We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
JanicenTerry
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

Disappointing

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Nov 2019
Arrived at the Westin from another resort on the coral coast. While the check in process was very efficient it was very sterile. The friendliness wasn’t there. Our room was very nice. The resort was nice but we just got the impression that the staff were going through the motions. There was no atmosphere. The greeting was forced. It wasn’t genuine. Breakfast was a real let down. It was a buffet but they ran out of items on a few mornings. There didn’t seem to be enough staff on duty. Tables weren’t being cleared and because of this birds were scavenging off of the plates and also there was a lot of flies. There was only one gentleman taking orders for lunch around the pool. He was under the pump as well so we didn’t bother It was a shame but we didn’t enjoy our stay at all. I know we could have used the Sheraton’s facilities but we were staying at the Westin not the Sheraton. Didn’t find any of the activities overly inspiring. We found the bed too soft. Not comfortable at all. There was no beach so for any kayaking, snorkeling or paddle boarding you had to go to the Sheraton for.The Westin looked very nice but our stay wasn’t.
Date of stay: November 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Foziana, Loyalty Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, responded to this review
Responded 18 Nov 2019
Dear JanicenTerry,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent experience at the Westin Denarau, Fiji.

It appears we fell short in several areas to meet your expectations in offering the Westin product and service we are known for. I am sharing your feedback directly with the concerned departments focusing on staff service, breakfast offering and general lapses in service, as this is not our guests typical experience. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again and appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback with us.

Best Regards,
Foziana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$905
No prepayment needed
  • Sofitel
    $917
  • ZenHotels.com
    $863
  • travelup.com
    $943
0.5 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
$1,079
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $1,086
  • Expedia.com
    $1,086
  • Sheraton.com
    $1,093
1.5 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$899
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Radissonhotels.com
    $910
  • Destinia.com
    $614
  • Expedia.com
    $904
1.5 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$1,151
No prepayment needed
  • Trip.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
0.1 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$1,976
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $1,839
  • Expedia.com
    $1,839
  • Tripadvisor
    $1,839
1.2 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
0.8 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
  • Trip.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
1.5 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$137
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $137
  • Vio.com
    $137
  • Agoda.com
    $138
3.4 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$224
  • travelup.com
    $292
  • Agoda.com
    $192
  • Priceline
3.6 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Denarau Island
Reviews (3,390)
Filter reviews
3,390 results
Traveller rating
1,482
1,140
427
208
133
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,482
1,140
427
208
133
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 3,390 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2019

The staff at the Westin (like elsewhere in Fiji) were very pleasant and accommodating.

The rooms were a good size w/patios (ours had a partial ocean view).

The Sheraton next door is a sister hotel so you're able to use their facilities such as the gym and the pools; and eat at their buffet as if you were a guest.

I didn't get to see inside any of the Sheraton rooms but based on the lobby, pools, and other common areas, I think Sheraton would have been the better choice (the price was the same for the 2 hotels). Their buffet was definitely much better than the Westin's - more comfortable seats and seating area in general.

Also, the pool lounge chairs at the Sheraton are a thousand times more comfortable than the ones at the Westin which has the rattan/wicker ones which look pretty but you slide down on them after a few minutes and can never get comfortable. The Sheraton loungers have cushions - makes a big difference if your goal is to laze around the pool for the day.

The Sheraton also has more beachfront access.

I would recommend the Sheraton over the Westin but the Westin was really nice too.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2019

We chose the Westin Denarau (again) for a relaxing week away. Had a fabulous time - staff are very welcoming and there are lots of facilities readily available. Hugely enjoyed many activities on offer (thanks particularly to Vunisa for leading the aqua aerobics).

Room tip: We chose a sea view room - and we could really appreciate the amazing sunsets.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2019

Unfortunately we can't give a higher score review. I wish I could be able to.

We were very much looking forward to experiencing the westin. Another guest stayed here the same time and loved it! We will be coming back to Fiji but not likely to visit westin after the below... :(

We were there in Fiji for our wedding. My fiance needed a room there to stay the night before the wedding with himself and two groomsmen and to get ready the day of the wedding. Communicated before hand when I was in Australia and was told check out late would be fine 3pm considering its for our wedding and to allow time for the photographer to come in and time to pack up and check out.

On arrival my partner was treated with less than expected service from such a high star hotel. He was told no late check out only thing they could do was 1pm which doesn't help. Meaning an already stressful time was now made even worse stress! He checked in and then was charged OVER 1000 AUD for the room as a pending charge. For a room that costed us less than 400 aud as per booking and invoices. We didn't sign anything to approve 1000 coming out. Nonetheless I told him to leave this for the time being and we will aim to fix it after our big day so it doesnt ruin our day.

One groomsman that was staying with him in the same room left his bag at reception earlier in the day so he was organised and not rushing etc. they then LOST HIS BAG. A bag that had his suit and shoes. Everything needed for the wedding
Talk about more stress?! Luckily when they went back they demanded you relook. Sure enough it was exactly where it was left. Not sure how a 5 star hotel can lose a bag and not even look properly.

Luckily they were then given late check out. Considering all the stress theyd been given by the hotel. The room I'm told is lovely. But having such sub par treatment my husband and his friends felt judged and treated differently than all the others checking in. Maybe because we only booked 1 room? If that's the case maybe have a minimum night's stay. To avoid this.

Luckily our bank is working to reverse the charges given. Since the invoice and receipt do not reflect what has been charged by you.

I do hope that from this review you talk to your reception check in staff about treating all guests of age race or nationality equally. We are after all, All paying customers.

Thanks.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Courtney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Foziana, Loyalty Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2019

Dear Courtney T,

Greetings from The Westin Denarau Resort & Spa and thank you for choosing our resort for your stay. We appreciate your candid review. I always value constructive feedback from our guests as it is a great opportunity for potential future improvement and enhancements in either our offerings or processes.

We have also received another feedback survey from you which I have responded to and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Best Regards,
Foziana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2019

As a regular guest, I was very impressed during our recent 7 day stay in November 2019 that the resort is looking the best I have seen it since our first stay in 2013.

It is very evident when using the facilities, a lot of effort has been taken by management and staff to warrant its 5 star rating, without relying solely on the magnificent FijianTropical Climate!!

Extensive renovations have been done and the rooms, Restaurants pools and general landscaping look absolutely fabulous, not to mention the adjoining Golf Course, and Tennis Court Complex including The Villa's and sister resort Sheraton.

New Staff have replaced seasoned old hands over the years, and although not all yet have that "X" factor, time and more training will mould them into the very best customer focused persons their predecessors were.

The Westin Prestige is unique, once the original Hotel on Denarau called the Regent, it is now and will always be the Grand father of all the resorts on Denarau Island.

The welcome and Aroha from all the staff whenever we arrive is breathtaking and brings tears to our eyes, no words can adequately express our feelings and thanks.

The attention and recognition is accorded to every single guest whether regular or new, its just a wonderful feeling to witness the magnificent service the Westin staff give, from Reception, Porters Room Food Landscaping Pool and all other support staff.

My thanks again go to all you folk at Westin, another memorable stay in my Home away from Home!! when visiting this magnificent country and the people of Fiji.

Bula Vinaka

The Wanoa Family

Room tip: Shop around and always read reviews before committing
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TomW4917
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2019

Nice hotel, great room with extremely comfortable bed. Great staff - very helpful each is not swimmable. Food prices very high-dinner -ribs- were awful. Breakfast on the other hand was quite good. Great location for access to marina.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mwethersett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Foziana, Loyalty Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2019

Dear mwethersett,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your positive comments on the hotel, room and the bed comfort. Since its introduction in 1999, the Westin Heavenly Bed has eased millions of guests into deep, restful sleep. They are an absolute hit with our guests at our hotel.

We are happy to note that you were satisfied with the staff service as well as your breakfast experience.

With regards to our food prices, we do regularly compare our rates with those of our competitors to ensure we are on par with the market. We do hope though that this did not take away from your overall experience.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our shores.

Vinaka
Foziana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews