We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Graeme P
Sydney, Australia

Disappointed plus the Triple Taxes are right up there!

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Nov 2019
This is the fourth and I suspect the last time we'll be eating at the Westin Resort whilst staying at the Sofitel next door as the Westin used to have very nice steaks.
This time the meal was very average and not up to the Westin Resorts normal high standards.
Now that Fiji has Triple Taxes making it one of the most expensive destinations to visit in the world, the quality and value of the Westin Resort food is not value for money, not to mention the problems we had sorting out the bill with their staff.
Date of stay: September 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Foziana, Loyalty Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, responded to this review
Responded 5 Nov 2019
Dear Graeme P,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your experience at our restaurant. We are disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your visit and felt the quality and value of the Westin Resort food is not value for money; please accept our sincere apologies. We value our guests’ feedback and will take your comments into consideration as we continue with our product development programs in an effort to excel in customer satisfaction. Graeme, we look forward to welcoming you again to the Resort in the hope of providing you with a more memorable dining experience.

Warm Regards,
Foziana

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$905
No prepayment needed
  • Sofitel
    $917
  • ZenHotels.com
    $863
  • travelup.com
    $943
0.5 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
$1,151
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $1,159
  • Trip.com
    $1,159
  • Vio.com
    $1,151
0.1 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$1,079
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $1,086
  • Expedia.com
    $1,086
  • Sheraton.com
    $1,093
1.5 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$899
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Radissonhotels.com
    $910
  • Destinia.com
    $614
  • Expedia.com
    $904
1.5 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$1,976
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $1,839
  • Expedia.com
    $1,839
  • Trip.com
    $1,839
1.2 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Booking.com
$137
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $137
  • Vio.com
    $137
  • Agoda.com
    $138
3.4 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Pool at the Club Fiji Resort
Booking.com
$224
  • travelup.com
    $292
  • Agoda.com
    $192
  • Hotels.com
    $260
3.6 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$108
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $101
  • Agoda.com
    $120
  • Vio.com
    $120
4.5 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Restaurant
Booking.com
$310
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $310
  • Trip.com
    $284
  • Agoda.com
    $312
5.0 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
View more hotels in Denarau Island
Reviews (3,390)
Filter reviews
3,390 results
Traveller rating
1,482
1,140
427
208
133
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,482
1,140
427
208
133
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 3,390 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2019 via mobile

We stayed at Westin Denarau for 4 nights. Although the start was a bit bumpy (the hotel gave us the incorrect room for half a day), they compensated us by giving us complimentary dinner for 4 at one of their many restaurants.
We loved the pools, the water, the drinks by the pool and a whole lot more. The staff were kind and welcoming, you can tell they were all trained from the same handbook, meaning the service quality was very consistent.

All the affiliated hotels and restaurants had the best interest at heart for the guests. If there was any problem or concern, they would use the walkie talkie to communicate and resolve issues on the spot.

The hotel porters were very accommodating, providing solutions, instead of talking about barriers to doing anything.

Given the opportunity, I would return here again with my family.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ZeeshanShams
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2019 via mobile

Nothing quite like the soothing sounds of nails being hammered into decking at 8:20am to say Bula in the morning....
The resort is the oldest in Denarau and, unfortunately, it shows. The showers leak your own private pool throughout the bathroom while the quaint, and completely pointless, doors let the light from a thousand blazing suns in as soon as it crests the horizon.
As far as the restaurants, The Kitchen is overpriced but does have a great view. The alternative, onsite, is FJD$79 but is actually very nice. All you can eat salad and you pick a main from the BBQ.
As some reviews have already said, you are much better off buying a day ticket for the Bula Bus and heading to either the marina (recommend Cardos or Bonefish) o r walk across to the Heineken Bar for a pizza.
The majority of staff are very friendly but, whatever you do, don't try and sign for a towel during a busy period or the KEEPER OF THE BEACH TOWELS (AKA the towel Gendarme) will ask for a portion of your soul and bark "back before 7pm or charge to room".
Overall a very unsatisfactory experience and I wouldn't recommend to my annoying neighbour.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Foziana, Loyalty Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2019

Dear PetarS1976,

Greetings from The Westin Denarau Resort & Spa and thank you for choosing our resort for your stay. We appreciate your candid review. I always value constructive feedback from our guests as it is a great opportunity for potential future improvement and enhancements in either our offerings or processes.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the great view from The Kitchen Grill restaurant and found our staff to be friendly.

As I am sure you will appreciate, renovations are necessary to the success of any hotel. While the construction must start at 9 am and all in-house guests are informed of this, I am sorry to hear that on the said day, this started a little earlier. Rest assured we are addressing this with the construction company ensuring minimum inconvenience to our guests. That portion of the renovation is nearing completion today.

With regards to our prices, we do regularly compare our rates with those of our competitors to ensure we are on par with the market. We do hope though that this did not take away from your overall experience.

We indeed always try to accommodate all our guest needs and requirements as exceptional service is our priority and rest also assured that the points mentioned will be shared and discussed between our operational team, mainly with the handling of the beach towels.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing your feedback hoping that the described situation did not tarnish your overall impression of our resort, nor deter you from staying with us in the future as on behalf of all our team members, I look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back in future to `'The Paradise Island` and here with us at the Westin.

Warm Regards,
Foziana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2019 via mobile

We felt like a minority as adults without kids and not very welcome, as there seemed to be small children everywhere. Maybe we missed the advertisement about pre-school age kids this week? (Or parents who can’t manage their kids.) It was frustrating and annoying. We had to go find adults-only pool and beach areas (mostly at other resorts) to escape all the screaming and noise. Even (free) breakfast was not worthwhile - the families were served quickly while we waited til the end of our meal for a cup of coffee. Perhaps Westin could consider more adults-only areas and other ways to allow couples to enjoy a relaxing holiday.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank switzcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Foziana, Loyalty Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2019

Dear switzcc,
We appreciate and duly note your constructive feedback. We cater to both families and adults only travelers. We do have adults only guest wing as well as adult pool area that offers a serene environment. Truly sorry to hear of our delayed service at breakfast. We aspire to offer the same level of service to all our guests and your feedback is appreciated. Once again thank you for your review.
Warm Regards,
Foziana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2019 via mobile

The Westin is quite pleasant. The bed was very soft so my back ached a lot. The restaurant was very expensive! We took the Bula Bus to Denarau Port at a cost of $16 Fiji dollars to eat. It was still much cheaper to eat at the port if you added the $16 on. Alcohol was very expensive also.
Resorts of this kind are great for families with young (swimming age) kids.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank helenj875
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Foziana, Loyalty Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2019

Dear Helen J,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you found Westin pleasant. The Westin Heavenly Bed is uniquely designed with plush, pillow-top construction for premium comfort and support. The goal is for our guests to indulge in restful sleep and feel rejuvenated. I am sorry to hear that your back ached. Please let me know when you next stay with us and we will arrange for additional foam and base added to make the bed firmer. With regards to our prices, we do regularly compare our rates with those of our competitors to ensure we are on par with the market. We do hope though that this did not take away from your overall experience. We cater to both families and adults only travelers. We do have a secluded adults only lap pool area that offers a serene environment and will soon be introducing more adults only areas within the property.
Once again thank you for your review.

Warm Regards,
Foziana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2019

Hello

You ask us to change our reservation to Westin but this is not a good deal for us. NOT At ALL
We are very disppointed the westin is not the same level as sheraton
The room is just disgusting the bed is very inconfortable i never slept in a soo much old bed.
The wall are so dirty, it was so noisy we heard every each word from neighbours
and the staff is not helpfull
Our room was not ready at 3PM i was soo exhausted and should wait at the lobby without any help.
We didn’t get the free massage.
So i ask you now to be refund this is not acceptable to paid 660Fjd for this service

Vinaka

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank besma106
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Foziana, Loyalty Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2019

Dear besma106,

Thank you for being in touch with me via email. I appreciate the concerns raised by yourself on both cleanliness and staff service. I do look forward to speak to you over given mobile.

Kind Regards,
Foziana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews