We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TomTom676
White Rock, Canada

Beautiful friendly staff and location, but overpriced and dated.

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Feb 2024via mobile
The location was beautiful and enjoyed the ferry ride over. The grounds around the centre of the hotel were lovely, but the most memorable part of our stay there was the staff, all of whom were so friendly and went beyond expectations to make us feel so welcome and at home.
The resort itself though seemed to be in a state of disrepair. Our room was very dated and there were issues with the electricity in our room. We feel that a hotel chain like Hilton should better maintain their property. The food was okay but quite overpriced for what you got. Not the best value for money.
Would not return, but the one saving grace was the beautiful staff people.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sera Driso, Other at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island, responded to this review
Responded 10 Mar 2024
Dear TomTom676,

Bula Vinaka and Greetings from DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Fiji.

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent holiday with us. Your kind compliments and acknowledgement towards our team of staff is sincerely appreciated.

We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered in your allocated room and assure you that your review has been discussed at length with our department heads, for our improvements. Our Head Chef has also been notified of your food feedback and we will continue to work on daily improvements.

In regard to the food prices, we import more than a few items and pay duty with mandatory tax in adherence to government regulations here in Fiji. Overall, this has a direct effect on our pricing, however, it is still fair to the market here in Fiji.

We hope to see you all again. Until then, we wish you well.

Vinaka & Island Regards,

Resort Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $621
  • Hotels.com
    $625
  • Trip.com
0.0 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $141
  • ZenHotels.com
    $141
  • Lol.travel
1.1 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Free parking
Pool
$71
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
3.4 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $722
  • Hotels.com
    $726
  • Priceline
6.2 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,030
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    $1,035
  • Trip.com
6.5 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $1,827
  • Agoda.com
    $272
  • Trip.com
6.6 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
$528
  • Expedia.com
    $576
  • Agoda.com
    $460
  • Hotels.com
    $527
6.8 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
$381
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $381
  • Tripadvisor
    $381
  • Vio.com
6.9 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Free Wifi
Free parking
$313
  • Priceline
6.9 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $1,004
  • Priceline
  • Sofitel
    $1,006
7.1 km from DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Sonaisali Island
Reviews (1,485)
Filter reviews
1,485 results
Traveller rating
685
422
177
112
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
685
422
177
112
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree horse riding minute boat ride swim up bar ocean view bure bar and grill main restaurant breakfast buffet beach front nadi town water sports kids club restaurant staff staff were amazing day trip coral coast relaxing holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,485 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2024 via mobile

F
The staff at the hotel was the friendlest ,most courtesies. Most fun. Highly recommended
The breakfasts were superb . The facility terrific. Don't miss it. Truly a tropical paradise. Tell all your friends. Dinners were not great and the hotel was mostly empty

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sera Driso, Other at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Dear Charles T,

Bula Vinaka and Greetings from DoubleTree Resort Fiji.

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay in our beautiful resort.

Your kind compliment towards our team of staff is sincerely appreciated. We are always proud of their commitment to ensure that all our valued guests have an enjoyable time. We have also noted your food concerns and have seriously discussed this with our Kitchen team member and the Head Chef, for our improvements.

We hope that we may again have the pleasure of your company here.


Vinaka & Island Regards,

Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

It's been our 3rd time in a row in 3 years staying at Sonasali Double tree. I am a loyal hilton Diamond honours member and I stay at least 30 nights in a year at different hilton hotels over the year.

That's why I have decided to write this detailed review because I feel that management needs to know and address these issues.

The issues started as soon as we landed at the airport.  I had booked a hotel airport pick-up transfer with Serona In reservations.  When we arrived noone was waiting for us. We waited 40 minutes and asked the airport customer service desk and they helped us look for our driver but after 40 minutes we concluded that noone had actually been organised to pick us up. This was very disappointing with after a long flight and tired toddler we had to scramble to find our own taxi.

Breakfast had no variety. We booked to stay for 7 nights at this resort. On Thursday- Sunday it was exactly the same food.  Stew Chicken and rice, bacon,  eggs and dry sausages.  For a resort this size it's dismall. Imagine staying here for 7 nights like we did and eating the same thing over and over again. Some days my 4 year old toddler  refused to go for breakfast because he was tired of eating the same thing. Because of the location of the resort, you are stuck there with this horrible food. It takes about 30minutes drive back to Denarau if you need more options for restaurants.  We have stayed at  other 5 star resorts in Denarau and you never get tired of the fresh healthy options available. Maybe the chefs need to copy or research how other resorts are doing it because it's really disappointing.

[  ] Kids club inconsistent. Ended having to tip staff to watch our son from time to time but it's advertised that there is kids club everyday.In future do not advertise that you offer kids club everyday when it's not the case.

[  ] Room service customer service was appalling. I called to order some food and I was answered by Rita from restaurant. What a very rude person.  I have never when ordering room service on 21/01. She told me they had chicken nuggets and then called me back non apologetic and said there was no chicken. I asked her that she had literally told me they had it before that's why I ordered it..

[  ] At reception Salome and Lavenia always seemed annoyed when I asked for anything.  I asked them to open yje gym for me as I couldn't find my key. She huffed and was angry to just help a guest open the gym. Very appealing.

[  ] GM's drinks, the GM didn't even show up and sent head chef. Though the head chef was nice, he is not the GM. Please do not advertise as GMs drinks if GM will not show up.

Just for context,  I have been coming go staty at sonasali for 3 years now and I know what the standards can be . Though the food is horrible especially breakfast at least we only came back for the hospitality and the vibe.  But that's not the case anymore.  It's sad to see Standards drop like this especially if the price is as is. Paying Almost $500AUD per night for this dump is dismissal and day light robbery.

Front office Staff need more  training on being hospitable in a 4/5 star resort. You are the face of the hotel. Not being moody and annoyed if paying guests ask for assistance is as little as the guest are asking for. Guests pay for a service and that's what exactly they should get.

The saving grace would be the bar and restaurant staff like Oni, Samantha, Sera, Samu, Risella who made our experience better and full of life. Nothing was too much for them and they would serve always with a big smile on their faces. 

Unfortunately, we will not be coming back. But hopefully all these issues will get addressed.

Room tip: Don't stay more than 3 nights. The food is very basic
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank faithm948
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sera Driso, Other at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Dear faithm948,

Bula Vinaka and Greetings from DoubleTree Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to send us your detailed feedback after your recent visit to our resort. We acknowledge receipt of your review, and this has been discussed at length with the respective departments leads and management for improvements.

We are truly sorry to learn that your entire holiday experience did not meet your expectations, which was impaired by various factors and admittedly, we did not pay attention to details in certain areas.
DoubleTree Resort Fiji is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of services and we sincerely regret that we fell short of our goal in this instance. Your review has also been seriously addressed with our team members and based off on your specific comments, we are as a team, taking steps to ensure that we improve from hereon in many key areas. We will continuously work to keep improving our service delivery at all levels.

We can only hope that you will one day return to our resort, for a much better stay experience with lasting memories to cherish.

Until then, we wish you well.


Vinaka & Island Regards,
Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2024 via mobile

We travel often and have experienced many resorts, hotels, and various other accommodations. All types are NOT the same and should not be held to the same criteria. This is a RESORT, with a spa, restaurants, etc. But folks, Hilton needs to do some serious work on this Resort because it’s shameful to its brand. I don’t expect any response either from Hilton on this Resort, but fully intend to contact corporate. Even the welcome cookies were hard as rocks!

As you read this review, please understand that we are low-maintenance people. We aren’t Karen’s expecting people to jump at our every word, and we aren’t demanding at all. We are very easy going people. We are also business owners and understand that good customer service will cover many flaws or mishaps and people should always remember that other people occasionally have a bad day, to give grace.

As resorts go, this one fell really short for us on customer service and the culinary dept. It wasn’t just one or two issues, it was literally one after another nearly our entire stay.

After traveling all day, and with a special needs ADULT, we arrived at the airport after 7pm. It took about 45-1hr to get here after collecting luggage and getting to our transportation company in the airport. We went through what appeared to be a very poor area. The hotel is at the end of a road with a bunch of pot holes and a very bumpy ride. That’s not the Resort’s fault.

Upon arrival at the Resort, we were given bottled water and a shell leis (looks like plastic but I can’t say that with 100% accuracy.) The water was more than welcome after our journey getting here. However, this was one of the only two pleasant customer service experiences we had during our 2 day stay.

Then, our luggage was loaded on a little motor boat and we were taken across a lagoon to the Resort. We worried the little boat was going to make it across, it sputtered and puttered the entire way and died and had to be restarted once.

The trip across the lagoon was around 5-10 minutes. From there they asked us to leave our luggage and they took us on golf cart to the front desk/lobby area. This is also where the pool, bar, and restaurant is. We got checked in and taken by cart to our Bure, still no luggage however. That didn’t come until later.

Also, the room was reserved for 3 ADULT people and what we ended up with was one bed and a tiny loveseat. There were no additional linen, pillow, comforter, etc either. even knowing we had a special needs ADULT individual with us. I called the lobby and was pretty much told it was what I reserved, one bed! However, I had my printed reservation and it clearly says the room was reserved for THREE ADULTS. It took quite a while to get the extra linens for the loveseat to be utilized as a mini bed! Luckily, our girl is short! But the hotel really didn’t help us any on this. We were given the option of them “seeing what we might have tomorrow” with an up charge. Also, the shower door hardware was broken and shutting the shower door sounded like it was about to crack the glass. The bathroom window, which was fairly large, had a broken lock and was not secure in any way. Anyone could just open it from outside and hop right into the cabin. It was reported, but it was as if it was of no concern whatsoever.

Food in the “half-board” package (which consisted of breakfast buffet with pho soup on it and noodles as well as half-cooked bacon and some pretty bland, non-sensical food choices. There were waffles and pancakes with black burn spots on them.

The evening meal (the only other meal in the half-board) consisted of pizza and pasta, also buffet style. If you like getting a mouth full of bones eating the chicken cacciatore, then you’d love it, because the chicken bones were plentiful. Having a Down Syndrome, Autistic person with us, she, or any of us, could have literally died from the bones. There were MANY MANY of them! I told the waitress and she just shrugged as if it was a normal occurrence.

After the bone scare, we just ordered a pizza, which never came! We also had to hunt staff down to get A water refill (one was all we got too!) the glasses are very small. When we got up to leave, the staff asked me to sign a bill for $177. Remember, this was part of the half-board pkg we’d purchased. When I again told them the pizza never came after sending back the bowl of bones, they offered to get the pizza made (which had been ordered 30-40 mins earlier) and deliver it to our room. We did get it to our room about a half hour or so later. We literally put it in the refrigerator for breakfast after experiencing this mornings breakfast. Ugh!

As I explained earlier in my review, we are low-maintenance people. We aren’t Karen’s expecting people to jump at our every word. Demanding is NOT us. We are very easy going people. We are also business owners and understand that good customer service will cover many flaws or mishaps. But our experience with this resort on Jan 22-24, 2024 was the worst we have ever experienced at what is supposed to be a Hilton or Doubletree Resort. We are Hilton Honors Members and are familiar with the brand quality and customer service of the Brand was non-existent at this Resort.

The only positives I can give is that they did allow us a late check-out because our flight was late afternoon, and the pool is beautiful. Would we stay again? ABSOLUTELY NOT!

It’s as if they really don’t care at all about their customer service.

Room tip: Avoid this Resort. Photos of the beautiful blue ocean/lagoon are not accurate, they are gray/brown and reading reviews it’s not just now!
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank JanSizemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sera Driso, Other at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Dear JanSizemore,

Bula Vinaka and Greetings from DoubleTree Resort.

Thank you for your recent feedback with specific comments relating to our services and your stay experience, whilst here with us. We appreciate that you have taken the time to send us your review.

JanSizemore, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and assure you that your review has been discussed at length with our department heads and respective team members. We are, as a team, taking steps to ensure that we improve our services in many key areas, just as you have listed on your review. It is truly regrettable that we fell short of your expectations on so many levels.

We do hope that you will once again choose our Resort again as your next holiday destination whereby we will welcome the opportunity to make it a better and memorable experience.

Until such a time, we remain at your service.

Vinaka & Island Regards,
Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2024 via mobile

Where do I begin on this magical stay.

It’s about a 30 minute drive from Nadi airport so very convenient.

I’m frequently in Fiji for work and this time I bought along my son. So we planned a special weekend on Sonasali so we were away from the busy work environment.

It was so amazing we didn’t want to leave.

The moment we arrived we felt special and had the famous warm Bula welcome.

The short boat ride across was easy and stress free but managed to make us feel we were a world away once we arrived.

Our beachfront Bure was absolutely amazing. Clean, modern and spacious. Couldn’t fault it. My son enjoyed taking a buggy to our room.

The staff & service went above and beyond to make sure our trip was memorable.

Eka in activities made sure my son was always busy and even did a henna tattoo for him which made his day.

Sekove was very friendly and entertaining on our sunset cruise

Rusila went above and beyond for my son. His shoe broke and we didn’t have spares, and the next day she left super glue at our door to fix them. We were amazed by her kind gesture.

Lavenia made us feel welcomed & well looked after every meal we had with her big Bula smile.

We were fortunate to stay on a non busy weekend outside of school holidays. We saw two nightly shows - dancing and fire show. Both excellent.

The pool area was lovely.

My son enjoyed the beach horse riding & the target shooting. The games cabana was also fun.

The day spa was also great & good value for money.

Other than the limited food selection on offer, I couldn’t fault this place. I would definitely recommend for families and stay here again!

Room tip: Parking easy down near wharf. Big car park
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank MissKirstsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sera Driso, Other at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Dear MissKirstsTravels,

Bula Vinaka and Greetings from DoubleTree Resort.

Great to hear of your enjoyable experiences whilst you were here! We always endeavour to ensure that our valued guests have the most memorable time.

Thank you for also speaking highly of our staffs and their services, they are definitely a team to beat!

We look forward to seeing you all again for more fantastic experiences

Until we meet again, we wish you well.


Vinaka & Island Regards,
Resort Management


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2024 via mobile

This resort is a complete disappointment. You are stuck in the middle of nowhere which means you have no options but to use the resort for any amenities. The food is poor and expensive. The pool is small and surrounded by the bar and restaurant. There is no beach to enjoy-which I believe is why most people come to Fiji.
The staff are very good and friendly-but this is the only positive I have to say about the experience.

Room tip: Avoid this resort
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jolush
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sera Driso, Other at DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Dear Jolush,

Bula Vinaka and Greetings from DoubleTree Resort.

Thank you for your feedback with specific comments relating to our amenities and your stay experience, whilst here with us. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations especially with our food selection and this has been addressed with our Head Chef, for their team review and improvement, where needed.

We hope that we may again have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and improve on our services, leaving you with memories far more befitting our resort.

Vinaka & Island Regards,
Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews