. It’s the perfect size for the resort and is kept perfectly clean.

Now, the negatives. 1. There is no swimmable beach. The marketing photos put out by the resort are extremely misleading. After looking at the pictures, we believed that we would be able to walk out of our room right to a sandy beach with swimmable blue water. There is no sandy beach at all. It’s all rock. Plus, the water by the hotel is brown and murky looking. 2. Other than breakfast, the food is terrible and overpriced. We really did not have a single decent meal at the resort. 3. The resort is isolated. You are stuck at the resort unless you rent a car, do a tour every day, or take outrageously expensive taxi rides. 4. The resort takes advantage of its guests’ isolation to gouge. For example, when you first arrive, the front desk gives each guest a small bottle of water. That’s it for the remainder of your stay. After that small bottle is gone, you have to choose between drinking unsafe tap water or buying bottled water from the hotel. A liter bottle of water was $6 US (compared to 60 cents in Nadi.) The same with food. There are two restaurants. One serves meals at inflated prices. It shuts down at 3 pm. When you get hungry at dinner time, the only place you can eat is the main restaurant, which is doubly inflated (and the food is bad). The dinner buffet was between $35 and $45 each night and that did not include any drinks.

This resort has a great deal of potential. The grounds are beautiful, the people are wonderful, and the buildings are in good condition, which is amazing considering the beating they take in the Fijian rainy season. However, I would not stay there again unless they made dramatic improvements in the problem areas I mentioned above.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Choose a different resort for your Fiji vacation.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sera Driso, Other at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island, responded to this review
Responded 9 Apr 2024
Dear 83niless,

Bula Vinaka and Greetings from DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotels Fiji.

Foremost, we acknowledge your feedback and kind words of appreciation towards our team of staff. It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our services, the food options available and our amenities in general.

We have also noted your comments relating to your experiences here and we apologize for falling short of your expectations. Your feedback is noted and has been taken on-board as we always endeavor to improve our services. In regard to the bottled water, for clarifications, the arrival package is inclusive of 2 bottles of water and aside from that, our tap water has the certified water filter system in compliance with the government's OHS requirement for any hotel & resort operations. Hence, our tap water is safe to use. For our food pricing, more than a few of our food and beverage items are imported and apart from import tax, hotel tax is also added in line with government regulations. In comparison to the market prices, our prices are fair, and it would have been our pleasure to have clarified your concerns while you were here.

Nevertheless, we hope that you will once again choose to visit our resort again for more lasting memories.

Until such a time, we wish you well.

Vinaka and Best Regards,
Resort Management.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$140
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $140
  • ZenHotels.com
    $140
  • Lol.travel
1.1 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Free parking
Pool
$71
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $71
  • Agoda.com
3.4 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Free parking
Pool
$1,018
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $1,022
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $1,020
6.5 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
$2,038
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $2,041
  • Expedia.com
    $2,045
  • Tripadvisor
    $2,045
6.6 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
Main gate
$72
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $69
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
7.0 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
$964
  • Booking.com
    $956
  • ZenHotels.com
    $882
  • Priceline
7.1 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Free parking
Beachfront
$78
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $76
  • Expedia.com
    $119
7.3 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Free parking
Restaurant
$1,023
No prepayment needed
  • Hilton
    $1,039
  • Expedia.com
    $1,027
  • Priceline
7.3 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Free parking
Pool
$249
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $224
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
7.6 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Free parking
Room service
$94
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $93
  • Vio.com
8.2 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Restaurant
View more hotels in Sonaisali Island
Reviews (1,481)
Filter reviews
1,481 results
Traveller rating
685
420
176
111
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
685
420
176
111
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree horse riding minute boat ride swim up bar ocean view bure bar and grill main restaurant breakfast buffet beach front nadi town water sports kids club restaurant staff staff were amazing day trip coral coast relaxing holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,481 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2024 via mobile

Spacious room with kitchen, washer and dryer.
On the beach with a great restaurant. Very nice and helpful staff . In a nice little neighborhood with grocery store nearby. Large, well appointed bathroom.
I would highly recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sera Driso, Other at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Dear Lora G,

Bula Vinaka and Greetings from DoubleTree Resort Fiji.

Great to hear of your enjoyable experiences whilst you were here. We always endeavor to ensure that our valued guests have the most memorable time.

Thank you for also speaking highly of our staffs and their services, they are definitely a team to beat!

We look forward to seeing you all again for more fantastic experiences.

Until we meet again, we wish you well.


Vinaka & Island Regards,
Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2024 via mobile

The location was beautiful and enjoyed the ferry ride over. The grounds around the centre of the hotel were lovely, but the most memorable part of our stay there was the staff, all of whom were so friendly and went beyond expectations to make us feel so welcome and at home.
The resort itself though seemed to be in a state of disrepair. Our room was very dated and there were issues with the electricity in our room. We feel that a hotel chain like Hilton should better maintain their property. The food was okay but quite overpriced for what you got. Not the best value for money.
Would not return, but the one saving grace was the beautiful staff people.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TomTom676
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sera Driso, Other at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Dear TomTom676,

Bula Vinaka and Greetings from DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Fiji.

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent holiday with us. Your kind compliments and acknowledgement towards our team of staff is sincerely appreciated.

We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered in your allocated room and assure you that your review has been discussed at length with our department heads, for our improvements. Our Head Chef has also been notified of your food feedback and we will continue to work on daily improvements.

In regard to the food prices, we import more than a few items and pay duty with mandatory tax in adherence to government regulations here in Fiji. Overall, this has a direct effect on our pricing, however, it is still fair to the market here in Fiji.

We hope to see you all again. Until then, we wish you well.


Vinaka & Island Regards,

Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2024 via mobile

F
The staff at the hotel was the friendlest ,most courtesies. Most fun. Highly recommended
The breakfasts were superb . The facility terrific. Don't miss it. Truly a tropical paradise. Tell all your friends. Dinners were not great and the hotel was mostly empty

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sera Driso, Other at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Dear Charles T,

Bula Vinaka and Greetings from DoubleTree Resort Fiji.

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay in our beautiful resort.

Your kind compliment towards our team of staff is sincerely appreciated. We are always proud of their commitment to ensure that all our valued guests have an enjoyable time. We have also noted your food concerns and have seriously discussed this with our Kitchen team member and the Head Chef, for our improvements.

We hope that we may again have the pleasure of your company here.


Vinaka & Island Regards,

Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

It's been our 3rd time in a row in 3 years staying at Sonasali Double tree. I am a loyal hilton Diamond honours member and I stay at least 30 nights in a year at different hilton hotels over the year.

That's why I have decided to write this detailed review because I feel that management needs to know and address these issues.

The issues started as soon as we landed at the airport.  I had booked a hotel airport pick-up transfer with Serona In reservations.  When we arrived noone was waiting for us. We waited 40 minutes and asked the airport customer service desk and they helped us look for our driver but after 40 minutes we concluded that noone had actually been organised to pick us up. This was very disappointing with after a long flight and tired toddler we had to scramble to find our own taxi.

Breakfast had no variety. We booked to stay for 7 nights at this resort. On Thursday- Sunday it was exactly the same food.  Stew Chicken and rice, bacon,  eggs and dry sausages.  For a resort this size it's dismall. Imagine staying here for 7 nights like we did and eating the same thing over and over again. Some days my 4 year old toddler  refused to go for breakfast because he was tired of eating the same thing. Because of the location of the resort, you are stuck there with this horrible food. It takes about 30minutes drive back to Denarau if you need more options for restaurants.  We have stayed at  other 5 star resorts in Denarau and you never get tired of the fresh healthy options available. Maybe the chefs need to copy or research how other resorts are doing it because it's really disappointing.

[  ] Kids club inconsistent. Ended having to tip staff to watch our son from time to time but it's advertised that there is kids club everyday.In future do not advertise that you offer kids club everyday when it's not the case.

[  ] Room service customer service was appalling. I called to order some food and I was answered by Rita from restaurant. What a very rude person.  I have never when ordering room service on 21/01. She told me they had chicken nuggets and then called me back non apologetic and said there was no chicken. I asked her that she had literally told me they had it before that's why I ordered it..

[  ] At reception Salome and Lavenia always seemed annoyed when I asked for anything.  I asked them to open yje gym for me as I couldn't find my key. She huffed and was angry to just help a guest open the gym. Very appealing.

[  ] GM's drinks, the GM didn't even show up and sent head chef. Though the head chef was nice, he is not the GM. Please do not advertise as GMs drinks if GM will not show up.

Just for context,  I have been coming go staty at sonasali for 3 years now and I know what the standards can be . Though the food is horrible especially breakfast at least we only came back for the hospitality and the vibe.  But that's not the case anymore.  It's sad to see Standards drop like this especially if the price is as is. Paying Almost $500AUD per night for this dump is dismissal and day light robbery.

Front office Staff need more  training on being hospitable in a 4/5 star resort. You are the face of the hotel. Not being moody and annoyed if paying guests ask for assistance is as little as the guest are asking for. Guests pay for a service and that's what exactly they should get.

The saving grace would be the bar and restaurant staff like Oni, Samantha, Sera, Samu, Risella who made our experience better and full of life. Nothing was too much for them and they would serve always with a big smile on their faces. 

Unfortunately, we will not be coming back. But hopefully all these issues will get addressed.

Room tip: Don't stay more than 3 nights. The food is very basic
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank faithm948
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sera Driso, Other at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Dear faithm948,

Bula Vinaka and Greetings from DoubleTree Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to send us your detailed feedback after your recent visit to our resort. We acknowledge receipt of your review, and this has been discussed at length with the respective departments leads and management for improvements.

We are truly sorry to learn that your entire holiday experience did not meet your expectations, which was impaired by various factors and admittedly, we did not pay attention to details in certain areas.
DoubleTree Resort Fiji is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of services and we sincerely regret that we fell short of our goal in this instance. Your review has also been seriously addressed with our team members and based off on your specific comments, we are as a team, taking steps to ensure that we improve from hereon in many key areas. We will continuously work to keep improving our service delivery at all levels.

We can only hope that you will one day return to our resort, for a much better stay experience with lasting memories to cherish.

Until then, we wish you well.


Vinaka & Island Regards,
Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2024 via mobile

We travel often and have experienced many resorts, hotels, and various other accommodations. All types are NOT the same and should not be held to the same criteria. This is a RESORT, with a spa, restaurants, etc. But folks, Hilton needs to do some serious work on this Resort because it’s shameful to its brand. I don’t expect any response either from Hilton on this Resort, but fully intend to contact corporate. Even the welcome cookies were hard as rocks!

As you read this review, please understand that we are low-maintenance people. We aren’t Karen’s expecting people to jump at our every word, and we aren’t demanding at all. We are very easy going people. We are also business owners and understand that good customer service will cover many flaws or mishaps and people should always remember that other people occasionally have a bad day, to give grace.

As resorts go, this one fell really short for us on customer service and the culinary dept. It wasn’t just one or two issues, it was literally one after another nearly our entire stay.

After traveling all day, and with a special needs ADULT, we arrived at the airport after 7pm. It took about 45-1hr to get here after collecting luggage and getting to our transportation company in the airport. We went through what appeared to be a very poor area. The hotel is at the end of a road with a bunch of pot holes and a very bumpy ride. That’s not the Resort’s fault.

Upon arrival at the Resort, we were given bottled water and a shell leis (looks like plastic but I can’t say that with 100% accuracy.) The water was more than welcome after our journey getting here. However, this was one of the only two pleasant customer service experiences we had during our 2 day stay.

Then, our luggage was loaded on a little motor boat and we were taken across a lagoon to the Resort. We worried the little boat was going to make it across, it sputtered and puttered the entire way and died and had to be restarted once.

The trip across the lagoon was around 5-10 minutes. From there they asked us to leave our luggage and they took us on golf cart to the front desk/lobby area. This is also where the pool, bar, and restaurant is. We got checked in and taken by cart to our Bure, still no luggage however. That didn’t come until later.

Also, the room was reserved for 3 ADULT people and what we ended up with was one bed and a tiny loveseat. There were no additional linen, pillow, comforter, etc either. even knowing we had a special needs ADULT individual with us. I called the lobby and was pretty much told it was what I reserved, one bed! However, I had my printed reservation and it clearly says the room was reserved for THREE ADULTS. It took quite a while to get the extra linens for the loveseat to be utilized as a mini bed! Luckily, our girl is short! But the hotel really didn’t help us any on this. We were given the option of them “seeing what we might have tomorrow” with an up charge. Also, the shower door hardware was broken and shutting the shower door sounded like it was about to crack the glass. The bathroom window, which was fairly large, had a broken lock and was not secure in any way. Anyone could just open it from outside and hop right into the cabin. It was reported, but it was as if it was of no concern whatsoever.

Food in the “half-board” package (which consisted of breakfast buffet with pho soup on it and noodles as well as half-cooked bacon and some pretty bland, non-sensical food choices. There were waffles and pancakes with black burn spots on them.

The evening meal (the only other meal in the half-board) consisted of pizza and pasta, also buffet style. If you like getting a mouth full of bones eating the chicken cacciatore, then you’d love it, because the chicken bones were plentiful. Having a Down Syndrome, Autistic person with us, she, or any of us, could have literally died from the bones. There were MANY MANY of them! I told the waitress and she just shrugged as if it was a normal occurrence.

After the bone scare, we just ordered a pizza, which never came! We also had to hunt staff down to get A water refill (one was all we got too!) the glasses are very small. When we got up to leave, the staff asked me to sign a bill for $177. Remember, this was part of the half-board pkg we’d purchased. When I again told them the pizza never came after sending back the bowl of bones, they offered to get the pizza made (which had been ordered 30-40 mins earlier) and deliver it to our room. We did get it to our room about a half hour or so later. We literally put it in the refrigerator for breakfast after experiencing this mornings breakfast. Ugh!

As I explained earlier in my review, we are low-maintenance people. We aren’t Karen’s expecting people to jump at our every word. Demanding is NOT us. We are very easy going people. We are also business owners and understand that good customer service will cover many flaws or mishaps. But our experience with this resort on Jan 22-24, 2024 was the worst we have ever experienced at what is supposed to be a Hilton or Doubletree Resort. We are Hilton Honors Members and are familiar with the brand quality and customer service of the Brand was non-existent at this Resort.

The only positives I can give is that they did allow us a late check-out because our flight was late afternoon, and the pool is beautiful. Would we stay again? ABSOLUTELY NOT!

It’s as if they really don’t care at all about their customer service.

Room tip: Avoid this Resort. Photos of the beautiful blue ocean/lagoon are not accurate, they are gray/brown and reading reviews it’s not just now!
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank JanSizemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sera Driso, Other at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Dear JanSizemore,

Bula Vinaka and Greetings from DoubleTree Resort.

Thank you for your recent feedback with specific comments relating to our services and your stay experience, whilst here with us. We appreciate that you have taken the time to send us your review.

JanSizemore, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and assure you that your review has been discussed at length with our department heads and respective team members. We are, as a team, taking steps to ensure that we improve our services in many key areas, just as you have listed on your review. It is truly regrettable that we fell short of your expectations on so many levels.

We do hope that you will once again choose our Resort again as your next holiday destination whereby we will welcome the opportunity to make it a better and memorable experience.

Until such a time, we remain at your service.

Vinaka & Island Regards,
Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews