We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
PetarS1976
Gungahlin, Australia

Big Nope

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Oct 2019via mobile
Nothing quite like the soothing sounds of nails being hammered into decking at 8:20am to say Bula in the morning....
The resort is the oldest in Denarau and, unfortunately, it shows. The showers leak your own private pool throughout the bathroom while the quaint, and completely pointless, doors let the light from a thousand blazing suns in as soon as it crests the horizon.
As far as the restaurants, The Kitchen is overpriced but does have a great view. The alternative, onsite, is FJD$79 but is actually very nice. All you can eat salad and you pick a main from the BBQ.
As some reviews have already said, you are much better off buying a day ticket for the Bula Bus and heading to either the marina (recommend Cardos or Bonefish) o r walk across to the Heineken Bar for a pizza.
The majority of staff are very friendly but, whatever you do, don't try and sign for a towel during a busy period or the KEEPER OF THE BEACH TOWELS (AKA the towel Gendarme) will ask for a portion of your soul and bark "back before 7pm or charge to room".
Overall a very unsatisfactory experience and I wouldn't recommend to my annoying neighbour.
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Foziana, Loyalty Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, responded to this review
Responded 1 Nov 2019
Dear PetarS1976,

Greetings from The Westin Denarau Resort & Spa and thank you for choosing our resort for your stay. We appreciate your candid review. I always value constructive feedback from our guests as it is a great opportunity for potential future improvement and enhancements in either our offerings or processes.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the great view from The Kitchen Grill restaurant and found our staff to be friendly.

As I am sure you will appreciate, renovations are necessary to the success of any hotel. While the construction must start at 9 am and all in-house guests are informed of this, I am sorry to hear that on the said day, this started a little earlier. Rest assured we are addressing this with the construction company ensuring minimum inconvenience to our guests. That portion of the renovation is nearing completion today.

With regards to our prices, we do regularly compare our rates with those of our competitors to ensure we are on par with the market. We do hope though that this did not take away from your overall experience.

We indeed always try to accommodate all our guest needs and requirements as exceptional service is our priority and rest also assured that the points mentioned will be shared and discussed between our operational team, mainly with the handling of the beach towels.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing your feedback hoping that the described situation did not tarnish your overall impression of our resort, nor deter you from staying with us in the future as on behalf of all our team members, I look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back in future to `'The Paradise Island` and here with us at the Westin.

Warm Regards,
Foziana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$909
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $909
  • ZenHotels.com
    $851
  • Sofitel
    $907
0.5 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
$682
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $592
  • Hotels.com
    $690
0.8 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$1,160
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $1,160
  • Expedia.com
    $1,157
  • Hotels.com
    $1,158
0.1 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$1,142
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $1,142
  • Expedia.com
    $1,072
  • Hotels.com
    $1,140
1.5 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$692
No prepayment needed
  • Radissonhotels.com
    $691
  • Priceline
    $692
  • Expedia.com
    $691
1.5 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$1,984
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $1,834
  • Hotels.com
    $1,831
  • Expedia.com
    $1,831
1.2 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
  • Trip.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Booking.com
$138
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    $138
3.4 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $208
  • Agoda.com
    $181
  • travelup.com
    $286
3.6 km from The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Denarau Island
Reviews (3,391)
Filter reviews
3,391 results
Traveller rating
1,483
1,140
427
208
133
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,483
1,140
427
208
133
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 3,391 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2019 via mobile

We felt like a minority as adults without kids and not very welcome, as there seemed to be small children everywhere. Maybe we missed the advertisement about pre-school age kids this week? (Or parents who can’t manage their kids.) It was frustrating and annoying. We had to go find adults-only pool and beach areas (mostly at other resorts) to escape all the screaming and noise. Even (free) breakfast was not worthwhile - the families were served quickly while we waited til the end of our meal for a cup of coffee. Perhaps Westin could consider more adults-only areas and other ways to allow couples to enjoy a relaxing holiday.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank switzcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Foziana, Loyalty Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2019

Dear switzcc,
We appreciate and duly note your constructive feedback. We cater to both families and adults only travelers. We do have adults only guest wing as well as adult pool area that offers a serene environment. Truly sorry to hear of our delayed service at breakfast. We aspire to offer the same level of service to all our guests and your feedback is appreciated. Once again thank you for your review.
Warm Regards,
Foziana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2019 via mobile

The Westin is quite pleasant. The bed was very soft so my back ached a lot. The restaurant was very expensive! We took the Bula Bus to Denarau Port at a cost of $16 Fiji dollars to eat. It was still much cheaper to eat at the port if you added the $16 on. Alcohol was very expensive also.
Resorts of this kind are great for families with young (swimming age) kids.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank helenj875
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Foziana, Loyalty Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2019

Dear Helen J,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you found Westin pleasant. The Westin Heavenly Bed is uniquely designed with plush, pillow-top construction for premium comfort and support. The goal is for our guests to indulge in restful sleep and feel rejuvenated. I am sorry to hear that your back ached. Please let me know when you next stay with us and we will arrange for additional foam and base added to make the bed firmer. With regards to our prices, we do regularly compare our rates with those of our competitors to ensure we are on par with the market. We do hope though that this did not take away from your overall experience. We cater to both families and adults only travelers. We do have a secluded adults only lap pool area that offers a serene environment and will soon be introducing more adults only areas within the property.
Once again thank you for your review.

Warm Regards,
Foziana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2019

Hello

You ask us to change our reservation to Westin but this is not a good deal for us. NOT At ALL
We are very disppointed the westin is not the same level as sheraton
The room is just disgusting the bed is very inconfortable i never slept in a soo much old bed.
The wall are so dirty, it was so noisy we heard every each word from neighbours
and the staff is not helpfull
Our room was not ready at 3PM i was soo exhausted and should wait at the lobby without any help.
We didn’t get the free massage.
So i ask you now to be refund this is not acceptable to paid 660Fjd for this service

Vinaka

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank besma106
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Foziana, Loyalty Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2019

Dear besma106,

Thank you for being in touch with me via email. I appreciate the concerns raised by yourself on both cleanliness and staff service. I do look forward to speak to you over given mobile.

Kind Regards,
Foziana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2019 via mobile

Just spent two days two nights before boarding a Blue Lagoon Fiji . Some of the friendliest and nicest Westin staff we have ever met anywhere in the world work here. The loyalty desk manager (K. Maca) welcomed us openly and set up an amazing experience for our 25th wedding anniversary stay over. A great ocean front room, dinner reservations and special treats.. including 8 Fijians singing a special
member spoke with us and added to our top notch visit.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank AndrewB228
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2019

Has a wonderful experience here, the service throughout the stay was impeccable.Big Kudos to the staff from House Keeping. the room is always kept tidy and we get warm notes from the room maid every day! Making us feel very welcomed throughout the stay.

Had a wonderful dinner at the Kitchen Grill on our last night and Sitiveni, or SIti as he affectionately introduced himself to us. was always checking in to make sure we are enjoying our dinner, making our last night at the resort extra special.

Thank you everyone for making this such a special first visit to Fiji!

Vinaka!

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank yukitobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews